We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had high expectations before the stay as we read very good reviews of the hotel. Unfortunately, there were a few disappointing experiences that made the stay an average one.
1. They sent too small a vehicle to pick up our party of 11 at the airport even though they knew the size of the group beforehand. They had to call for another van to pick us up and that took a while.
2. We had an email confirmation from the hotel that they could accommodate early check-in but when we arrived, they claimed that the rooms could not be ready. We waited again.
3. The breakfast provided was really disappointing. Most of us ended up having just bread, pastries and fruits.

On a positive note, the hotel location and amenities were good. Near to dining and retail options at Pantai Cenang, the airport and Kuah Town. The swimming pool, direct beach access and kids club were a draw for the children. On departure day, they kindly offered us a hospitality room after we checked out, to wash up and rest as our flight was late at night. We truly appreciate that.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Nuhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Nuhs
I apologize for the miscommunication (on our side) with your airport transfers and the early check-in delay due to your large group needed to be close.
I am glad to read though that you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for your comments!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,630 - 1,636 of 4,200 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with family. Langkawi is a boring island but the hotel was the saving grace. It is very well located right next to the Cenang beach. We had a garden facing room which had a lovely balcony. I didn't understand the need for carpeting in the room. It doesn't work we'll in tropical places.

The staff is great although room service is a bit of an issue. Perhaps because they were fasting, they did not agree to our request to tidy the room in the evening. The pool bar staff was a bit stiff and stuck up.

Coming to the pool, absolutely fantastic. Actually there are 2 pools but the one next to reception is super. There's a kid's pool with slides, see saws and the works. The beach in Langkawi isn't really soft but well maintained.

We didn't try food at the hotel but a 5-10 minutes walk will take you to the Cenang stretch where there are plenty of eateries. I'd recommend going there for food. Also there are a few laundry shops which do excellent cleaning at fraction of the cost that the hotel charges.

Overall we had a great time at the resort. It must say, however, that the room rates are not commensurate to the quality offered. Having said that, I would stay here again if I ever return to Langkawi.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gautam269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear gautam269
Thank you for your kind review and comments about our resort. We hope you'll be back!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I haven't been there yet.but my friend recommended it to me.I had a minor problem in my online reservation.The staff were very nice and helpful.Im sure I will enjoy my honey moon there.
I really can't wait until I visit it.

Room Tip: you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank AHMEDMOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear AHMEDMOH
Congratulations to your wedding! We are waiting for you!
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family spent 3 nights at this resort on New Year's Eve and sadly, we were not at all impressed by it. We booked two seaview chalets to accommodate our parents, ourselves and a baby and we still found the room rather cramp due to the large and clunky furniture and the worst part was that there was hardly any seaview from the chalet. At that point, we felt that we paid a little too much for the price of a chalet which was promised a view.

The surrounding of the resort was kept clean but some part of the resort has gone a bit shabby that could definitely use a new coat of paint.

No doubt the resort is located on a prime spot, along the Chenang beach (the most popular in Langkawi) with many places of interest around--the Zon duty free mall, Underwater World but you do need to rent a car or hire a cab to move around especially when the young one is in tow.

Since our chalets were located at the far end of this resort, getting a buggy to take us to the lobby took a while. At one instance, we were waiting for 20 minutes and we had decided to walk to the lobby instead which took us about 15 minutes with elderly and a young child.

If we had had other choices, we would definitely choose to stay at another resort other than this one.

Room Tip: If you are bringing along children, do request for closer-to-the-lobby or ground floor chalet to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneWoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights with wife and toddler and loved:
- the spacious room (everything worked)
- the wide variety in the buffet brekky (extra charge for us)
- the walking distance to shops (but far enough away to feel somewhat secluded)
- the 2 pools with slides and kids water section
- the sunsets!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here while we were on our honeymoon in Langkawi. The resort is beautiful and has the best location. The beach is wonderful and the resort is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. It was a good place for us since we often left to explore the island or eat out, but it would be ideal for a family vacation. There are many children around and it wasn't necessarily quite. We loved it though! The staff was great and the rooms were luxurious and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zganton568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here in early July. This is an exquisite and classy resort in Langkawi. The staff are pleasant, cheerful and a special mention to the tall tamil/Malaysian receptionist for he excellent professional customer service. I am an ex hotelier and could not fault this resort. The breakfast is amazing. the and shopping just fantastic==duty free. I will be back in a flash, Love Meritus and Langkawi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rockyhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,337 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 107 in Langkawi
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £125 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing