We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
D'Warung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Pondok Muara Chalet(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Sweet Inn(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melati Tanjung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Malibest Resort(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,348)
Filter reviews
4,348 results
Traveller rating
2,065
1,479
468
195
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,065
1,479
468
195
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascade poolspice marketswim up barmain poolbuggy servicekids poollake viewmini golfcba barthe club loungekids clublarge balconycable carwelcome drinkground floorseafoodhappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,729 - 1,734 of 4,348 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After reading the comments of lack of golf buggies picking you up I am surprised by these comments. 1st time visit and couldn't have been more surprised or happier with the resort. Beachfront room and we strolled in a lovely garden walkway every morning to breakfast. The only time we needed a buggy was at checkout with suitcases and hotel was 100% full and arrived on time. Staff were friendly and very obliging. Lots of bugs I read, well amongst nature you get that and we just closed the door mainly because of aircon working and had no problems bar a few minute ants which I sprayed with aero guard. Overall very happy and would recommend the place to our friends. Relaxing and the CBA bar for cocktail hour was stunning . We wouldn't hesitate to return. Just a tip, if your young and want nightlife go to Phuket. If your into relax chill time, go to Langkawi island and the Meritus resort.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dove57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Dove57
I enjoyed reading your review and I am glad you did enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully you'll be back one of these days and explore more of our lovely island.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is really good if you want a relaxing getaway that is close to nature. To truly enjoy, I recommend a stay of 4 days minimum. The facilities are very family-friendly and good if you are travelling with small kids. They also have some children's club where you can leave the kids for some time. You can also rent bicycle if you want to roam around. Since the property is huge, it's good to have a walk with all the tress around.
We tried their seafood night for dinner and it is truly satisfying with so many options on plate.
If you want to explore the city centre, you can have a good walk and try the local delicacies at a cheaper price.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, book something far from the reception. They anyway have a buggy to take you around.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Harlene S
thank you for your review and comments about our resort.
We appreciate you taking the time to tell about your stay.
Hopefully you'll be back one of these days.
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from 9 nights at the Meritus Pelangi Beach and found it to be a very enjoyable resort. The resort is spread over 35 acres so there is always somewhere quiet (or private) to go if that is what you are looking for. The beach is white sand and it is great to be no more than 50 metres away from it so that you can just walk in to the water whenever you like without a lot of fuss.

Our room was in Chalet #30 which is overlooking the Cascade Pool and it is very quiet at that end (save for the happy, playing children in the pool through the day). However, it is quite a walk to get to the Cba Beachside Bar & Restaurant and also to the Spice Market and Lobby. If you have an aversion to walking, maybe ask for a more centrally located room.

The rooms (ours was upstairs) are very functional, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We especially liked the large bathroom/dressing room which meant all our clothes were away from the main lounge/sleeping area. They also have great big balconies where you can sit and enjoy the warmth.

The check-in process was quite effortless. We approached the desk at 2.30pm and were ushered into the lobby lounge and offered a refreshing fruit drink while our booking was found. The Check-in clerk then came to our lounge seat and explained the intricacies of the key system, took our Credit Card details etc., and within 15 minutes we were whisked (with our baggage) onto a Golf Cart and driven to our Chalet. The concierge/bellboy then went through all the operating issues in the room, gave us advice on keeping the bats out of the room by keeping the sheer curtains across, even if we have the verandah door open and left us in peace.

All the staff that we interacted with in the grounds were most friendly & happy and always greeted you with a cheery good morning or hello and a smile. Also, the restaurant & bar staff were similarly nice and welcoming, although a minor criticism would be at the Cba Bar, the staff seemed reticent to come & serve you for drinks. On more than one occasion, after waiting for a good 5 - 7 minutes for service, we would have to approach the bar. When they see you coming, they seemed to snap into gear and then come & ask for your order. There was also rarely a follow up to see if you wanted to order further drinks.

We ate at the Spice Market Restaurant on two occasions. The first being our first night in the resort when we didn't feel like venturing down to Pantai Cenang again after walking down in the afternoon. The offerings were a la carte or the Monday BBQ Buffet. We chose the BBQ Buffet which was excellent with lots of seafood (crabs, greenlip mussels, prawns, swordfish steaks, snapper fillets, lamb chops & steaks) on the BBQ as well as a wide selection of Asian & western hot dishes on the sideboard. There was also a Pasta station and a Noodle bar as well as a large salad & sides section. Fresh fruit and desserts were also in abundance. With a couple of drinks each, this meal cost nearly 300MR but for the selection, we felt it was fair.

The Resort advertised a Friday Night Seafood BBQ Buffet so that was the second booking we made at the Spice Market. This was extremely disappointing as there was less seafood available than on the Monday with only albacore steaks, prawns & calamari and the chefs were not cooking all the time at the BBQ so most of the time, a lot of the serving dishes were empty. As this meal was over 300MR, we felt a bit ripped off.

The Meritus Pelangi is ideally situated at the very end of Pantai Cenang so there is not a lot of passing beach traffic. However, it is still close enough to the restaurants & eating stalls on the Cenang strip to make it easy to try a different eating spot every night.

We found the Cascade Pool to be beautifully clean and refreshing to swim in with the cascade of water over the rock wall a great place to swim into and get a shoulder, neck or back massage by laying under the tumbling water. We had no trouble getting a recliner chair and the resort's towels were plentiful.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms around the Cascade Pool are quieter but a long way away from the bars/restaurants. Allow 20 - 30 mins for your buggy to arrive if you order one.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Cinnabel
thank you so much for your review and the kind comments you made about your stay.
I'll discuss the seafood selction with our Executive Chef and will improve the selection.
Cheers!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Meritus Pelangi for 16 nights, traveling with our two kids. It’s a nice hotel with a relaxing atmosphere, the rooms are clean, there is a good option of food, and the hotel has a lot to offer. The hotel claims to be a 5* hotel, but I would not rate it higher than a 4*. In my opinion this has more to do with the standard of things, rather than availability of facilities which isolated could go for a 5* rating.

We saw several examples of this during our stay. First of all we didn't get the best start as it turned out that the room did not fit the 4 of us. This despite communicating with the hotel well in advance assuring all was fine. If you book the family getaway package like we did, it turns out that the hotel expects you to stay 3 people in one bed and one in the extra bed that is provided as part of the package. No way that I would be spending 16 days with one of the kids in our bed! If you travel on the same package make sure to have this clear before you travel, and get it all in writing. If not you will be in trouble.

Despite my communication in advance the hotel wanted me to pay for a second extra bed, and I had to take the issue to the general manager before getting it sorted. That should not have been necessary and the staff also showed a lack of organisation with mixing up a lot of things as days passed and a lot of people got involved in the case. The worst part was that they ended up telling us that the sofa in our room was a sleeping sofa! You can expect I was not happy to hear this as it meant that we could have avoided the whole confrontation. The end of the story was that I told the staff that I was not happy with how things had been handled from their part. If this was a 5* hotel they would have done everything to turn my mood (offer an upgrade, offer food vouchers, etc), but they failed to do this. I have also told the hotel to make communication clearer on their family package offer, and I hope for other guests’ sake that they will be clearer on this part in the future.

The hotel staff working around the hotel is very friendly. This especially counts for the staff at the concierge desk and at the restaurants. Always greeting us with a warm smile, wishing us a good day and paying attention to our needs. They were fast on getting a buggy (the hotel grounds are very big), and always did their best to keep us happy. They were great with the kids who particularly fell in love with Ashis and Ismail whom both did a great job making our stay better.

I read from some of the other reviews that some people had concerns with the buggies and high speed. In our experience this was never a problem as they drove controlled and always making sure to go slowly when there were people approaching. Maybe they have improved on this area after feedback from guests, but there were no concerns from our end and we drove a lot with buggy.

The hotel has two big pools, one with a kids play area and one more for relaxing (Cascade Pool). They are both really good and we ended up spending most of our time in these two, rather than going to the beach. The first week we had lunch from CBA (very nice), but the second week we ordered the food to the Cascade Pool. Here there is one major thing that the hotel management has to look into. The very friendly staff at the pool had to collect our food from the hotel kitchens at the other end of the resort. They used bikes to do this, balancing 4-5 plates on a big board as they drive! This looks very dangerous and my wife and I talked about the risk of an accident. So one day this actually happened. One of the bartenders came over to tell us that the bartender collecting our food had crashed. When he came back you could see that he was in big pain! He didn't return for work for several days and we were told that he had to take a medical leave. This has to be improved, first and foremost for the safety of the staff. A much safer solution would be to use buggys to do this, and I sincerely hope that they do something about it.

When looking back at our stay we will first and foremost miss the nice people working at the Meritus Pelangi. They made our stay good, despite some of the troubles we had and if it was not for them this review would probably have been more on a 3* level.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

hi, Andyfosse
I sincerely apologize for the initial mix-up with your rooms and how that was handled. Thanks for your comments and suggestions.
We will look into the Room-service delivery - especially with large orders.
Again, my apologies!
Warm regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The checked in experience was unpleasant. we had to wait almost 2 hrs and i think others have to wait longer than that. The reason given was due too many tourist that day and i really want to lecture them on their manpower planning and worst i don't get the sea view room as booked. However they change me to the desire room on the next day and additional free dinner( bbq dinner). Facilities are well-kept. the food is typical 5 star hotel standard. the pool is amazing. location is nice too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AishahZakaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear AishahZakaria
I apologise sincerely for the delay in your check-in and that we could not accommodate you in the room you had initially booked.
I am glad to hear though that you still had a good time and enjoyed your stay.
Thanks!
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews