We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 years on and it still made us smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Stayed here in 2003 for our honeymoon, this time we returned to celebrate the wedding of 2 very dear freinds, and it was a joy to be back. We smiled every day as we wondered around the hotel and gardens and beach, it is such a lovely hotel with such wonderfull staff. The pools are great, huge and have lovely swim up bars. Great quality food served all day long, yes the prices are twice the price of what you can pay outside the hotel, but thats the case with any hotel, you have a captive audience. The location is what makes this palce so good, its at Pantai Cenang which is a great place to pick up clothing, gifts, duty free, and ofcourse eat and drink, hundreds of restaurants/bars to choose from, the Pelangi is at the very start of Pantai Cenang, so no noise from the bars, just a few mins stroll and your in the thick of it all.

Good choice of restaurants on site, and the food was excellent. Although I must say the breakfast was rather poor, its just not worth bothering with in my opinion, far far better choice out on the high street to enjoy, I wouldnt bother paying for breakfast here again put it that way.

The rooms are huge, last time we had a deluxe, this time we had a standard room, which to be fair was pretty similar, enormous and very comfy beds, seriously cold air con which was a MUST as the heat and humidity was a killer. Big bathroom with plenty storage and a huge balcony that could easily have 12 people on it if needed, its huge.

Very good gym facility also. And 2 squash courts. Kids club area. Pool tables, table tennis, darts, board games, plenty to keep anyone amaused really.

Happy hour was always a winner, with the cocktails a real gem, my fav and our gangs favourite being "love portion" which if anyone reads this, can they please tell me the ingrediants of that cocktial, I knwo it has Kahula, but what else was on the menu list ???

Great hotel, great location, great staff, great facilities, great food at lunch / evening, POOR breakfast being the only negative from me. Would stay here for a 3rd time should I re visit langkawi and its wonderfull people again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,915 - 2,921 of 4,244 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

I stayed in this delightful hotel located on a quiet beach with my daughter (travel agent with fightcentre) in late April 2010.
We shared a "pool view" room and were most happy with the cleanliness, and service of the friendly staff. Several restaurants within the resort also offered a vast variety of cuisine to suit anyone's appetite.
We also indulged in spa treatments that left us feeling incredibly relaxed and rejuvenated.
I recommend this hotel if relaxation, romance and quietness is what you are searching for.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in April 2010. The hotel is a ten minute taxi ride from the airport and is located on a quiet, clean, beautiful beach. The reception area is very inviting; and the check in staff are attentive and efficient.
The room was well appointed, inviting and very comfortable. Wi Fi was available in the room for an extra charge. The breakfast buffet and the restaurant staff were excellent.
The hotel has two beautiful pools with nice sun loungers. Sun loungers are also available on the hotel's beach. The hotel also has a fitness room, table tennis facilities and squash courts.
We had a lovely time relaxing at the hotel after a hectic few weeks travelling around asia. The beach was clean and quiet - ideal for nice relaxing walks and paddling in the warm sea. Jet skis can be hired from the hotel beach staff if you want a bit of excitement!
You can walk to the local town by turning right out of the hotel. The town has roadside restaurants, tourist shops and a night market if you fancy an evening stroll!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Having read other reviews on this site, we were not expecting much. We booked two connecting rooms, since we have two young children. They upgraded us to a Beach View from a Garden view, and I can only say we were really really really pleased with the quality of the room(s), the stunning view, the two pools, the facities and the service.

I can honestly say the rooms were equivilent to 4 or 5*. Very large, when connected, it kind of made a very large suite with a room in the middle for luggage/clothes etc.

The view from the large balacony was just stunning. I will include pictures later.

The two pools were excellent and pool bars nice.

The hotel grounds seemed very spacious and very quite. Never a problem getting sun beds etc.

They had a beach bar, beach restuarant (tables on the beach).

They had sailing, cannoe and jets ski's ready to go in the water, no queues, no hassle, just turn up, give your room number and off you go. Jet Ski's cost 28GBP for 30 mins.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This is our first time to Langkawi having been to Bali and Phuket many times. We thought we would book a good 5 star hotel as it was my wife's 50th birthday.

I was dissapointed upon reaching the resort. It looked a bit old. Our chalet was quite far away from the lobby and although we were promised that buggies ply the route there all the time, we either walked or had to call for a buggy. Walking in a resort is good except it was very hot and uncomfortable.

The room is big and airy but old and a bit run down. The TV is still not a flat screen and the reception is poor. The door knob fell off and the air con didn't work. Considering the extreme heat it was very uncomfortable in the room until it was fixed which took a about two hours. The light in the veranda did not work as well but we did not bother to ask for it to be fixed.

The internet cable was not working as well.

I must say though that the reception staff was helpful. They managed to get our parties chalets in close proximity which is great considering the distances between some chalets.

If this was a 3 star hotel I would say it is good value but paying the price we did, there is not much to rave about.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsiantravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I booked this hotel 9 months ago and was getting increasingly worried that I had made a big mistake as the bad reviews were getting increasingly worse each week. I need not have worried.
I had upgraded to a pond view room. The room was clean and well decorated. Our bed linen was changed every other day and the towels were changed when you put them in the bath for replacement. We had a problem with our air conditioning the first day, but it was repaired almost immediately when we were out to dinner. We did not have any smells or flies from the pond, even when sitting out on our balacony.
We spent most of the day round the Cascade pool, where empty beds out -numbered the used ones. No towels were put out to reserve them at any time. The pool was clean and the staff prompt when ordering drinks and snacks.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast. I found the staff very polite and helpful. The price of the food in the hotel restaurants was rather pricey so we only ate in the hotel 2 evenings. The other 12 nights we ate at various restaurants within 10/15 minutes walking distance. Our favorite was the Orkid Rea. The food was very good Thai/Malaysian and reasonably priced with plenty of choice.
Tourists should remember that a 5 star rating is different in all countries. In England it would probably be classed as a 4 star.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minispud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

friendly stuffs ,beautiful beach ,comfortable rooms,delicious seafood specially seabass fish

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,393 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 108 in Langkawi
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £120 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing