We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!! Wish I could stay there forever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2011

As soon as we got there,the staff came out to greet and welcome us and gave us the refreshing drink and cool towels. Looking at the reception we were abit worried about what the rest of the hotel would look like as the furniture is abit outdated. However, our room was very nice (loved the home made biscuits). The restaurant and breakfast was excellent. The pool and beach area was clean and v.relaxing. We got offered cold water and fruits but no ice lollies :-(.
The only disappointing thing about Casa del Mar was that we booked the pool view room 6 months ago but the room we were given dint face the pool. It faced the sea but there were trees blocking the view. It was on 1st floor and the entrance to the room was not from the main hotel so we felt abit excluded. You had to come out of reception from the front of the hotel and go to the left side and thats where the stairs were. We asked them to move us on the first day we got there but were told they dint have any other room available. Otherwise Amazing hotel and looking at other hotels I am soo glad I chose this one! I really liked the staff there, they were always there to help and chat. We dint meet the manager Tom but the other staff were very kind and helpful and we kind of enjoyed our stay more because of them. I would definately recommend this hotel and I am going back there in a couple of years!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeezii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

Absolutely fantastic place. Fantastic service, great facility, great location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank House_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

it is true........the moment you walk thru their doors, it feels like a different world.service is truly amazing.staff are at your service 24/7.a shout out to ms rajesh, at front desk who was exceptionally helpful and friendly during our stay.
rooms are well appointed ( we stayed at the pool view rooms).lovely to be able to walk out into the pool.views are amazing.cocktails great.ambience at nite was lovely.
we had a great time and also had the privilege of meeting tom, who was lovely. ( by the way, congratulations and safe trip )i will come back.it felt like home away from home......

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lingamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We weren't able to stay at the Casa del Mar as it was booked out but had read the rave reviews so put it on our list to visit. We stayed at the Westin Hotel and were disappointed. We ended up travelling the 30 minutes by taxi each day to the Casa del Mar to eat (great food and prices) and take advantage of the beach activities available at Cenang. Definitely the place to stay if you are young (or young at heart). Boutique style Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyCreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were looking forward to a few days of R&R at the Casa del Mar. We had read all the rave reviews and thought this place would be the best choice.
Well, it all went down hill when a bull dozer arrived to level the beach in front of the hotel and we spent two days watching that and two days watching a tent being erected in front of our sea-facing room, blocking out the view of the ocean to the sound of hammers and drills. We were not notified of this planned construction (for a wedding to be held at the Casa) in advance and we watched it all happen for two days. I really wonder why the management didn't notify guests of this event IN ADVANCE and make sure their guests' stay wouldn't be affected by another guest's wedding plans. In the end, we complained but the damage had already been done. We had wasted our valuable vacation time at a resort that didn't value us. The management did end up discounting our bill after we complained, but why didn't they offer to do that in the beginning? Why did we have to be made to feel that we were irrelevant and the wedding guests were more important? We had booked our stay through the hotel's website and at the full price, but were treated like we didn't really matter.
The Casa del Mar is really a nice little hotel in a nice location with great food and excellent and unique beverages. The spa staff are excellent. The Casa is trying to be a little luxurious gem in a prime location and is probably great most of the time. It is a shame that we ended up being there at the wrong time and dealt with in a poor manner. I would have loved to have come back, but won't due to the lack of customer service skills when it comes to dealing with problems.
Also, the airconditioner is place right over the bed,,so expect a headcold when you wake up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank elysium11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Guests,


Thank you for your feedback and pleased to read your review after nearly a year following the event (first week of July 2010).

I need to mention to our readers that we have informed our guests about the wedding; verbally during our traditional weekly gathering at the bar, introducing the bride and groom but also by writing as we have sent a letter in each and every room that the celebration would end at midnight. Most of the 45 invitees were staying in house.

As every year, we level up the beach after 6 months of North East season, and to also assemble the tent as far away as possible from the rooms. I admit what should have taken one or two hours took longer. We apologized to everyone for the inconvenience caused.

We understood your frustration and concerns and offered a compensation you accepted, as you did not like the idea of moving room.

We were under the impression we had resolved this issue to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention.

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

It has all been said before about Casa del Mar. A excellent place to relax and soak up the sun. Hotel has excellent customer service,the staff are second to non, which makes for a very enjoyable holiday.
Breakfast was al a carte with as much juice, coffee an tea as you like. Overall the
food was very good, we ate most of our meals on the beach. We had a La Luna one night and this was very enjoyable, lots of qood quality food and drinks, Thank you Robert.

We did a few tours arranged by the hotel and all were very enjoyable. We had a sea view room but the pool view rooms would be just as good.

To sum it up yes we wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbiegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband and I and our 2 friends stayed at the Casa Del Mar in April and it was magnificent. The checking in process was handled quickly and without fuss while we had cold towels to cool us and a lovely drink of tea. Chika then took us around the grounds and explained the running of the hotel, while our luggage was delivered to our rooms. All aspects of the room were also explained. We had a beach facing room. Looking out to sea from the bed was fabulous, and when there was thunder and lightening, the show was spectacular. The spa is worth a visit, very relaxing, as well as the sailing on the Capricorn 2, a wonderful day, very informative crew, and swimming oportunities and a gourmet lunch! Tuesday evenings the manager Tom gives an informative talk about tours and introduces the staff of the hotel. This is accompanied by free beer and bubbles. We had dinner at the captains table, ( Tom hosts) a gastronomic delight, meet new people and worth every ringgit ! Stay here people, you are guarenteed a great holiday. I wish we could live there forever!
There are many restaurants and shops outside the hotel. We ate in a few restaurants and all seemed very good.
The hotels provide daily fresh fruit, ice and bottled water to the rooms daily, also homemade biscuits to have with your tea and coffee.
There is so much you can do here, weater sports,castaway island lunches, romantic dinners on the beach for 2. Visit the rice paddy oposite hotel, very informative tour and free!.

Room Tip: I think all rooms here would be good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kac2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £167 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing