We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd to none”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
ilfracombe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2nd to none”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We have recently returned home from a wonderfull hotel,we have stayed in many 5,6 7 star hotels all round the world but the CASA DEL MAR outshines them all.It is a nice smnall quite hotel staff cannot do enough to make your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.Food is very good with a wide range of choice,everyone is catered for,we cannot thank the staff enough for a most wonderfull time.Wehave rebooked for next year that is a thing we have never done before in our opinion its the best THANK YOU TO THE STAFF AT CASA DEL MAR

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buster92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and review I will share with the staff!
We are delighted that you had enjoyed your time here and we are looking forward to welcoming you again next year at your Home by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    267
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
210
1,723
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Casa Del Mar is an extension and compliment to the beauty of the people of Lankawe. The peacefulness of the island is lived in the level of service that is Casa Del Mar. Selfishly I recommend no one to stay so a spot will be available whenever I like. A fellow guest said to me if "heaven is not like this I'm coming back to try again". Well done Lankawe and Casa Del Mar

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnikdaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your great and touching review!
Hope you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed here 4 days with my friends and we all agreed that this is one of the best hotel in the world. We had a good time together and the staff was a big part to play. Hotel's activities was fantastic and the room service was incredible. All that I need is here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_candy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and review I will share with the staff, we are delighted you loved it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We're from the UK and live in KL, and were looking for a last minute trip somewhere close by. Malaysians will genereally tell you if you want a beach holiday to go to the tropical paradise that are thie islands of the east coast of the penisula. However, as it was still monsoon season on the east coast we thought we go back to Langkawi. We had been once before to the Datai which is without doubt the best hotel in Malaysia and arguably the best in Asia. However, many of our British friends recommended Casa del Mar so we thought would give it a go.

When we arrived the receptionist was extrememly charming, and were were handed a delicious homemade ginger beer type drink. First impression of the lobby/library area was that the hotel was a bit tired. We were taken to our room which was perfectly acceptable. Many have mentioned the high standard of food, but the tapas menu was beyond pretentious. The calamari was said to be in something along the lines of 'star-anise sea salt' and something else wrapped - it was just squid in deep fried batter. We had a decent steak on the second night but was incredibly over-priced. During the day, the staff are incredibly attentive - they bring you jugs of water, pieces of melon, and home-made ice cream without even having to ask. However, despite only staying for the weekend we were constantly reminded of our check-out time. On the Saturday someone came to our room to remind us we were checking out at 12 the next day, then on the Sunday morning, when we were both asleep, the phone rung from reception reminding us we were checking out at 12 - it was only 9am! This hotel really comes into its own at sunset - the view from the bar is extrememly pleasant with the sun setting over a nearby island, while the charasmatic Jack mixes your drink. You also get three chances to roll a roulette wheel and if it lands on your colour you get a free drink and can roll another 3 times and so on. A very nice touch (between 5-7pm i think). Once again i felt slightly let down on check out. When i was looking through the bill the receptionist asked me if i would like to pay by cash or credit card, i replied 'cash' then she said 'well please can you give me your cash then'. I had to reply that i was checking over the bill and was not yet finished which should have been obvious.

We had a pefectly enjoyable stay but what got me was the value or lack of it. I dont know what package deals the Brits and Germans get, but we paid approx 900RM, not including food, per night - this equates to about GBP 180. We stayed in the Datai for the same price in December, okay it was the end of the off season but as were were getting Malaysian rates, and considering its excellence we knew we were getting a great deal. Perhaps an even better deal was when we stayed at Tanjong Jara on the East Coast. Again being Malaysian Residents we paid approx 600 MR (GBP 120), per night INCLUDING food. Tanjong Jara is far superior - the swimming pools, the room, the food, yet it works out you will pay less than half price of Casa del Mar. You can take a short boat trip from there and you are in proper divers/snorkelling paradise - you dont get this in Langkawi.

If the prices were 250 RM (GBP 50) cheaper per night, I would definitely recommend Casa del Mar but as it was we were both incredibly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChasL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Guests,

We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively.

I am sincerely sorry for the call made at 9am in the morning it is certainly not a procedure in place at Casa. Same goes for the check out experience; we have since debriefed our staff.

I understand that being expat in Malaysia you are looking for best retreats and deals. However I should highlight you have chosen to stay with us during a peak season and experienced this great hotel which is The Datai during a low season with a special rate offered to expat as they used to during this period of the year.
As for the Tanjong Jara, the rates you mentioned are in U$ on their website (?).
I hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay. I am glad to read that at the end you “had a perfectly enjoyable stay”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

stayed here for 14 days with our friends, did not want to leave . Position superb, food great, staff brilliant, nothing was ever to much bother. Hotel and grounds spotless. It was the wifes 65th birthday whilst we were here, she was given flowers and champagne at breakfast and 2 cards personally signed by the staff, also in the evening a birthday cake with her name written in chocolate. It is also the small things that make it so special like free biscuits , fruit and nuts in your room, free tea ,coffee and fruit in the library. 2 computers with free internet access, cold towels, iced water, fruit lollies around pool/beach. Pool towels and papers delivered daily to your room. Not forgetting the great spa. Hope to return next year

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thothmosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review indeed. The staff will be delighted to read it.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Sensational boutique hotel, wonderful location, terrific staff, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for making our day!
We hope you had a safe trip back to Australia and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights during Feb and was here in 2007 as well. Needless to restate what have already been said by many others in the many reviews on this site. I am impressed that Casa del Mar have continued the very high standards since we were here last time. I cant point to what exactly make this place so special, it certainly does not feel like a traditional 5 star property but rather a very friendly place where you actually feel at home. Everything is really nice and works well on this property, and the service is very friendly and natural. The food is quite extraordinary, and you might find yourself ending up eating at the restaurant most every night. Rooms apparently are going to be renovated later this year, however we stayed at the DlxSuites and find them very nice and comfortable already. Can only say we would never consider any other Hotel at Langkawi if CDM continues to live up to its standards.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT2Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay with us! Trust it will be shared with the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,343 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing