We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd Visit - Better Than Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Visit - Better Than Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our second visit - this time we took another couple with us - and we found everything to be better than ever. The staff are so attentive - I can barely remember checking in because everything was organised by the time we got there from the airport. A week here is absolute bliss and the food at the restaurant is stunning - we even managed to get the recipe for their amazing Seafood Risotto! We have taken the Indulgence Package both times - it is great value and the Day Spa is not to be missed. For us, with its service, location, size etc I don't think there is a more perfect resort anywhere.

Room Tip: The Beachfront rooms are worth the extra. If you are going to swim in the sea, take some 'water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Diana,

We would be delighted to welcome you back in your next visit to Langkawi, we have really enjoyed having you with us and would like to thank you for your very kind review.
The team will be happy to read your comments.

Please anything you may need let us know and meanwhile we wish you all the best in cooking the risotto!

Warm regards from all of us

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,914
    257
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
190
1,638
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Four Marks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Beautiful hotel, attentive staff, spotlessly clean, the room very comfortable with everything we needed. The restaurant was excellent with beautiful food plus local restaurants very reasonable. The beach was idyllic, the surrounding views stunning and chilled water / fresh towels delivered to you constantly. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can have a beach view it would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Wendy,


Thank you for your great review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope you had a safe trip back home to UK, enjoy the winter season that we miss here!

With warm regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The one time CEO of an American Service provider used to talk about the 'Soul' of a business. CDM's soul, it's people have been rightly praised before, they really do make the place what it is. You feel at home straight away, with the staff wanting to talk, to help, to make your holiday.
The facilities are fine, the location allowing access to the beach resort means that you can eat out, cheaply and well. The restaurant at CDM though is excellent. There are other premier resorts on Langkawi, none I suggest give the experience given here.
Only problem was no peanut butter at breakfast!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phantomwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guests,


What a fantastic tribute to the team you have summarised in one word! People will always make the difference, it may be even more true in the hospitality.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at home...with peanut butter at breakfast!

With warm regards from all of us
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We staying a Casa Del Mar on our return to Australia following a six week holiday in Europe. We could not have wished for more. The hotel was very intimate due to the size and beautifully maintained and maincured. The food in the resturant was amazing and good value, we chose to eat here each night. The staff we can not say enough about as they were so accommodating, proffessional and friendly. We very seldom spend our time sat lazing around the pool but having had a hectic schedule for the past few weeks it was all we wanted to do. That is apart from the Island hopping that was arranged through the hotel. For us this was fantastic, who wouldn't enjoy spending a few hours on your own island? We will definitely be going back again. If it is a quality hotel with excellent service in a peaceful environment that you are looking for then go to Casa Del Mar in Langkawi. Thanky everyone for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We had a nice suite with a private balcony which was great for dozing in the afternoon. I would imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked after reading the reviews and could not fault anything during our 4 night stay. Staff were attentive and welcoming, the bar staff especially, are lots of fun.
We went during the wettest month but the rainy periods did not dampen our holiday. There are plenty of DVDs and books to keep you entertained.
Food at the restaurant was reasonably priced and very tasty. Breakfast each morning was a treat indeed. Fresh fruit prepared at request and a wonderful a la carte menu.
Throughout the lazy days fresh fruit, ice blocks and ice cold peppermint towels are delivered to your sun beds.
We went on the island hopping day trip which was a great day out! Being dropped off on an island for our picnic lunch (despite the rain that came) will be remembered. Captain Lee was very knowledgable and made for an informative trip around the beautiful islands.
Truly an amazing stay, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccqueral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

There are many glowing reviews for CDM, which I agree with so I can't add anything new from that perspective. But I can add some context to what made our visit brilliant. We enjoyed 11 nights in this boutique hotel, the location (beachfront suite) & staff made the difference to what could have been an expensive & ordinary holiday.

We chose CDM because of the location and the reviews on trip advisor. We have stayed in many hotels throughout Asia which were newer, had better facilities and were comparable in location but we have never felt the consistent warmth of Hotel staff as we did with SOME at CDM. Not every staff member was warm and helpful & we had a less than happy experience with one of the front desk staff. Without going into full detail our special Castaway Picnic was not well organised, she was not helpful to sort it out (for the following day) & it was only because of Halim (Bar Team Leader) that our experience was as it should be - brilliant. Halim was particularly fabulous throughout our entire stay & played a big part in making the overall experience in Langkawi a great one.

The hotel is about 12 years old and showing signs of wear and tear. Our room was spacious & comfortable but a leaking roof above us kept us awake some nights after heavy rain. There are other signs of deterioration in the bathroom and front room with rust and leaking ... but none of this deters us from visiting again. It is worth mentioning upgrades were underway while we were in the hotel, so it might be as good as new when we return again. Check room rates for yourself to decide if you are willing to pay to stay here and know what you get as part of your 'package' as you won't be chased or reminded that you have a massage, dinner etc as part of your package to redeem. Also book anything/everything before you arrive if possible. The spa gets busy, Castaway picnic does not operate in low tide (& is very popular) - you could easily miss out.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel in the first week, and can't comment on the pool facilities at all. But we were lucky enough to spend time on the newly replaced beach deck chairs during the end of the second week - the beach is OK (not brilliant) and as others have said raked clean each day, which is a consistent practice for larger hotels in SE Asia. Crushed shells make for a difficult walk to the water if you have soft soles. We noticed a number of tourists who were not staying at the hotel came to the beach area immediately in front of the hotel to swim. There is a cordoned off area of the beach (to keep the jet skis a safe distance away from swimmers) and we soon realised people thought it was a stinger net! It isn't.

During the first week at CDM, there were a lot of 55+ Europeans and a few 30+ English. The second week (start of school holidays in Asia) there were about 80% Australians 25-35 honeymooners or special occasion holidayers and about 20%Asians with babies/ toddlers! Note- Children are not allowed to stay in the beachfront suites...and there are no additional facilities to invite families to stay- which suits our holiday requirements for now :)

SOME staff are exceptional- Halim, Jack & Amy all went above and beyond on a regular basis. Their efforts made the difference to our stay. Also worth mentioning the grounds were kept in pristine condition, the groundsman spent at least 8 hours a day raking leaves, it really was pristine.

A few other tips:

We don't usually eat in our hotel, and prefer local fare when possible. But after booking the degustation dinner for a special occasion - we came back for more & weren't disappointed. See La Sal review.
We redeemed our spa offer (a massage each) as part of our package. It was OK, but tried elsewhere for my next massage. See Satkara Spa review.
The castaway picnic was fantastic & booked only through the hotel. Suggest you ask for 6 hours which will give you 4 hrs on the island it's ~1hr travel each way. It cost us MYR750 & worth every cent.
In addition, I highly recommend Damai Indah cruise, we did the sharing cruise for 450MYR p/p. I will write a detailed review elsewhere but call the office directly & book with Gerd. +60-4-966 4868

Overall we had a great time. You could go to Langkawi on much less of a budget but for us, this particular hotel worked in our favour and worth the expense. We are planning our return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a beachfront suite. Good for couples- no kids allowed in these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose Casa del Mar to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary after reading all the reviews on this site. We were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, we stayed in a “Beachfront suite” which was very spacious and well maintained. The resort is quite small, only around 40 rooms I think and this suited us perfectly as you never fell crowded or fighting for space. They groom the beach in front of the resort every morning so it is always beautiful and soft and it is easy to go from sun-bed to ocean to pool and back.
The food for all meals and snacks were great; you could easily never eat out and enjoy the variety and quality of Casa’s kitchen. Dinner on the beach is a MUST and we did it 3 times. All the staff couldn’t help you enough from ensuring that you always had clean dry beach towels, drinking water while on the sun beds, all meals were good and organising any activities you could want. A special shout out to Amy as he could not do enough for us and had a great sense of humour (yes Amy is a man)
We highly recommend Casa del Mar and if we ever go back to Langkawi we will definitely be staying there again & so should you!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are the best we had Azul and iwas the perfect loaction in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing