We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely week, just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely week, just what we needed”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good: nice food in the restaurants (the spice market was the best we tried, fresh salads), comfortable beds, nice rooms (we had both a lake side and a seafront - see story below), we found although the breakfast times were busy - the hotel cleared out during the day so there was always space at the Cascade pool or on the beach. The hotel staff are all really lovely and friendly. If you go B&B like us, the hotel’s prices for lunch/drinks are ok, not as cheap as the street outside obviously, but not a rip-off. The Cba is a nice place to chill out in the evening after a stroll back from dinner. And the gym is nice: air-conditioned, reasonable amount of good equipment, a small weights area and a small yoga/stretch area - all looking out on the beach.

OK/could improve: the reception staff are just a bit disorganised. We knew check-in maybe a bit slow (from reading other TripAdvisor reviews before we arrived) and it seems they've taken steps to improve it. We were greeted quickly, provided a welcome drink and generally quite well looked after, although there was a reasonably long wait to be taken to the room. During our stay they were quick to sort out any problems - we had bats in our room (top floor, lake view) at 3am on our 3rd night. While I don't really mind, they were making a lot of noise so a groundsman came out with a net (seems like a common occurrence, huh?) to sort it out. The next day we were transferred to a sea front, ground floor room - beautiful! Upon leaving - this is a bit of a gripe - we phoned reception maybe 6 times to have our bags collected (it’s quite a walk in the baking heat) and no one picked up. So we ended up hauling all our luggage to the reception by ourselves as we had to meet our transfer to get to the airport. Finally - just because we’re a bit lazy (it’s a holiday!), the breakfast hours were rubbish for us - closing at 10am! As such, we missed breakfast half the week!

In terms of location, this is nicely positioned on the Island - you can walk to loads of restaurants and bars - the closest right next to the hotel, the furthest about 20 mins walk down the beach. There are cabs easily hailed on the street or the hotel can sort one very easily for you. One final word of warning, this hotel is near the airport and there are probably 10-15 planes a day which are noisy. By no means is this like living under the Heathrow flight path (like I currently do), but it does not mean it’s peaceful the whole time!

Room Tip: Lake rooms are nice, or if you can afford a bit more- take a Seafront room,but away from the kids po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Skjking
thanks for your review and comments. I have discussed the issue with the transportation of luggage and guests, as well as the check-in process with those concerned and have seen improvement already.
We hope you'll be back soon.
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,356
    427
    178
    126
See reviews for
1,244
1,594
86
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Good:

Having toured around the Island, Cenang is definitely the place to be - heaps of cafes, restaurants and centrally located with a good beach.

The room was great - spacious, super king-size bed oversize bathroom, plenty of space for suitcases etc.

Plenty of facilities - two large pools, 2 spas, numerous food outlets, friendly staff.

We went to one of the spas three times each and it was great every on every occasion.

The Not so Good:

We paid extra for a beachfront room but found ourselves 'miles' away from the central reception, dining area resulting in very tedious walks over the six days that we stayed. Also our room whilst perhaps technically beachfront was nonetheless quite isolated and needed a long walk for a swim whereas we were expecting about a ten-second stroll.

We had dinner vouchers which were only valid for the main dining area and it was always buffet, both breakfast and dinner. There was plenty of variety and huge quantities of food on offer but like most mass catering facilities, the quality was generally only mediocre.

They had a buggy service but it was totally inadequate for the size of the resort and hence if you did not to wait for ages, it was far better just to walk in the heat.

The TV service was very basic - could not even see the World Cup which was available in our 3-star hotel in Penang.

Room Tip: If you are paying for a beachfront room don't accept anything higher than 40. (We were in Block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Lexus51
I apologize for not being able to meet you expectations to the fullest. Yes our resort is large - 35 acres - and some of the chalets are a bit far from the lobby/restaurants.
In spite of this, you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that counts most!
Thanks for your review.
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Meritus Pelangi is one awesome resort. Spacious and clean rooms, sprawling resort area with private beach included. Rooms facing the beach. Excellent restaurants for every taste. The kids water play area is some thing to brag about. It has slides, waterfall and a kids pool equipped with a swirling slide that drops the kids straight in the pool. There is a family pool with an area for jacuzzi jets and a totally separate pool for adults hosting a bar within the pool. They have buggy carts all over the resort to hop on and hop off where u feel like. The staff are very well mannered and cooperative and speak good english as well. There is a cab station right outside the entrance of the hotel. Its conveniently located within walking distance(500 mtrs) to the very happening Pantai Cenang street. This is one super experience and the langkawi trip isn't 10 out of 10 if you've not stayed at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort and Spa !

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are good value for money. You can gaze the sun going down sitting on the easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDubaiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear TheDubaiTraveller
thanks so much for you review and the kind comments you made about our resort. I am happy that you really enjoyed your stay and had a fantastic experience!
Hopefully you'll be back one of these days!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at Meritius Pelangi for 10 days after a 2 day stay in Kuala Lumpur.
Excellent resort - rooms very spacious and well equipped.
Only 10 minute transfer from the airport.
The 2 pools are clean with lots of sunbeds.
The hotel is right on the beach which is very clean and has more sunbeds.
The breakfast in the Spice Restaurant was very good with lots of choices.
The buffet and al a carte in the Cba restaurent was excellent also.
Went for a visit to the cable cars which was half an hour by taxi, best time to go is early morning as soon as it opens, the cars get very hot and humid. Good experience.
Staff very friendly and welcoming. Tan who works in the Spice Restaurant was very friendly and always made time for a friendly chat.
Would go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better - less insects
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Blousy
thank you so much for your kind review and comments about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our little Paradise here and will recommend us!
Thanks!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Meritus Pelangi is located about 10 minutes away from the airport and close to some attractions (e.g. Underwater world).

Our stay there included an airport pickup, but to my surprise the hotels representative at airport did not have our details and no car was at airport to take us to hotel. We were asked to take a taxi at hotels expense.

Upon checking in, they could not find our reservations so I had to dig them up from my emails; luckily I didn’t delete any. We were a family of 6 and had 3 rooms reserved. Also, upon checking out the rates I had on my reservation to what I paid was different.

The room I stayed in was ok, the a/c was off when we walked in so it took about ½ - 45 minutes for room to cool down (we checked in around 8pm)- my family had same issue.

The fridge in our room was not working and had an awful smell when I opened it.

The shower was a disaster; it would always overflow and not drain properly.

The pools were nice, probably one of the nicest things in hotel. The hotel has two pools. Our room overlooked the pool and pool was easily accessible.

The beach was nice but finding towels there was a challenge.

Breakfast was average and busy.

Dinner was good and you had a nice bbq selection. The chocolate from the chocolate fountain was amazing!

The hotel crowd was interesting. You would find couples, honeymooners and families of different ages and ethnic backgrounds.

Staff was friendly and helpful. It’s nice to see a hotel that has staff members working with them for 20+ years.

Room Tip: ask for a/c to be on and make sure fridge is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nasser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Nasser F
Thanks for your comments. I apologize for not having the airport transfers as expected and your reservation couldn't be found.
I hope you told someone about the defects in your room, since we could have easily changed the chalet you were in for rectification.
Again my sincere apologies!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Travelled with two young children. Very nice hotel, with 2 separate swimming pools which are great (I think one for family and another for adults. We only used the family pool area. The other pool have pool bar). The kids pool are fantastic, best we had so far, they have slides for young children, and another big kiddie pool with another bigger slide. Both my kids (one aged 2 and another is 3) loved the pool. The beach is nice too, part of it have lots of seashells and we enjoyed strolling along collecting shells as souvenir, great fun for my little girl. The breakfast is good. However, we do think that there are still rooms for improvement as the resort, although branded as family friendly, does not provide dvd players, and the buggy service shall run more frequent, reason is that it is a huge resorts, and a lot of times, we had to wait for a while to get the buggy. Whilst we were told that the buggy were charging and later found out that one of it was just sitting there (not charging) with another two that were charging. The manager was nice, very attentive to our the complains that were raised. The location is ok, as we hired a car (btw, very cheap in langkawi), we can only estimate that its probably about 15-20 mins walk to street shops and restaurant. The hotel itself is self contained with shops and restaurant.
Overall, will definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfabuloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear lilyfabuloso
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here! We are indeed looking forward to you returning and to welcome you in the not-too-distant future.
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Pelangi Beach last year and enjoyed it so much I returned this year with my boyfriend. However, my experience this year was not at the same high standard as last year.

Firstly, check-in was a bit of a confusing affair. No one directed us where to wait or sit so we stood by the desk for a while before someone told us to take a seat before taking our details.

The first room we had was pool side (although we were told at booking we'd be upgraded.) Unfortunately, it seemed that we had been placed in a block with several rooms belonging to the same family. The noise was unbearable. We noticed the noise as soon as we got into the room came from upstairs and we gave it a chance in the afternoon but when it was still there on our return from dinner, we had to change rooms. The hotel was understanding and we were given a room close by with a partial sea view.

The disappointment with our stay was with breakfast. The food wasn't what I remembered from last year and like other reviews it was much quieter if you arrived before half 8. The staff in the restaurant seemed very cold and sometimes rude, rarely greeting us or offering anything personal which was surprising as we saw the same people every morning for a week. Also, the outside tables are very cramped and often had to eat breakfast with people trying to squeeze behind us. Not what I expect from a hotel of this standard. Also, there was often a problem with our hot drink order, it either never came and we had to hunt staff down or it was not what we asked for.

The housekeeping staff and concierge staff on the other hand were very friendly and greeted us each morning.

Checking out was also a problem, I understand there is limited golf carts available but we were left waiting 30mins+ for our baggage to be collected whilst others were used to take people to the beach. I think that they should prioritise check outs, especially around 12pm, over taxi-ing people around.

Overall, I feel the Pelangi has lost its personal touch and we often started our days with a negative experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MooseJawSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MooseJawSk
Thanks for your review. I apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during this visit and will discuss those details with the Department Heads for improvement.
Again my apologies.
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing