We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and average accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and average accomodation”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel with family and had a baby travelling with me. Location wise this resort is very good. There are variety of food types and restaurants available just as you drive out.
In terms of accomodation, the rooms are clean and tidy but it is tired as everyone has commented. I do realise that there are construction going on to refurbish this place by phases.
Although tired, the quality of room and service is very good. Mainly because of the staff. They are very friendly and more then willing to help you out. I travelled with a baby and my flight was later in the evening. They offered to arrange a temporary change room if i needed for the little one in the meantime.
The beach was very clean and it has white sand. Unfortunately the sand are all covered with dead shells so walking barefooted by the beach is not advisable.
Buffet breakfast was another plus point for this resort. They had a variety to cater for all. I even managed to get plain rice porridge for my little one.
Overall this is a nice resort to stay but it's a bit over priced. No value for money but very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Feel free to talk to the front desk staff. They will be more than willing to help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shami_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,882
    1,383
    435
    181
    130
See reviews for
1,296
1,630
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heaton Moor, Stockport, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent five nights here and were checked into a dark, musty room with a couple of cigarette burns in the carpet and right next to the road - not what we expected for the money we paid and the photos that we'd seen on the website. We were moved the next day into a far nicer and brighter room just by the beach. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and we had a couple of meals there which we enjoyed plus the location is great but the whole place needs the current make-over it's having desperately before it can be classed as a 4-5* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

First sea view room in block 2 was awful. Cigarette burns and dirty carpet, constant noise from the road running directly behind, electricity kept tripping out. Moved to a better room with minimum fuss after complaining but still old and tired.
The main building was closed for refurbishment while we were there, if this continues to a refit the rooms then this resort would be up to the rates charged.

On the positive side the location is excellent at the top end of the beach and a short stroll down for options to eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjbarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

+
Friendly staff
Good facilities
Lobby with live music and freewifi is a nice plus
Awesome location (sea-view)

-
Prices in hotel (especially breakfast) are for Malaysia pretty high, on the other side there are plenty of little restaurants within walking distance
No free wifi in room
Staff tends to bring the bill before you are even done eating

Overall we had an awesome stay in this hotel and def plan on coming back one day! Many thanx to the staff of the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglasfleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed here with my mum and sister in August 2011 for 11 nights. We all loved our stay and would recommend it to others. The resort gardens and pools are beautiful and it’s a great place to relax. However, the rooms are a little tired and do need some upgrading (I believe they are in the process of doing this now though)....

Check in/check out: When we arrived we didn’t get the best first impression because the lobby was closed for refurbishment so we had to arrive in make shift lobby which was all over the place! We were rapt to hear that the lobby was opening in a couple of days and it looks fantastic (and has free wifi)! Check out was fine however we had some errors on our bill. We were being charged for an extra bed and breakfast when we had already paid this as a part of our package from the travel agent. I would recommend using the account function on the tv in the room to make sure everything is being entered correctly so you don’t have any hold ups checking out.

Hotel room: We chose a pool view room which I would highly recommend. We were a little anxious about having three people in one room but there was more than enough room! We had a single bed each and there was still room for a sitting area as well as the separate changing area. The rooms do need some updating/upgrading, they look a little tired. The bathroom was sufficient but quite basic. Air con and ceiling fans were great to keep the place cool! Some people have mentioned the rooms are too dark, our room was fine.

Breakfast: We were very pleased with the breakfast buffet. The food was nice and it was great to be able to get the eggs/omelettes cooked personally for you depending on what you like. The one problem I found at breakfast was how hot it got. It was very stuffy inside and outside has a plastic roof which seems to only make things hotter. You can feel the difference once stepping out from undercover to catch the breeze. We were told this area of the resort was about to be refurbished so this may be resolved.

Pool: We had a pool view room at the cascade pool which was GREAT! I would recommend getting one on the ground floor so you just have a couple of steps off the balcony and you’re at the pool - great large decking. The pool was beautiful. Always clean and inviting. The cascade pool seems quieter than the horizon pool which was another advantage for us!

Gym: the gym needs some work. I’m not sure whether it is air conditioned but it gets very hot in there. Also there is limited cardio equipment. About 2 treadmills and one exercise bike. There is a whole weights room though.

Restaurants: I suggest going outside of the resort for meals. Our first night we ate at the spice market restaurant at the resort because we had just arrived and were exhausted so just wanted convenience. The food was pretty average so we didn’t return again. There are so many beautiful restaurants outside of the resort that are worth trying and are cheaper.

The spa: The spa on site is beautiful. We all had 1 hour full body massages there that were perfect!! However they are pretty expensive (280 ringgit) but they are worth the money. There are several other massage places around town that are ridiculously cheap but do not match the quality at the Pelangi. We did have a bad experience going outside of the resort for a massage.

Location: The location is perfect. It’s walking distance to the main strip including restaurants and shops. Take note that we only found one ATM where underwater world is (a bit of a walk or 8 ringgit taxi). The hotel was always able to call us a taxi and let us know how much it will cost. It’s very easy to get around and it’s helpful that the taxis over there have a set fare to particular places so you know what you’re paying before you get in the taxi. We easily got taxis to some restaurants and cable car.

Staff: The staff at the Pelangi are fantastic. Every staff member that walked past us said hello always with a smile on their face. In particular, Ismail. He was always so friendly and stopped for a chat! Made us feel at home.

I have noticed several other reviews saying it's not 5 star.... what do you expext when it isn't ranked 5 star?! There are some things to fix around the resort but on the whole, a great place to stay and perfect location!

Room Tip: Avoid Lake Rooms. The lake is more like a swamp. Just looks like still dirty water. Pool or beach ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had originally booked at the nearby Casa del Mar but it closed down for renovations, so we were transferred to the Pelangi. We asked for a suite as part of the deal, and got one. The hotel is set right on the beach and is a large collection of old Malay-style chalets. Lovely grounds. Our suite was great and right next to the Meritus Club, where we could have breakfast and free pre-dinner drinks. The service was good and friendly. They are renovating areas near the lobby - very noisy there! The whole hotel is charming but needs a coat of paint and more renovations. Heavy rain came into our room and, disturbingly, into the light switch by the window. The food was quite good, although we did get a totally cold serving of spaghetti from room service, which made us think they'd forgotten to microwave it to heat it up. The advantage of the Pelangi over other big hotels on the island is that it's located at the end of Cenang Beach, so in walking distance of restaurants and shops, rather than miles away. Overall, a good hotel.

Room Tip: Check that your room is nowehere any ares being renovated. In September 2011, that was anywhere near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Well, we chose this after reading several review on trip advisor. And we dont regret it a bit, our 3night stay was amazing, hotel, people,views,entertainment, spas all in all everything! would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: this one is a no brainer, you could pick any of the beach side cottages, and u'd still have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suchmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing