We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in the Pelangi at the end of May, when we arrived we were seen quickly and the lobby was stunning. The rooms are exactly what we expected beautiful. We had a problem with the air-con so they changed our room quickly. The breakfast is fine it is just a big buffet nothing special. Because the hotel is so big you loose the personal touch, however it is a beautiful hotel along with the pools and beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Emily B
I am happy that you were happy here!
Thank you kindly for your positive review. I hope you'll be back soon!
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 4,123 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just came back from langkawi. Had a wonderful stay at Meritus pelangi. Our room was a poolside room right infront of children pool. Enjoyed and relaxed alot as kids were busy all day in kids pool. Food was good at spice market resturant including the dinner. Very close to the shops and food outlets if you want to have something local. Rooms are spacious and clean. Tip would be to have a room çlose to main reception. Good water sports activities available. Over all very satisfied with the money i spend for the stay...Will visit again for sure..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank muhammad r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear muhammad r
I am happy to learn that you and your family had a good time here with us!
We hope you will come back in the not-too-distant future!
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and i were after a break. One where we could leave our hectic lifestyles and relax and the Meritus Pelangi was just perfect.
Check in was simple and relatively quick compared to other places we have stayed and the staff were extremely friendly and a credit to the hotel (we didn't encounter a bad one during our 8 night stay).
We were upgraded to a lakeview room upon check in and it was fantastic. Pleenty of room with a modern bathroom whilst still maintaing the Malay style we were looking for.
We returned to our room after our 1st night to discover 3 staff members in our room (one was security) and were thinking "what's going on here, has there been a break in?". It turned out that housekeeping had discovered a couple of loose tiles in the bathroom and the hotel was concerned that one of us may risk getting injured. We were moved to an identical room overlooking the ther part of the lake which turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we were able to watch the monitor lizards swimming every mornng and had 2 birds appear which were quite happy to eat from our hands.
When we returned the following day, much to our surprise there was a bottle of champagne left by the duty manager for our inconvenience and he also offered us complimentary late check out on our final day. Obviously customer satisfaction is very high on the staffs list of priorities.

Our favourite part of the resort was Cba, we were ther most nights and it was the perfect way to end the day. Cocktails surrounded by palm trees as the sun set listeng to the music and getting addicted to the spiced peanuts that were served with our drinks.

Breakfast was plentiful and had a large variety of food which i imagine would satisfy most people. It was fresh and tasty. Other people have said that it was busy but we only experienced that once and i put that down to the time of the day. Most morning we were at breakfast by 9am and had no problems whatsoever, it was only the morning that we arrived at around 10 (too many cocktails the night before) that we found it a little crowded but i guess thats the case most places.

All in all we had a wonderful experience at the Pelangi and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It's a short walk to minimarts, laundry and you can walk the lenght of the main shopping street and back in about an hour. All the staff were friendky and accomodating but i woukd like to give a special mention to the staff and band at Cba who made our experience truly memorable.

Room Tip: Upstairs corner rooms have more open balconys. They are lighter and wider than the centre rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ozzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ozzymac
thank you so much for your glowing review! I am glad that you totally enjoyed your break and hopefully will return!
Cheers!
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The resort looks impressive on approach but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
CHECK IN
It took us over 30 minutes to check in due to being seated by staff in the lobby whilst another staff member leisurely walked back and forth to the check in desk with our details. Unfortunately for us, the front of house member assisting us spoke limited English. Check in was a drawn out process.
ROOM
The room was nice however cleanliness was clearly not a priority. Of the three nights we stayed the shower was blocked on at least two occasions. The dead insects that were dotted around the room eg the dressing table were still there after two days of house keeping attending to our room. On the third day house keeping simply didn't bother attending our room, when we called through to reception to arrange this at 7pm we were told that someone would attend by 9pm. That was fine by us, however on return it was clear that none of the bedding had been changed, plus bugs remained! the highlight, a BUG IN THE KETTLE.
BEACH & POOL SIDE
Don't be fooled by the 'private' beach. It's simply at the end of the beach & not really worth going on.
the pools are good. Plenty of room clean, although some music would've made it much better.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dinam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Dinam1
I apologize for the poor check-in service you received and the Housekeeping issues you encountered.
We will use your remarks to re-enforce cleaning and Housekeeping issues with the department concerned.
Again, my sincere apologies for the shortcomings!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I just put it straight first -- I don't really go for the 5-Star hotel in Langkawi (or anywhere much for that matter) as it goes takes up moo-lah (I better use it for shopping or food). So having the opportunity to spend a night at Meritus Pelangi was extra exciting.

At first arrival -- the setting / ambiance gave the mood throughout the experience in Meritus. It was a relaxing, easy going & chilling affair. I;m used to queuing at the counter for check - in, but here, I am given a comfortable seat, drink and the "reception" comes to me.

The Lakefront room was breathtaking. I saw on youtube reviews showed rooms looked old & made me worried -- but the receptionist and sales exec of the hotel told me at they have refurbished all the rooms completely which took a couple (or more) months / years to it. I'm glad that i came at the right time with a brand new refurbished room. Lovely shower & bath -- love looking at the fish at the lake. i just didn't want to leave the room.

The vicinity is huge. You practically don't have to out of the hotel area at all -- everything's there. However -- from the reception to room is a walking distance. If you are "in a hurry type" you can avoid these type of resorts. You may need to wait a bit longer for the buggy. Parking your car can also be a distance if it's full house.

Cons: I think it's just the breakfast at the Spice Market -- it was packed. Food wasn't flowing in as fast as possible. With the ambiance too packed -- I just couldn't enjoy a comfortable breakfast -- it was classified as "in a hurry".

Pros: i have to hand it to the staff in Meritus Pelangi - they are gracious, can handle small talks and quite proud to work in Meritus Pelangi. These people made my stay a little different than the rest (of little 5-star that I go too) and of one the most memorable.

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms, I believe is the quietest of them all. Not facing the road, not near the pool, nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear airinie
I enjoyed reading your report and remarks. Please accept my apologies if the breakfast is sometimes over-crowded at certain times and the food then not replenished promptly.
I hope you will be back nevertheless.
Cheers!
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have just returned from six nights at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort in Langkawi. The resort is beautifully maintained, the staff are just wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. The resort is located close to the airport and only a short walk to a local shopping village. We were located in a chalet room upstairs and were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was the how well laid out the bathroom and wardrobe facilities were. Our chalet overlooked the beach, but as we didn't spend much time in our room, this wasn't a necessity. Two swimming pools to choose from with plenty of lounge chairs under shade available. The biggest plus was the staff - they were so kind, friendly and happy to respond to any request that was made of them. Would highly recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sandra B
Thanks for this kind review.
I am glad to learn that you had a good time here and hopefully you will return!
Cheers!
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just got back from 2 nights here!

PROS
Easy access to a quiet and private beach
Fun pool - my group of friends actually had lots of fun at their awesome kiddie pool
Near restaurants, convenience shops and duty free shopping at Cenang
Spa was great, albeit a little expensive (but it's at a hotel, so ok, I understand)

CONS
Service wasn't up to par - asked for food recommendations at reception and no one could reply; had something quick to eat at their deli and the staff couldn't even respond to our 'thank yous' with a smile. However, not to say all was bad. Ismail was very friendly
Ants in the room - lots and lots of ants in room 611
Inconsistency - our friends room had a fruit basket, mosquito repellant, etc. Ours did not.
On our last day, we could not call reception at all. Not sure if this was a technical issue or not.

Overall, I had a good time but it could've been much better with a few improvements

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank sarchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear sarchan
Thanks for this report. I apologize for the glitches you encountered and the sometimes not-too-friendly staff members. We do emphasize on guest services in our training and I am sorry you encountered an unfriendly and incompetent staff member.
Sorry again!
T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,240 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £141 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Splitty, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing