We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a great place to unwind. I went as a single on a business weekend away from Singapore even though the place is better suited to couples. Easy access to the airport and major attractions. Great food in the hotel and nearby. I kayaked around, ran on the beach and just chilled out in comfort on the beach. They really make you comfortable but don't pester you on the beach to buy drinks like some hotels. Loved breakfast. Staff was very polished and professional. My message capped the trip. If I could change one thing - the complex wifi codes are a bit of a nuisance, they should simplify the coding to something like the name of your room and the guests last name. I highly recommend Casa del Mar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roblaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    259
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
192
1,641
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We enjoyed all four days of our stay at casa del mar the location service hospitality and studio rooms were all fantastic. Being right on the beach and the great view was breath taking. Great breakfast special thanks to Ari Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Q54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Left the danna hotel after staying there for five days in absolute heaven only to come to casa del mar which was a complete shocker!

At the danna upon arrival you are greeted as soon as you step foot onto the property . The front doors are opened for you by a door man and your bags are taken by the porter to your room. These are just some of the many things that casa del mar does not do.

Upon arrival we got out of the taxi on our own nobody greeted us , opened the door or took our bags until our room was actually ready to check in. Then we had to wait as there was only two people checking guest in and there was three different groups of people .

I had asked the gentleman who escorted us to our room if he could recommend a nice Thai restauraunt near by and he said he didn't know and had to research it. When we were leaving our room we walked by the front desk and again asked for info and the gentleman looked bothered and the other front desk man had helped me.

After returning from lunch we went to lay out at the Pool. I asked the girl working at the pool bar if there was any available lounge chairs that we could lay out on as all the un occupied ones were covered up with canvas. Her first reply to me was "Are you staying at the hotel" I was in total shock as I was carrying the distinct blue hotel towel and had the obvious room key which is attached to a piece of wood.

I also had asked about room service and its not 24 hours and closes at 10pm. To me a 5 star hotel should have 24 hour room service .

Long story short I will not be staying here in the future and will definitely be going back to the danna where they give you first class service from arrival to departure . I do not recommend this hotel to anyone . Casa del mar is a very average hotel .

If you want to be pampered stay at the danna hotel where they pay attention to detail and treat each guest like they are a guest in their own home. Try it for yourself you will be amazed !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damonhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I highly recommend this place for a relaxing holiday, where all your needs will be taken care of. Service is excellent, without being overbearing, the food is wonderful and the views and setting both perfect. I hope to go back there one day!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a wonderful end to our 3 week honeymoon in Asia. This is a fantastic hotel ran by an amazing team of people. Situated on a white sand beach, close to a number of fantastic restaurants (try seafood Orkid Ria) and shops. This hotel has it all with its 5* service. Its restaurant is fantastic, we tried most of the menu including La Luna dining, which was a jolly :) We would love to visit again......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Not much I can add to the other reviews. We were in Kuala Lumpur and decided to book a short trip to Langkawi so I called the hotel the night before we wanted to go and booked 3 rooms - received an email confirmation 30 minutes later. The hotel is not cheap but it was worth every penny!

The hotel arranged a transfer from the airport (the journey is about 10 mins, in hindsight it would have been cheaper to take a cab from the airport since the hotel's fee of 80 MYR is a little cheeky).

We arrived approximately 10am and were seated, given cold towels and a very refreshing cold drink (some kind of mint tea concoction that was very well received by everyone in our group). As we were checking-in we mentioned that we had not had breakfast and they invited us to their breakfast area which was divine. We could choose from pancakes to local options like beef rending and a selection of breads and jams that they had made themselves (the watermelon jam was an interesting choice that worked surprisingly well with a seeded bun!). Our rooms weren't to be ready until lunchtime but we deposited our bags and went on a mangrove & fish farm tour.

When we returned we were shown to our rooms. We booked 2 rooms on the ground floor directly over the beach and 1 (cheaper) room on the first floor. I had the cheaper room but was still extremely happy with it. This whole establishment oozes relaxation and there were so many little touches that helped in this area. The room had a nice array of complementary biscuits (not your run of the mill Scottish 'Walker' shortbreads but a thin, sweet and very more-ish local variety) and, I say this as a coffee aficionado, nice coffee.

The beach area was clean and since there are only (I think) 19 rooms, the place felt very uncrowded. The hotel has 3 cats that roam the grounds and they're very friendly.

On the day of our checkout we explained that our flight wasn't until 9pm. The hotel couldn't give us a late checkout (understandably they were fully booked) but they showed us to a dedicated waiting room they have adjacent to their gym which had shower and changing facilities as well as a place to relax. This was extremely convenient and I wish more hotels would offer this sort of setup for guests with late departures.

The hotel restaurant was pricey (typical hotel prices but steep compared to the local area). The food however was nice and for budget conscious travellers there is a local place just opposite that is cheap and makes nice local food in front of you (don't have the name but they had a TripAdvisor sticker on the winder so I'm sure its on this site somewhere).

Almost every request we made of the hotel was met with a very relaxed response of 'no problem' - and all requests were met promptly. As I said, this hotel oozes relaxation and we left after one night feeling extremely revitalised.

The only problem is the spa which is a small operation that gets booked up very quickly. So either book in advance or visit the Arun Arun spa opposite the hotel.

In short, I look forward to staying here again in the future and recommend it for anyone looking to relax for a few days.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms we had on the ground floor have a semi-secluded courtyard area and are slightly larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarym213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We travelled in late October/Early November 2013 for our Honeymoon. Casa Del Mar is the most beautiful, intimate, friendly and personal environment and I would highly recommend it to any couple considering spending their Honeymoon in Langkawi. If you want accommodation where the staff remember your name, preferences and are always smiling this place is for you! We stayed in a beachfront room and I was so glad because we had direct access to the beach and could sit in our private outdoor area which is light by tea lights at night. The restaurant is fantastic with beachfront dining and the Malaysian tasting plate was my Husband's favourite. Cocktails, fruit and cold towels by the pool during the day.. Honestly! I could go on and on, oh! Also our spa couples massage was wonderfully relaxing. To be honest I just wish we had stayed longer! A++++

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms starting with the letter "C"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing