We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay too short - would love to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2010

After over 24 hours of travel we arrived at the Meritus Pelangi and were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff. Our room was only a short distance from reception but we were transported there in a golf cart along with our luggage by one of the porters. We were shown how the key operated the electricity in the room and how to control the air conditioning which was very important!!

Our room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable with all the extras that quality hotels provide and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was also very well appointed and we liked the separate toilet and shower especially as my sister & I take different lengths of time to get ready!

Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight as it is a large resort but there were plenty of staff on hand to seat you and replenishing the well stocked buffet. There was certainly no excuse for anyone not having enough to choose from - a vast selection of fresh fruits, fruit compotes and cereals; then a big array of bread, rolls and pastries. For cooked breakfast there was a vast choice - one could choose to have English or Asian as well as waffles and pancakes. So no reason for anyone to feel hungry at the end of breakfast!

On the first night we were so tired that we did not venture outside the hotel and ate the buffet from the Boat House Barbeque Restaurant and food was cooked by the chefs on the barbeque to our taste. It was lovely to sit outside in the cool wind overlooking the lovely beach and enjoy a leisurely buffet.

As we only had 2 days in Langkawi we did not make full use of all of the facilities - we did not take advantage of the Leisure Centre or the Spa facilities but we did swim in the lovely lagoon swimming pool surrounded by beautiful flowering plants and trees.

I can see why some people were spending their whole holiday at the Meritus Pelangi and maybe one I might go back and do the same because I would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trulymaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,841 - 2,847 of 4,120 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

We've just returned from a 12 night stay at the Pelangi. I have to say i was a bit concerned before hand after reading some of the negative reviews but once we'd arrived there i really needn't have worried at all.
We had booked a sea view room through Kuoni ages ago and ended up with a really nice large room overlooking the beach, sea and palm trees. It was located right at the far end of the resort, it took about 8-10 mins to stroll to the main lobby. This didn't bother us as it was nice to either walk through the gardens or go along the beach front to our chalet. The room had a massive bed which was really comfy, also had a single bed in there too, the air con worked really well, bathroom could have done with a bit of sprucing up but it was all clean and fully functional. We had a small balcony overlooking the beach area. It seemed to us that if you had a larger room then the balcony tended to be smaller, and a smaller room had a larger balcony! There was plenty of drawer and hanging space for clothes, we needed more hangers which were brought over to us after a quick phone call. We had complimentary water each day and also a couple of bowls of fruit and some chocolates were bought to us during our stay which was a nice touch.
We always used the Casade pool which was the smaller of the 2, mainly because it was situated right near to us so only took about 30 seconds to walk there. It was still a good size but didn't seem to get as busy. The pool bar was good and we used it often for drinks or food. We never had a problem getting sunbeds either.
There was lots of choice for breakfast, we found if you went a bit earlier it was less busy as for some reason everyone seemed to descend on the restaurant at the same time later on which made it rather busy at times. We noticed though that the staff opened up the Thai restaurant to use for breakfast as well as the usual one to compensate for busy times, they also extended the opening time from 10am to 10.30. There was all the usual choices from English food to continental breakfast, pancakes and pastries, an egg station - which incidentally didn't take 30 mins to get served at, i used it nearly every day and it never took longer than 5 mins. You could also get Nasi Lemak, congee, chinese noodles etc.
The hotel itself is in lovely surroundings, and gardens are well kept, the gardeners were constantly busy tidying up. It made a change to stay somewhere a bit more authentic with the chalets all in the traditional Malay style. All the staff we encountered were really friendly, and would smile and speak every time. I really think that sometimes people need to treat others as they wish to be treated themselves! I can't believe some of the reviews on here that say the staff were unfriendly or unhelpful, that simply wasn't the case.
There were some insects and bugs etc about but it is Malaysia so what do people expect?!
During our stay there was a duck which had escaped from the small animal enclosure at the back of the resort and had made a nest and laid its eggs by the Casade pool. The eggs hadn't hatched by the time we left so if anyone knows if they had successfully i'd love to know!
The beach was lovely with white sand, yes there were some broken shells which were a bit uncomfortable to walk on but they were only in a small area, once you started to walk down the beach the sand became lovely and soft again. We didn't go in the sea until the last day as i'd become paranoid about the jelly fish, as it happens we didn't have any problems on going in the sea and it was lovely and warm.
It didn't take long to walk into Cenang either along the beach or by the main road, it was cooler on the beach though. There's plenty of places to eat, not so many bars though. We liked Little Lylias and Yellow Cafe on the beach, and also used to go to the Beach Garden Resort just up from Pelangi. We didn't notice somewhere called Babylon until the last day when it was too late to try it which was a pity.
The hotel is about 10 - 15 mins from the airport and you do see the odd plane but they're no bother at all, not noisy and definitely don't make the buildings shake! They mainly fly out over the sea rather over the hotel anyway.
All in all we had a really great stay here, we found the hotel and the island seemed to grow on us and i would love to come back sometime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights after flying in my a city break in KL. We had organised to be picked up at the airport through our travel agent which is a good idea if you are not familiar with the area. When you get out of the airport you may be shocked to see how poor the locals are, there is alot of run down houses and shacks and 4 family members on one scooter! When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. The resort itself is beautiful, lots of lovely wooden houses. We were taken by golf cart to our room where the concierge took the time to talk us through the facilities in our room and gave us directions and details of the resort. Shortly after he left we received a knock on our door offering us a bowl of fruit for our room. 10 minutes after that reception called asking if it would be ok for them to send us a cake for our anniversay - what a pleasant surprise in the first 30 minutes of our stay!!
The holiday got better from there, the pools were beautiful, the food at the pool side bar was excellent and the staff were lovely. We ate in the resort itself as we did not like the look of the local restaurants up the street!
The entertainment at night is good - the house bad were great however I would have liked if they could have had a couple of different bands or different entertainment each night. I would suggest to anyone to hire a car from the hotel and take a trip around the island for yourself it is totally safe and is a great way to see Langkawi. The spa is definitely worth a visit but there are cheaper ones outside the resort. Just 2 things disappointed me 1. The beach did not look as nice as I had expected, a tour guide told me this is as a result of the tsunami the other thing which interrupted my sleep was the gecko who insisted on living in our room and only making an appearance in the dead of night - this would not put me off staying here. The hotel is beautiful the staff are the happiest and friendliest I have ever come across. Would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishgirl_286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

good resort for relaxing, that's if you can get a sunbed. you have more luck around the small pool to the right of the complex. rooms are good and clean. don't expect Shanghai la comfort yet it has all you need. the boat pub is rubbish and expensive. the main road has a few good restaurants and a couple of bars, very quiet island. one thing i did miss was pork, beef bacon for breakfast don't go down that well. the beach is large yet full of sharp broken shells, so wear appropriate footwear. and watch out for jelly fish, washed up and in the water. thank god for the aircon in the rooms, it was over 100 degrees everyday. HAD TO STAY IN THE POOL TO STAY COOL !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waggaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We i booked this hotel and was prepared for the worst after some of the reviews, i have also just read the couple of new reviews on there, we must of stayed in different hotels!! This was lovely, it wasnt the flashest hotel ive ever stayed in (we also stayed at the datai on this holiday, you definately get what you pay for in life) but it was very well presented and everything you would expect from a 3+/4 star hotel. if you pay for the lowest room category you should not expect the luxury of the better rooms and then demand to be moved to something you havent paid for??
The chekin was a little on the lsow side but we got taken by buggy to our room - overlooking the cascade pool and it was fine, it probably could with with a slight refurb in places but it was a good size and very comfortable with a huge balcony. it had a seperate walkin dressing/bathroom area too and our air con was fine.
the gardens area was lovely and the staff were working away each day. all of the staff around the hotel were nice and pleasant (i know what id be like working in that heat!) and the pool areas were fab too, i didnt see any algae and there were plenty of beds considering how busy it was. the breakfast was fine although on a couple of the morning there were queues for the eggs but the the other days it was fine and we had no wait at all. also we did the beach restaurant one evening with a table out watching the sunset, which i would definately recommened. it is more procey than the restaurants in the village but thats the same with any hotel you go into worldwide.
outside its literallt 10 mins walk to shops and restaurants. the seafood one everyone keeps mentioning is fabulous, try it if you can.
Overall i though the hotel was worht what we had paid, as long as you dont go into it expecting five star luxury (it isnt) then you will be fine. i would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinglenoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Dirty over priced less than 3 star hotel, staff not ferndly, takes 30 minutes to get eggs for breakfast there was only 1 cook, many of the beach and pool chairs were broken, in the mornings there was leftover garbage and ash trays aaround the pool no one had cleaned up from the day before, I will not be going there again, the drinks were very expensive compared to the local priced, even the water was 10 times the local price, outside the water was 1 RM per bottle and 10RM in the room. to use the internet they wanted 50 RM per hour compared with 3 RM at the internet cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We decided to go to Langkawi after reading about it in the Times travel magazine. The hotel was nice & the grounds well kept. When we arrived we were allocated a second floor pool view but we asked in advance for a ground floor which they changed without a problem. The weather was great but very very hot & one the day it rained it rained for about 15mins a total downpour. The beach bar was great for happy hour we spent many an afternoon supping wine watching the sunset. wish i was still there

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LisaK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,238 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,417 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £138 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Splitty, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing