We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Everything said here is true. This hotel understands how to pamper their clients. It is not cheap at all but worth the charge. Would recommend it to anybody who can afford it. Do not miss out the spa !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HansRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience which will be shared with the team. We are delighted you loved it!
We look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,381)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Mar, Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our amazing stay at Casa Del Mar. The staff were lovely and thoughtful, the location was perfect and the views breathtaking. When we pulled up at the hotel I have to say I was a little apprehensive because from the outside it's not all that flashy for a 5 star boutique - but don't let this fool you! What was behind those doors was better than I imagined. My husband and I had the most wonderful time and did not want to leave. Even though it's not cheap it was well worth paying extra and staying here instead of some big commercial flashy hotel.

A special mention for the Nasi Goreng that i ate during breakfast - BEST NASI GORENG EVER.

The castaway picnic was lovely, the views on the way to the private beach were complete breathtaking. Would definitely recommend this as well as dinner at La Luna.

Also, a big thank you to the manager, Tom, for organising our amazing 5 star dinner experience. It was much appreciated and made our stay even more amazing.
We are already looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and get a studio sea facing room. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzOzTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear guests,

Many thanks for your long review I have shared with the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again one day to Langkawi.
Just a precision for our readers, Casa del Mar is a 4 stars boutique hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I are currently staying at Casa Del Mar, Langkawi.
I know it's not usual to write a review during the stay, but I guess at least I can share what's fresh in my mind. We have been here for three days two nights now.

The room is great, with the beach just right at the door step. It's very comfortable and lovely scented. We love the bed a lot. I am now sitting at the desk facing the sea, writing this review. Nice.

The beach is just wonderful. We have the view of the open sea, with some islands on the left and right. Excellent! We like it this way, as the view has a mix of sea and greenery. The sand is very fine and it feels so good on our feet. Since the beach is facing West, we have a view of beautiful sunset (7.15 - 7.30 pm) each evening.

There is only one restaurant at this resort, but not to worry as the food here is great. We love the prawns. There are also many restaurants nearby within very short walking distance (2 - 5 minutes). In fact, there is one just right next door.

Tip: Reserve one of the front row tables on the beach, where you will have the nicest view of sunset, while having your dinner. If your table is on the far left, you would be able to hear the live music from the restaurant next door as well. Perfect combination!

The staff here are excellent. They provide the most wonderful service and you truly feel at home here. It's my wife's birthday today and they surprised her with a bouquet of flower during the breakfast. Also, during the dinner, they have the words "Happy Birthday", written on the dessert plate. They did a special cocktail for my wife as well. Lovely!
With staff like these, no wonder they are voted the best hotel in Malaysia.

We have two more nights to go and we will cherish every moment spent here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LTY74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write this long review indeed! You have truly made our day. Being so close to us I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We recently stayed at Casa Del Mar and booked it based on the comments on tripadvisor.

Firstly we have to say the overall experience was lovely, mainly down to the people working at the hotel who so obviously have so much pride in their work and quite rightly so as they totally make your stay. Naming just a few (which seems slightly unfair as everyone is amazing) but both Jack and Mood and the wonderful man who always wears the cowboy hat (please forgive us for forgetting your name!,,) are so attentive and from day one remember who you are and what you drink - little things that make you feel welcome.

The manager, Tom, and his lovely wife and son, are very polite and welcoming without being intrusive on your holiday.

During the day the ice towels, fresh fruit and ice lollies are a pleasant interlude to lounging in the sun.

Ocha Ria is a lovely restaurant a few doors down - the food in the hotel is beautiful but it is nice to try somewhere else every now and again.


A couple of down points however....

We stayed in a junior suite - they are clean and tidy but a little tired - the bathrooms are big but in desperate need of a revamp. The balconies are nothing like they are advertised on the website - we booked this for our wedding anniversary and had hoped for a room as advertised - being very bright and airy (and according to the hotel website, newly refurbed!!), so we very disappointed when we checked into our room.

When arriving at the hotel don't expect the normal 4/5 star hotel reception - you will be disappointed, especially if you have travelled from elsewhere within Malaysia. Don't get us wrong, it's pleasant, just not the usual wow!

The beach is clean and tidy, but you do get the interruption of the jet skis and banana boats from the main part of the beach (about a 10 min walk down to the left from the hotel), but no hassle whatsoever from anyone touting for this business.

Other little things to note....

There are a lot of repeat visitors at this resort who can tend to monopolise the people working there. The hotel prides themselves in this, which is fine, but it can make your feel as though you are in the way a bit if you are 'first time visitors'.

Also sun loungers are reserved before the sun rises, so you feel as though you have to join 'them' just to ensure that you don't end up with the loungers in the shade.. Having said this, they are very comfortable loungers!

So all in all a bit of a mixed review - all the negatives can easily be rectified by management. So, give it a go - we won't be returning but purely because there are so many places in the world to see!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Winch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for spending the time to write this long review which will be shared with the team. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your time here!
Enjoy traveling around the world, as you mentioned there is so much to discover!
A note for our readers; we have many returnees in the month of February only. The issue with sun loungers has been resolved since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have just returned home from the hotel,it was a great stay room improvements great service second to none staff are a asset to this establihment from manageagment to pool boys gardeners and maintainance.We did not hear of any complaints from guests age group ranged from mid twenties to retired age group.Hotel has a relaxing atmosphere all staff made the guests most welcome no problem was to great for them to deal with.We have stayed in many hotels in Asia over the years and we have found what we both consider the best hotel for the personel touches ie room comfort small things like fresh milk dailey ground coffee tea not tea bags dailey ice bucket.We both celebrated our birthdays at the hotel and we was surprise by being given a bouquet of red Roses also a glass of Champagne.Once again we have already booked with the hotel for our next holiday and we are looking foreward to our visit and meeting friends that we have made.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buster92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is truly beyond our expectations. Situated perfectly in a fantastic beach. The beach in front of the hotel is the best, no water sports, which in itself is nice feature of the day but are off. Room for a high standard and the day brightens up of small but very appreciated details. As, iced water, fruit, cold towel, ice cream and more. The service is top and the staff are really servicminded.
A homey feeling
Peter och Christina

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina_welander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Peter & Christina,


Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted that you had enjoyed your time here and hope that we may welcome you again to Casa del Mar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Lets get the positives in first. Nice rooms, lovely toiletries, big fluffy towels, beds are wonderful, aircon works, free water and fruit.
On the down side, this place is very expensive for a cheap location. Walking down Pantai Cenang Rd, is a very smelly experience. Beach is clean in front of the hotel, but water is murky. At the hotel, The fruit juice in the fridge was months out of date, the daily fruit was not a1 quality. Internet in rooms complicated and intermittent. food and drinks at first world prices, but Langkawi is a duty-free third world.
The management really welcome your feedback, but they are struggling to live up to the expectations placed on them with their TA award from last year.
The customers are 90% over 55, and many love CDM.
If this hotel was in a nicer locale, it would be great. However, it is overpriced where it is.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustraliaPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,354 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £149 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing