We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My room was a ocean view with a nice patio. very nicely furnished. The pool was amazing. The ocean property was stunning. The only thing the hotel can do better is rake the sand daily as they have the best beach on that side and it could be perfect if they just take pride in the beach. Its clean but when you see it thats the first thing you think of and down the way one hotel rakes their beach every day.....

Room Tip: ocean view or ocean front ,try to get close to the center or the main pool as this is great for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBBIE-KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for your positive comments!
We actually DO groom the beach daily, this is done daily by a council beach comber and our own raking tractor every second day.
Please visit us again soon.
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 4,126 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been to the hotel several times over the past 10 years and were absolutely amazed with the renovations the hotel underwent. One can really say that the rooms look like the pictures on their website! The rooms were clean and we decided to "only" go for a lake view room this time, because the beach front rooms are never really on the beach anyhow. Breakfast in the spice market was a goid mix of western and asian items - only downside was that coffe/ tea was not served tableside which i would expext from a 4/5 star hotel.
We had dinner and drinks at the cbr one night, drnks were great, food was ok, and entertainment... Well again, not up to hotel standards. But in any case, no need to spend all your tme in the hotel - the main street is just a couple ealking minutes away. There you can indulge in local cuisine for local prices.
I also noticed tha the hotel had a club section now, which servs privat breakfast and snacks at cocktail hour, which might certsinly come in handy if the hotel is at high occupancy.
Overall great stay, excellent location,, friendly service and amazing job with the rooms.

Room Tip: Like i said, we didn't go for a beach view room this time as the are always at an andle and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tambli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

My sincere thanks for your kind review and the "glowing" description of our facilities. Our associates and I hope to see you again soon!
Cheers!
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Good facilities but indifferent staff make this place a heartless holiday machine churning profits for owners but leaving us cold and not coming back. Location at the end of airport runway does not disturb too much sure to low traffic. Vast compound is served night time by golf carts with no lights on pitch black lanes with guests worrying

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TramigoMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I am sorry to learn that you found the staff indifferent as we usually get good comments about our staff here. We will remind the associates that warm and caring service has always been the hallmark of our resort. We would love to have you back for a second chance.
Sincerely,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hi, I would like to recommend this resort for a wonderful stay I had with my wife. I celebrated my 6th anniversary at the resort and all the thanks to the resort staff for making our anniversary stay a memorable one. There are so many reasons that made our stay wonderful:
a) I had booked the garden view room with the best deal on hotel website and to my surprise we had an upgraded beach view room with room balcony opening directly to beach.
b) The room was well decorated with flowers on our arrival and made my wife felt very special.
c) My anniversary evening was made special with a complimentary bottle of wine and cake.
d) Extremely friendly and courteous staff right from airport transfer to resort (as we missed our connecting flight to Langkawi and it was surprising to see the the staff member still holding placard with my name when we landed via different flight an hour later), checkin (each and every request was taken care with extreme pleasure), room service, checkout, etc.
I'm really short of words here to give my experience. A very special thanks to resort staff especially the Housekeeping team, check-in team, airport pick-up person, and room service team.
Thank you very much Meritus Pelangi
Nitin Gupta

Room Tip: Check for beach front chalet on ground floor with easy access to Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niting09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for your most favorable review. It is very good indeed to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and in Langkawi.
We hope to see you again next year!
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The resort is at a perfect location; less than 10 minutes drive from Langkawi Airport and on the fringe (away from the crowd) of the Jalan Pantai Cenang tourist belt.

Kids love the main pool, which has a decent children's play area (kids slide is obligatory). The beach is nice too. Good location to catch the sunset: And we were blessed with 4 straight days of decent weather to do so.

Housekeeping comes around the same time everyday in the early afternoons to clean the room. This is regardless if you ask for the room to be cleaned earlier, by pressing the 'early maid call' button or by calling via the phone. The housekeeping ladies are helpful and courteous though.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank HamOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I have reviewed the Housekeeping scheduling and we are making sure that their service is available whenever the guest ask for it.
Again, my sincere thanks for your review.
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I must agree with most of the current reviews by fellow guests that this is a brilliant hotel for unwinding. We had a lakeside room which was spacious and more than adequate with tea/coffee making facilities.Water pressure was excellent for showers. The TV channels were limited but included a couple of film channels ,fox sports and BBC news. Maid service was good and any problems were dealt with immediately. We requested extra coat hangers and they were delivered straight away.
The grounds were well kept and the surroundings were beautiful. There are a couple of Monitor lizards on site which were fascinating to watch.
Breakfast had just about anything you could wish for and superbly set out. Eggs cooked in every way possible, fresh fruit, curry,cakes,it was had an extensive choice. A special mention for Farana who was the perfect waitress and did a splendid job.
The beach was amazing and kept clean every day, especially good for a daily walk passing buy a few beach bars and access into the town. The 2 pools were also amazing and never crowded
with plenty of comfortable sun beds .
Cannot fault the staff from the front desk to the gardeners, they were all extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome.
There are many bars and very cheap places to eat 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. Plenty of supermarkets and a few duty free shops also close by.
One nice final touch was that we were able to keep our room on until18.00 pm (free of charge).
Could hardly fault this hotel and a couple of niggly things are not even worth mentioning. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a completely relaxing holiday.
Well done all at the Meritous and thank you for a great time..

Room Tip: Any room looks good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your review and the comments in regards to our service, facilities and surroundings. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future.
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Fantastic location right on the beach within easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants and cafes. Food in the hotel is first class and the staff could not be more helpful. Loved the wildlife wandering around the places. Cocktails watching the sunset (it's still happy hour) are a must. Being picky, the lighting in the rooms is a bit too low (but they are built in a Malaysian style) and the air con unit was a tad noisy.

Room Tip: A first floor room is probably a bit less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tm020847, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

We appreciate your kind review. Because of the bright sun light outside the rooms in a traditional Malay house are kept quite dark - but we can change the wattage of our lamps when you come back next time. Please just let us know.
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £142 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing