We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Congratulations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Congratulations”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and enjoyed it so much we came back. The refurbishing works are on going but they do not disturb the peace and quiet of the hotel. The reception area and the main restaurant have been upgraded to a high standard. There is a varied selection for breakfast catering for all tastes. Eggs cooked to order and noodle soup prepared to your taste. Buffet English breakfast together with fruit, toast and cheese. Only a small amount is put out at a time so the food is freshly cooked. All the staff are polite and friendly and go out of their way to speak and help with any queries. We wanted to watch the Spanish Formular 1 Grand Prix and they put the T.V. on especially for us to watch in another room. The swimming pools are cleaned every day and there are plenty of sun beds available.
I recently read that another TripAdvisor reviewer thought these reviews were made up by the hotel. I can well assure them that I am a genuine customer and can be contacted by them to verify this fact.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank minispud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your gracious compliments. Our associates will definitely be delighted that through their service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care, we have delighted your stay experience. We look forward to welcoming you back especially with accommodation in our new luxurious and well appointed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,818
    1,356
    427
    178
    126
See reviews for
1,244
1,593
86
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dorchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We found all the staff so friendly and efficient, it was a joy to be staying at Pelangi Beach Resort and Spa. They ensured that we had a lovely holiday. We'll be staying there again on our next holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorchesterJoejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Many sincere thanks for your gracious compliments and will definitely share your positive stay experience with our associates, who will be delighted to have succeeded in exemplifying what we call the “Meritus Difference” at its very best. We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is a good choice of hotel if you want a quality hotel without being at the centre of activities along the beach road. Not that Pantai Cenang was busy / noisy as we stayed off peak. But a cab from the hotel to other end of the strip past the underwater centre was very cheap, so you can easily walk one way to eat in one of big range of food outlets and taxi the other. The beach was big and generally kept clean. The main road has the normal sort of shops you find in Thailand intermixed with food outlets, bars and motels. We had a second storey lake view room as per our request and enjoyed the quiet setting. The room are built along traditional Malay style with high ceilings and lots of dark wood. But reasonably well appointed and maintained. The public areas were also well maintained and the refurbishment program was not intrusive. Both pool areas were maintained and look as per hotel website pics. As it was off peak there was no problem getting a lounger on the beach or by either of the pools at any time of the day.

Room Tip: See photo of hotel room I have attached, layout to see which best meets your needs, close to pool, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciative words which make us extremely happy that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them. You will be pleased to know that the newly refurbished guestrooms will be available as of July 2012, and will help to further enhance our guests’ stay. We shall look forward to your next visit with accommodation at our new luxurious and well appointed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

We had a most lovely stay here. It is well located at the top of the tourist strip in cenang beach - just far enough that you're away from noise and drunkards, but close enough to walk to shops and bars.
The resort itself feels like a secluded tropical island, there is a private beach and two beautiful pools. There are activities in the resort (bikes, mini golf, squash). The food was excellent - both the buffet breakfast and the BBQ seafood buffet dining on the beach.
Most of all, the staff were extremely attentive and friendly, going out of their way to ensure we were comfortable. They had a personal touch as they greeted us each day.
I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to langkawi!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Many sincere thanks for your kind and gracious compliments on your recent stay experience. It is such valued comments that inspires and motivate our associates, to continue giving their best towards attaining service excellence. We will definitely share your positive stay experience with our team who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We certainly look forward to many more visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Like most people I decide where to stay according to the reviews I read on tripadvisor. Once I arrived in Pelangi Beach Resort I was a bit surprised and confused by some of the reviews I had read here. I was expecting the resort to be overcrowded and really noisy. It was very much the opposite. The place was quite empty and I've just gotten back a week ago so it was certainty peak season. However I really liked it. My mother said it was her dream resort. She really really fell in love with it since she loves chalets, wooden furniture and beach side hotels. However I thought it was a bit old fashioned, the decor wasn't as modern, it was very dark in the rooms, you could always hear insects and it was sometimes too empty. Like at 10 in the night we wouldnt know what to do since nothing would ever happen in the lobby. The hotel definitely needed some entertainment maybe a singer, a dancer or something to keep people busy. The worst part about the hotel would be the beach. It is next to Langkawi's so called busiest beach which isn't busy at all. The water in the beach is a boring gary and I think the beach needs some work done to make it more lively. But the hotel is stunning otherwise. The pool area is just beyond great. Its a family hotel where you always feel safe. I would certainly recommend it. But maybe the hotel should change its decor and make it slightly more modern now.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the lake are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nish x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Your compliments are duly noted and much appreciated. We do apologize for the absence of entertainment due to timing lapse issue with the outgoing and incoming band performers.

You will be pleased to know that the Resort 104 newly renovated rooms will be making its opening debut on 1st July 2012.

I will be delighted to personally welcome your next visit with accommodation at our new luxurious and well appointed rooms. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at Pelangi for 4 nights in May 12. Arrived to a warm reception with a welcome cocktail and cold towell. Room was great overlooking the beach and lake to the rear. Service was great throughout. Cable car is only a 10 min cab away - a must trip. Loved Langkowi and loved Pelangi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameowater69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you very much for your gracious compliments, which made everyone of us extremely happy to learn that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them. We certainly look forward to many more return visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesbug
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Meritus proved to be a resort with first class personal service, which made it a notch above the rest. A very welcoming and friendly environment.The rooms were spacious and clean, although a bit outdated. We would love to see the new refurbished rooms as this would just make this place perfect. The cleaning staff had went out of their way by setting up a beautiful arrangement of flowers and petals in our room as an anniversary celebration. Pelangi had also served us with one of the yummiest cakes tasted as we had mentioned that the holiday was to celebrate our anniversary.My kids loved the pools and slides. The resort is also located on one of the most beautiful beaches and the sunset walks were definitely picture perfect. The breakfast staff were also very friendly and helpful. Meritus Pelangi has definitely left us with beautiful memories. Thank you, Meritus!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibi fatima o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Many sincere thanks for your gracious compliments and it is always gratifying to learn that we have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience. We will definitely share your kind words with our associates who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We certainly look forward to many more visits from you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing