We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great resort and position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We took our two teenage boys and we all lived this hotel. It is a perfect resort getaway. Go to Rafi's down the beach for a good cheap meal.
We loved the location of this resort. Our rooms were nice and spacious and the beds really comfortable. I would recommend people stay at this hotel when visiting Langkawi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vicky W
I am happy that you had a very good time here at our resort and tank you for your comments.
Please be back soon!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    1,347
    425
    175
    126
See reviews for
1,231
1,584
84
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This resort has a long history but they still keep the high standard!

The resort is very big so you can enjoy the privacy during your stay even there are lot of people staying in the resort.
Love the design of independent wooden charlet, we have a garden view room which is very close to the beach, gym, lobby and swimming pool. We can choose to enjoy the ride of the gold car to the room and having a walk.

There are two pools in the resort and both of them are great.
The gym room is facing the beach so you can also even enjoy the great view during your workout.
There is a bar close to the beach, have a drink there and you can enjoy the beautiful sunset.

Every staff are very friendly, helpful and they always greet you with a big smile. The room maid always leave you a little surprise/ blessing to you after cleaning up the room.

The location of the resort is super great, just 10 mins drive from the airport and you can even walk to the main street for lots of restaurants in the main street (Patang Ceaang)

I think this resort and spa should definitely rank the top among the hotels in the Langkawi!

Room Tip: Rooms with the garden view (small number charlet) is more convenient to the gym, main pool and lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YenMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear YenMa
thanks for your review and discribtions of our facilities. I am happy to lear that you enjoyed your vacation and hope you'll be back.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort for 6 nights just for a relaxing holiday. We spent a lot of time at one of the two large pools. The gym is small but provides a few treadmills and other equipment. It is best used in the morning as it was too hot to use in the afternoon. It is AC but fans are needed as well. The massages available are wonderful, but expensive compared to the cost in town. The beach is lovely, however jellyfish appear to be a problem which probably explains the lack of swimmers. The resort is located close to the town centre so it is easy to walk there to eat or anything else.
The rooms were comfortable. We were situated overlooking an uninviting lake so I would opt for the beach side. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of food. The buffet dinner at The Spice Restaurant is just okay, possibly because everything is cooked in bulk and it sits there for a while. Go for the BBQ if you need to eat there as there is a reasonable selection of seafood and satays. The service is excellent. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Security is also good. There were many families there and the children were enjoying the fantastic pools, tennis and island hopping. It is a lovely place to relax and recharge, however if you are after total peace and quiet I would select one of the boutique hotels located north.
We also hired a car in town (AUD $23) for the day and drove around the island.

Room Tip: A room on the beach side would be nice. If you have children choose a room near the pool. It is a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kim S
I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us - thanks!
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a very nice vacation. Please come back soon!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This resort is very very well maintained and the pervasive use of wood for all the buildings creates a very nice atmosphere. If you don't like resort with big/massive concrete buildings hidden by decoration, then you will love this one. The chalets are very nice both inside and outside, the two swimming pools are great, especially the water play area for toddlers! The beach is also very nice and it is very well cleaned every day. All of this is somehow expected for a resort of this type. However, the fact that internet has never been working in our room and was on/off even in the main lobby was really surprising and annoying. All the staff are extremely nice (in the restaurants, the room service, the engineers, security staff) but somehow all the ladies at the front desk are really obnoxious and three of them gave us the feeling that we were bothering them. Lastly, the food for the breakfast could greatly be improved: the only fresh juice is a tasteless watermelon juice. All the others are 100% chemical juices. All the jams and butters are the cheapest you can ever get (Heinz). Lastly, the ambience music at the breakfast and in the main lobby is so incredibly cheesy and loud.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear RB_SG
Thanks for your review and the kind words to describe our resort. I apologize for the not-so-good service you received from our Front Desk and the Internet connection. We are working to rectify both those issues and the food quality in the Spice Market. Thanks for bringing these incidents to our attention.
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 8 days in mid to late June. The resort pool near main entry is best I have seen. Would recommend to families and couples. We had room overlooking pool and could also see the beach as we were on the second level. Special thanks to Farah for our English tea at breakfast.

Room Tip: Pool terrace near the Spice Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Leanne D
I appreciate your review as it helps to keep our people motivated to provide excellent service and get recognition for it.
Again, thank you!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic resort, we had a great time staying here. Very friendly staff.

We had a deluxe room with garden view, and it was great. The resort itself is so beautiful that you don't mind having a garden view room. The two pools are both very peacefull and quiet, even if the resort is fully booked. (that was the case when we were there) The bed was so big that I lost my girlfriend in the night, nevertheless, the rooms are great. Clean, big, modern, great bathroom and a very nice environment. Definitely worth every euro I had to pay.

The nice thing about Meritus is that it is placed just out of the small city Pantai Cenang. You can walk from Meritus to the nearest restaurants in about 5 minutes, via the beach and via the mainroad, So you can have both the luxury of a resort and you can walk up in the city.

The only slightly bad thing was that we didn't got our welcome-drink, but yeah, who would complain about that in a resort such as this?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stef v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Stef v
Thanks for your review and your kind comments! My staff and I appreciate you taking the time to describe our resort.
Hopefully you'll be back next year.
Cheers!
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stay at garden view room upper floor, near swim pool. Very quiet and pretty garden. Traditional wood chalet with high ceiling, huge balcony. Clean and well maintained, surprisingly no insects at all, not even fly nor mosquito. Lots of birds life in.the garden and swim pool. Always a small bat flying around our balcony. If one loves nature, this is excellent choice. Room is cool even at 34 degree, can keep balcony door and window open enjoy the breeze. 5 mins walk is where the restaurants and souvenir shops, grocery start, up to an hours' walk along the beach or main road arriving "The Cliff" bar and restaurant for super sunset drink and dinner. Must visit. Shopping mall and duty free.

Overal this is one of the top hotels in terms of money for value I have ever visited earning certificate of excellence.

One defect is hotel's wifi not working at all. Have to go outside cafe, restaurant for that.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
dear Edith C,
I appreciate you taking the time to write about our resort. We hope to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing