We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pelangi Suite Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pelangi Suite Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I only had time to stay on Langkawi for one night and two days. Choosing this resort was the best decision we have made. We booked the Pelangi Suite which is AMAZING! We had a little trouble at the start when the resort confirmed my booking and airport pick-up; they said I had booked the 'Pelangi junior suite' , which was a mistake. They fixed this immediately. The suite is your own private and luxurious mini house, right on the beach! Bed is comfortable and furniture is immaculate. Staff are SO friendly. The suites are right next to the CBA restaurant and bar which was fantastic service also. Stay and eat there for incredible sunset views. You have the beach to yourselves!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    1,347
    425
    175
    126
See reviews for
1,231
1,584
84
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Meritus is an excellent property along the sea shores. Myself and my family went for vacations last week. We originally booked for lake view room, but were upgraded to pool view. We hardly had time to go out in langkawi, instead we spent most of the time in the resort along the private beach. The SPA at meritus was just perfect. I suggest to travelers to spend atleast 3 days to 1 week in order to enjoy the property and relax. The staff at the reception and baggi guys were extremely friendly and the nepali staff especially nice to our family.

We enjoyed our stay and wish to visit langkawi again. 5 star hotel, with 5 start treatment.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms or beach facing are the best. Lake facing may not be worth the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uday K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Uday K
thanks for your review and recommendation. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and stayed in the resort most of the time to relax. Thanks for mentioning the friendly service from Concierge and Front Office staff.
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1night and is okay. Underwent refurbishment but the furnitures still need a little bit improvement. Location is good and convenient. Renting a car to tour around Langkawi is the best way. Their lake in front of our room needs a lot of maintenance as the sight of it was not that nice (we had a Lake View room). Breakfast is okay only. Their public toilet at the lobby needs more cleaning. Overall, is good for short stay and still have rooms for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear DCI1314
Thank you for this review and your suggestions, which we are taking seriously to improve in the future.
My apologies for the short-comings you recalled.
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort for 5 nights but could have stayed longer.

We stayed in a Garden Terrace room which was spacious for 2 people, had good air-con, wi-fi and a balcony where we could dry off our swimming clothes. It was a bit of a walk from the centre of the resort, however it was always a pleasant walk. We were also quite close to the smaller pool, so a good location from that perspective.

Housekeeping was good, our room was made up everyday and the ladies were always smiling and friendly.

In regards to facilities, there were many, and all we used were good.

Both pools were lovely. We spent most of time in the Cascade Pool, the smaller of the two, which has a swim up bar. Most days there were plenty of seats and the staff were good with ordering food and drinks. And what’s not to like about having a drink in the pool?!

We had massages at the spa which were very good, the staff were lovely and helpful with accommodating our last minute booking.

The gym was fantastic. It had a great view of the beach, all new equipment, towels, water and air-con. We made good use of the gym.

The restaurants were good, but we did have better food outside of the resort. I think they do well to cater for such a diverse crowd, however I would have liked to have seen more Malaysian food on the lunch and dinner menus. I also think the food is very overpriced. I know it’s a resort, but the buffet dinner in particular is very overpriced. Drink prices are ok, with the exception of water which was expensive (but that’s every resort/ hotel , isn't it?)

The breakfast buffet was in a word, crazy. Again they do well to cater for so many different people, however the current system of getting people through breakfast service isn't great and this was the only time that we saw staff become a little rude. They almost need a second space to cater for breakfast, especially when the resort is busy.

The location of the resort is also good. It is right on the beach (although the beach wasn't great for swimming, I preferred the pool) and close to a number of restaurants and bars. We walked up the main street a couple of times for dinner and water. There’s also some lovely bars and food along the beach. What I also liked about Langkawi was that you could walk around and no one bothered you; a bonus!

I think the best test of a place is if you say you would come back again, which I definitely would. The resort is fairly good value and great if you want a holiday where you don’t have to think and everything just works.

http://sweetenough.net/travel/malaysia-part-one-langkawi/

Room Tip: The rooms on the fringe areas of the resort are quieter. The resort is big. Work out what facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A truly fantastic hotel with exceptional staff who looked after us like royalty from the moment we arrived to the moment we left a week later. If you arrive before check in time, keep a handheld bag with you with your swimwear in and use the time as an opportunity to start to enjoy the beach and the pool facilities.The CBA bar and restaurant on the beach is a beautiful setting from which to watch the sunsets with tasty cocktails and they also offer great light lunches and dinners. They also serve you food and drinks at your sunbeds on the beach which is a real benefit. We will definitely be coming back later this year with friends!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are amazing, well worth the upgrade with beautiful views and very private. The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraSField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We first visited the resort in 2009 and had such a fabulous time, we chose to go there again to celebrate our 50th birthdays and 25th anniversary. It had undergone some renovation work and we chose a sea view chalet this time.
The chalet was perfect and having notified the resort about our celebrations by email, we had a lovely chocolate cake delivered to our room.
The buffet breakfast was probably one of the best we have had with something to cater for all tastes. Loved the plain rice porridge with condiments to add and the Bircher muesli in particular but the fry up breakfasts were great too with eggs cooked to order. Also fresh fruit juice prepared to order.
I took advantage of the on site spa which was amazing. I had a 1 hour Malay massage each of the 3 days we stayed and felt totally relaxed. Excellent therapists and a lovely welcome at the spa reception. I also bought some of the gifts to take back.
Worth emailing in advance to take advantage of their airport transfer service which cost RM 16 per person each way and just makes arriving in Langkawi totally painless.
One point worth noting is that if you want to do any day trips, it is worthwhile wandering into the town and checking out some of the tours offered by other operators rather than just jumping in and booking one from the resort tour desk. There are some better deals out there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoriandPaul64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear LoriandPaul64
thank you for coming back and congratulations to your anniversary and birthdays!
I am glad to lear that you had fun and enjoyed yourselves.
We hope to see you next year again!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

it was my best days in my life because of you. thanks for upgrading my room as a gift for our honeymoon, thanks for your services for the clean pool and beach and everything .
and yes i will come back and i also adviced my family and my friends about you
thanks all :))))

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajaa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Rajaa K
Congratulations to your recent wedding, may you be happy forever!
Thank you for this review and I'd like to invite you back for your first anniversary with the first night on us! Please contact me for your reservation at thomas.mueller@meritushotels.com
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing