We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going for a record”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Going for a record”
Reviewed 16 October 2006

Once again my family had a wonderful time at Pelangi – this was the 8th time we have been to visit – maybe we will have to go for the record!

We think they are perfect in every way.

  • Liked — The view from my verandah and the people
  • Disliked — Nothing except having to come home
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,882
    1,383
    435
    181
    130
See reviews for
1,296
1,630
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

We had 6 nights at Pelangi in Oct 2006 and had a great time.
We stayed in a deluxe sea view room, which had been recently refurbished to a 4 or 4.5 star standard and was very nice right on the beachfront and perfect for our two young kids (note - some of the cheaper rooms not on the beachfront do not appear to have been refurbished and those look to be of 2.5 star standard only).
The resort staff are very helpful and friendly, and the pool is excellent.
Pelangi is on Cenang beach, which is the busiest beach on the island and if you like that kind of thing then it is definately the place to stay.
We will go back to Pelangi next year.
Hamish.

  • Liked — Right on the beach, recently refurbished rooms
  • Disliked — late check-in times
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zxcbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

We stayed at the Pelangi resort for a week and found it to be a wonderful relaxing experience. The food, staff, cottages, beach - everything - was delightful and the staff could not have done more to make our stay as great as it was.

The small village only two minutes away has a variety of bars, restaurants and shops so there is a lot to choose from.

The restaurants and the lounge at the Pelangi offered more than you could need for a stay there; the pool was inviting as was the beach with all the activities offered.

Recommend going on the Mangrove tour; there is much more to see than mangroves, believe me! Also, the hiring of motorbikes, while not advertised, is a great and inexpensive way to see the rest of the island.

Wonderful, great time at the Pelangi and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Lee

  • Liked — Cottage furnishings; pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank LesleyHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

My husband and I and our two children aged 15 & 9 stayed at Pelangi for 5 nights. And it was way to short a stay...wished we had an extra couple of nights. It was completely relaxing. We stayed in pool view connecting rooms which were quite dark but they were very cool and refreshing to step into out of the heat. The pool view rooms were worth the extra cost as this is where we spent most of our time. The pools were beautifully maintained and stunning to look at especally first thing in the morning. We found all of of the staff Pelangi very friendly and would go out of their way to make sure your stay was the best it could be. Breakfast buffet was more than enough variety and very yummy! As were all restaurants at the resort. Our dining highlight was the Seafood BBQ on the Beach. The atmosphere, sunset, food and service was amazing!!! Wish we were back there right now. Pelangi Resort is a beautiful place. Do your self a favour and visit this perfect place for some R & R.

  • Liked — Access to pool from rooms
  • Disliked — king single beds in parents room
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgarde to pool view room. Especially if you have children.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sparkles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We booked this resort as the ending destination for our 22 day honeymoon trip to Malaysia and we didn't regret one second of it.

Our room (a sea view deluxe room) was perfectly clean and had a great view. Service and facilities were excellent, although the prices in the resort's restaurants were a bit high. But then again you can always have your diner outside of the restaurant. Try the excellent seafood restaurant (believe it's called 'Orkid' or something), about 100 metres from the resort's entrance.

Also the personnel were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping team even created a spectacular fresh flower arrangement on our bed to celebrate our honeymoon !

All in all an excellent ending of our honeymoon and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this destination to any of my friends...

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank elgwappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

The Pelangi Beach is an extremely unpretentious Hotel. Somewhere you can relax without having to worry what to wear. The staff are a real asset to this place - there is nothing too much trouble for them. The public areas are well presented, the gardens are established and wonderful to walk around and the pools are just, well, heaven. The beaches generally in Malaysia are not spectacular but I found the one here to be clean and the sand a beautiful light colour. The hotel is in close proximity to some fantastic restaurants but those inside the Hotel are also superb. You simply must have dinner (barbeque) on the beach at sunset............. I have stayed in many 5 star Hotels and this is truly up with the best. The guest rooms although not the best I have stayed in are extremely comfortable, large and quite traditional in style and nothing is forgotten to make your stay comfortable. Perfect for chilling out alone, as a romantic couple or a family............ fantastic!

  • Liked — The Setting
  • Tips/Secrets — Would rather stay here than on the North Side of the Island where there are no facilities other than in the Hotels.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Adrian1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2006

My husband and I made the mistake of paying for our room in advance through a website called globebookings.com. They never paid the hotel and of course when we arrived at Pelangi there was no longer a reservation or room for us.

As you can imagine we were quite distraught - but the hotel staff were helpful. They gave us a lovely sea-facing room - not at the price that I thought I'd found online - but not far off either. In addition we didn't have to pay for breakfast during our stay.

Over the next 10 days all our stress melted away. The staff were friendly, the facilities great and the food wonderful. The Spa is heavenly and the hotel has 2 glorious pools. My only quibble would be that you get charged for everything - even a game of darts - but that's no different to resorts all over the world. What's important is that we left the hotel well rested and well fed.

I would like to thank Pelangi for turning our nightmare experience into a dream holiday - and the chef for a killer Nasi Lemak and his sizzling tiger prawns!

  • Liked — Not heavily stylised - rustic accomodation but with all the conveniences required
  • Disliked — Perhaps bathrooms could do with an upgrade
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Frema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing