We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Amazing! Detail-oriented!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing! Detail-oriented!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having stayed at a fair share of luxury hotels around Asia including Four Seasons, St Regis, Mandarin Oriental and Shangri-la, we have set high standard when it comes to service and hospitality. What differs a great hotel from an amazing hotel rests on details and Casa Del Mar just blows our mind away.

We were at Casa Del Mar to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. From the moment we checked in, we were greeted with heart-felt welcome and a surprised rose boutique. The staffs at Casa Del Mar are the best we have ever encountered. They go out of their way to make sure each guest feel special and rather than just following standard SOP.

The hotel: The property is beautiful, meticulously clean and utterly romantic in a nostalgia and charming way. The beach front villa is only steps away from the beach. We sat at the cute little front yard every night listening to the waves and sipping wine. The private beach is quiet and significantly cleaner than the surrounding beach as they clean it every morning.

The pool: The staff would bring a jar of icy lemon water without us even asking - a great touch on a hot day. They also hands out complimentary fruit kabab and popsicle.

The food: The la luna set dinner is hands down the most romantic dinner we ever had - it was set up in a little hut rather than on the beach because the chance of raining was pretty high that night. The hut was surround by lantern and tiki torch. White linen, customized menu and rose petals scattered on the table. Great food and not to mention the amount of wines they serve!

Unfortunately it was our first time to Langkawi so we split our stay between Casa Del Mar and Andaman to experience difference regions of the island. Andaman is a huge hotel situated in a rainforest, the hotel is nice and service is good - typical of a starwood chain - but it is not even comparable to Casa Del Mar. Andaman is a family resort with kids running around. If you are couples seeking romance and quiet time then look no further than Casa Del Mar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kweesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Kweesey,

Again, our best wishes to both of you on your 10th Anniversary celebration! We wishes both of you of many celebrations to comes in the future too.

We are truly delighted to receive highest compliments and recommendation from both of you, and your kind words in comparing us, our lil' home by the sea with other big chain of Hotels. Once again, from the crews at Casa del Mar Langkawi, a big heartfelt thank you to both of you!

With our best wishes always,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    259
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
192
1,641
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a 14 day stay. We've previously stayed at hotels in Koh Samui, Phuket, Bali, Kota Kinabalu, Maldives. I think it was the best by far. Maldives was a bit more luxurious but CDM was way better value for money.
STAFF - truly outstanding. The hotel's best asset. All were friendly, helpful and warm.
LOCATION - Cenang was the best mix of beach & dining.
ROOMS - very good & well kept, but didn't spend much time there.
POOL - lovely garden setting and a sunbed was always available (I think they have more than the max number of guests).
DINING - could not fault breakfast, lunch or dinner.
THE BAR - great cocktails, cold beer and staff seem more than happy to give away drinks during lucky hour. No cider available anywhere on the island :(
MUST DO - if you are a couple book the castaway picnic. It was the highlight of our trip!!!!!
TOP TIP - visit during low season to avoid the crowds.

Terima kasih banyak-banyak!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Beatshome,

It is indeed, 'Terima kasih banyak-banyak' in return from all of us at Casa del Mar, Langkawi. Your awesome reviews and highest rating of our lil' home is much appreciated. Once again, thank you so much for your patronage and great reviews.

Our best wishes,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We there to celebrate my husband's birthday! We stayed in the junior suite, very good room (but expensive). Great ambience, delicious food and good facilities at the hotel. Location was very convenient, 10 mins from the airport yet secluded and had exclusive access to a part of the beach. We will definitely return to stay again! Although hoping to get a better bargain next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soni336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Soni336,

Happy Belated Birthday wishes to your husband! We are truly delighted that both of you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great reviews received. We hope we'll see both of you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A boutique hotel with the personal touch. Small and intimate with good clean rooms, especially by the pool, or in the roomy suite on the first floor with ocean and pool views. A good spa, a friendly bar, on the beach (where you can dine at night if desired) in an undeveloped part of the world still raw with natural energy.

Room Tip: Its not that big, so all rooms are relatively close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Stephen D,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Warmest regards and with our best wishes to both of you,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were greeted by friendly staff on arrival and the lobby was always cool and smelled of peppermint!

We stayed at the sea view room called 'Ebony'. It was one of the best rooms I've ever stayed at. They have thought of every little detail from espresso machine (with 5 different flavours of coffee), cookies, fruits, the aircon already turned on, the oil burner releasing a beautiful scent, a bath with bath salt and bubble bath, magnifying glass, a cooling spray...I can go on forever but what I loved the most was the different variety of pillows I could choose from. My favourite was the balloon pillow :) I wish I could take it with me.

Breakfast was not the typical big buffets. It has a small selection buffet and you order your freshly cooked breakfast from a menu.

There is a small pool which is enough for the small amount of guests staying at any one time and also a small gym.

There are plenty of sun lounge chairs with big unbrellas. we would spend most of the day there, enjoying the private beach and feel totally relaxed!

Readers, if you take just one advice from my review, take this one - The restaurant at the hotel was absolutely the best food we had at Langkawi. you must book ahead!

There wasn't much I could criticise about our stay. I had a massage and a facial at the spa. Facial was good, unfortunately the massage was not enjoyable. The fruit provided was not that fresh and the day bed in our courtyard was dirty. The aircon was a bit noisy. Other things were out of the hotel's control: the noisy jet skis and water sports go back and forth in front of the hotel, the proximity of the hotel to the airport means planes would fly over us all day long ( but that would affect every other hotel)

Throughout our stay we received the best service from the staff. Thank you for making our stay so memorable and perfect! I hope we will have the opportunity to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear NX,

From all of us at Casa del Mar, we thank you for your time in writing this awesome reviews of our lil' home. We are glad and heartened to know that both of you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Having said that, we have taken note as well on some of our shortfalls as mentioned during your stay, and rest assures I'll personally address this with our crews.

Once again, thank you so much for awesome reviews.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This place is so amazing.it is hard to describe the perfection of stuff,food,beach,room...
The bartenders were so frendly. The best one, that you can even imagine. This is a place to be on beautiful island Langkawi.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mateo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Mateo R,

We are indeed thankful in return for your 'wonderful' reviews of our lil' home. Once again, thank you and with our very best regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Go for a beach front villa and you will not need anything else from your holiday.

The food, served on the beach, is excellent, the staff look after you, and the location is perfect for a relaxing holiday, and getting out and about.
Touring is so easy from Casa del Mar, and the hotel are only too willing to help. The manager and his team are very focussed on the customer, and this is obvious.
An eclectic, elegant and enjoyable hotel.

Room Tip: A beach from villa leads directly to the sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brocklebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Brocklebec,

Thank you to both of you for your fantastic reviews of our lil' home which I'm proudly share with our crews here at Casa del Mar. We are truly glad that both of you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Once again, thank you from all of us.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing