We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pleasure and confirmation that trip advisor really works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2009

The booking agent said we would love the hotel, but he did not try to influence our decision. Hence on to TripAdvisor before making the booking. On our rerturn from Casa del Mar two days ago, I felt I must write this review.
Everything about it was first class, from the rooms right through to the service, view, quality of food and the friendliness of the staff. I have been fortunate in my life to have eaten in many top London hotels and if you are celebrating a special occasion, this hotel is for you! the Australian fillet steak was better than the Dorchester!
My thanks to Jason Cruise the General Manager who balances that fine line between giving clients space to relax, but also noticing when service needs to arrive immediately. Him, his wife Victoria and all his staff should be complimented on their first class hotel and their dedication to ensure it remains that way.

My wife's only complaint was that we had to leave too early as 4 nights was not enough in this wonderful environment. We met a couple in their mid twenties on honeymoon, a couple of early thirty year olds from Australia and a couple from Scotland in their mid 50's. My wife is 56 and I am 61, but it was amazing how we all got on so well thus confirming that age - young or old - is no barrier to enjoyment. The key to that enjoyment was the Casa del Mar and its staff. We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BillericayGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2009

I booked this hotel based purely on the Tripadvisor reviews so thanks to everybody who has contributed as this is the most amazing place I have ever stayed. Hopefully I can do the same for others. I thought I knew what to expect but they keep on coming with the extras.

We booked a 10 night holiday package from 27th December in a junior suite. If you decide to book a suite, be prepared to be shocked by how spacious it is. I even lost my boyfriend several times as I had no idea where he was!! You can draw the curtains back, open the sliding doors to the balcony, lie back on the four poster bed and just take in the amazing views and sounds.

The bathroom is huge and probably bigger than some rooms we've stayed in. It has his and hers sink, a deep bath and separate shower cubicle. The toilet is "hidden" behind the shower wall so you can at least get a bit of privacy!

The other balcony, yes, you get two, has a comfortable hammock. If the heat is too much, then you can slouch back on the two couches in the living room or the third couch (!) outside the bathroom.

The pool is small but adequate considering there are only 32 rooms. It was immaculate and never found a leaf or even a bug in there. If the pool isn't for you, then the beach is just literally a stone throw away and the hotel even combs their patch of the beach daily. As the hotel is near the tip of Cenang beach, it's fairly quiet as there aren't many hotels / restaurants nearby.

I noticed after the first couple of days that guests seemed to know each other but that is probably thanks to the managers drinks invitation on a Tuesday night. Thanks to that, we met couples who we will continue to keep in touch with. This was a great ice breaker and led to an amazing New Years Eve celebration with other guests and the wonderful staff.

Yes, you get a lot of special touches - daily weather reports along with scented bookmarks to entice you to the spa (it worked) but we had to chuckle at the extra special touch on New Years Eve. A big bottle of Evian mineral water and a tube of vitamins for the next day!

Four moonlit dinners were included in our package and we decided to start and end our holiday with one each. Be prepared to sink your teeth into a fabulous three course meal served as you might find in a top restaurant.

Having walked up and down Cenang (street and beach), I really felt we had picked the best hotel on the stretch. We stayed in three other hotels during our 3 week holiday in Malaysia and Thailand which were all number 1 in the Tripadvisor ratings for their area but CDM was really something else.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank nottytotty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

I want to let other travellers know about this charming hotel situated directly on the white sandy beach of Langkawi. Upon entering the hotel, you are immediately enticed with a sweet aroma of peppermint throughout the lobby. The views from our suite were picturesque with the backdrop of the blue ocean and quaint tropical islands. My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in a gorgeous spacious suite with all the amenities and fabulous touches from the staff and management, such as news from our home country daily, weather reports, things to see & do, fabulous turn down service with candles and that helped to make our stay so special and memorable. We enjoyed the amazing menu for delicious food and fabulous cocktails. The poolside is lovely and we enjoyed soaking up the sun and witnessing the brilliant sunsets. The hotel has kayaks and hobby cats, and we ventured over to a nearby deserted island on the kayak. It’s conveniently located, walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The staff & management were incredibly professional, friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend this hotel to any travellers going to Langkawi.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jasminabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Initial reaction was one of disappointment, having read all the glowing reports on Tripadvisor I was expecting much more, especially of the room. However, as the days went by, the little extra touches along with the friendly and helpful staff started to make the place grow on me.

The room was fairly basic but did have most things you would need, I think I was expecting something more luxurious from reading other posts. One of the cushions had a stain on it and despite me leaving it out separately stain side up, so the cleaners would see and replace it, they would put it back on the bed stain side up! Not a hotel specific problem, but we couldn’t use our balcony in the morning as the balcony doors were covered in mosquitoes and I didn’t want to risk getting bitten alive. There were lots of nice touches in the room which have been mentioned in other posts such as weather report, oil burner and cocktail ideas.

The first night we ate in the restaurant and the food was very good, unfortunately I can’t say the same for the breakfast. On one day the chef took three attempts to get the eggs right, in the end we gave up. Also the fruit on display is not covered and there were always flies on the fruit, they cover the bread so don’t know why they don’t cover the fruit.

I can’t fault the setting and outlook from and through the hotel, the location is excellent. As well as a fantastic position on the beach it is also at the end of the main strip with a choice of restaurants. We had some really good and cheap meals at the Almaz opposite the hotel and, a little further down the road, at Palace d’India.

We hired a car and drove around the island stopping off at anywhere that took our fancy on the way, including the Datai where we had a drink, and the Four Seasons hotel at Tanjung Rhu where we stopped for lunch. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are quite extensive so they give you a buggy ride to the beach front restaurant. We decided to walk back to the car and are pleased we did to fully appreciate the gardens and sit on the swing seats of the summer house for a few minutes of tranquillity. We thoroughly enjoyed the cable car with fantastic views and some heart stopping moments, if you aren’t fond of heights. I would recommend that you call before hand, as the first time we went it was closed due to high winds, although it wasn’t that windy on the ground because it is so high it can get quite windy at the top.

In general, once we got over the initial disappointment we were quite pleased with the hotel. Does it deserve its’ high ranking on Tripadvisor? It probably does when you take into account location, service and price.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DesertWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

It must come to the top of our best stays away from home, so far.
If we hadn't got so many other places to go we would return there.
Ten nights in a Super King double bed which was so comfortable and quiet., waking up to a superb breakfasts and service each day.
All tea, chocolate drink, coffee & fruit all day - free. with complementary, jugs of Iced drinking water , cool minted face cloths at the beach and pool areas.Good library with reading area and free internet for those who have to check in to home!
The beach was made up of shell sand so means you have to wear sandals. The sea is pretty dead of sea life except in November & December when it's Jelly Fish season. Beware of these nasties. The staff informed us of one Guest having to cut her holiday short because of a bad sting. The beach has no warnings and there are many white with red tentacles and the are really dangerous 'Red Jelly Fish' out there and washed up on the beach.
The locals wear clothes to prevent stings, we thought they were fully covered because of there Religion.
The Hotel offers a very Romantic Restaurant at the beach front. The Chef has fantastic credits but we found some of the flavours very confusing. The service again was very good.
but if the prices of the drinks at the bar were lower and the staff were friendly then this would encourage more residents to stay there instead of going elswhere.
The main street itself is not that special or authentic with many touristy Restaurants and clothing shops available for most of the day. All the pathways along this busy street had all been dug up and pedestrians have to walk on the road. After two days of rain it was dangerous and unpleasant walking out at all into muddy puddles and trying to dodge the cars, buses and lorries.
We left Casa Del Mar for a stay at The Datai (& Anderman) and apart from the beach quality and the Jungle flora we preferred the Casa Del Mar for value & friendliness.
The Manager of the Hotel got married locally and all his friends and relatives stayed over at the time of our stay.. Thank you Jason, you were great and I wish you and Victoria a very happy life together. Thank you again to all the staff. at the Casa Del Mar

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank poppyHuntingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

You read reviews in Tripadvisor and they give you a good idea about the place you're going. But nothing can prepare you for this level of hospitality.
You arrive to a greeting of scented cool towels to cool you down. A cold drink and a smile from all the staff. This is the bedrock of this hotel. They know your name and smile and make you welcome.
Our room (107) was beautiful with a spectacular view of the empty beach and the sea.
On the terrace or beach they bring round free cool scented towels, iced water and watermelon (with a smile).
Breakfast is very good with freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, fresh fruit and international or malaysian hot dishes - all beautifully cooked. Free fruit is available along with free coffee or tea till 3pm!
Eating out is very cheap and good. The Orchid Rea (out the door and turn right and it's 100yds up the road) is bustling and has fantastic king prawns the size of small lobsters and beautiful fresh fish. A meal will set you back about £10
If you feel more adventurous go to Wonderland in the main town (about 20mins by taxi). All locals, plastic chairs, sticky table tops but fantastic food for about £6 -it's great.
All in all a wonderful small boutique hotel that I was sad to leave. You might have guessed, the staff all stood at the door and waved us off!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rjrLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

My partner and I stayed at Casa del Mar from 7th - 15th December 2008. We have both travelled extensively and lived all over the world and we have to say it is our best holiday ever thanks to every level of experience at Casa del Mar! It is the first time I have left a place and cried all the way to the airport - it was idyllic in every way, and no stone was left unturned when it came to treating guests like royalty. The staff are absolutely fantastic, so warm, friendly and a genuine love of what they do and of each other and their guests, you end up feeling like part of the 'family'. The wonderful little touches like peppermint towels by the beach and watermelon; scented bookmarks each evening on the pillow; spectacular food, wonderful genuine service, and yet it wasn't over the top intimidating or fake, far from it. Unfortunately we never met the GM Jason as he was getting married and on his honeymoon at the time, but congratulations to his amazing staff for making this a slice of heaven that we want to keep with us in our daily lives!! Kaye and Mike, New Farm Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank moving_canvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,271 reviews
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,394 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £165 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing