We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for getting away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My husband and I spent 6 days of our honeymoon at the Casa. We were originally given a room at the end of the resort next door to a beer garden but when we asked to be moved we were given another room immediately. The resort is unique. It is not your usual 5 star mega resort and is distinguished by its magic location right on the beach at Cenang and more importantly, by the personal touches and attention of its staff. These include minted cold towels, fresh watermelon and jugs of iced water when relaxing by the pool or on the beach, scented weather reports on your pillow and aromatherapy candles in the room in the evenings, and fresh fruit delivered to the room every morning. Breakfast is both buffet and a la carte and is of high quality. Even better it is served until 11am so there is no need to miss it in favour of a sleep in.

The Casa has a Spa with an extensive menu of massages and treatments and all just a few steps away. The gym is also well appointed and there is a library where you can relax every evening to the wonderful sounds of the resident pianist. DVDs and books are plentiful.

While the restaurant at the Casa is wonderful, there are literally scores of good eating places nearby. We loved the Putamayo and the Orchid Ria. We also enjoyed the buffet at the Westin in Kuah. Transport was also easy as we hired a scooter for 35 ringgit for 24 hours at the nearby Tourist Shoppe and a fully insured car for 150 ringgit per day from the hotel. We paid a bit more than we would have paid from a street dealer but the car was delivered and collected from the hotel and so the convenience and peace of mind was worth the extra few dollars.

The only 2 things we would change at the Casa would be to add a pillow menu (we found the pillows a little uncomfortable) and introduce a free shuttle service to Kuah.

We checked out many of the other comparable resorts while we were on Langkawi and would not choose to stay at any of them over the Casa. Having said that, it is not a place for families. If you are travelling with children, you'd be much better off staying at the Pelangi Beach resort next door. The Westin was also nice but in located in Kuah rather than at Cenang Beach.

Thanks to Jason and staff for a magical time at the Casa.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wisewoman0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,806 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

This hotel is not rated as number 1 in Langkawi for nothing! Perfect, perfect, perfect!

Attention to detail exceeded all expectations:-

- Refreshing peppermint towels delivered pool-side for some welcome heat relief.
- Fresh fruit slices delivered pool-side.
- Homemade lemon cookies and peanuts delivered to the room daily.
- Lovely bathroom toiletries provided in the room.
- Newspaper left on your balcony every day.
- Complimentary tea and coffee served in the library all day.
- Free wi-fi available in the room.
- Free internet available in the lobby/library.
- Free use of bicycles.
- Welcome bubbly for new guests to meet other holiday makers.
- Extensive DVD library (in case of rainy days) with new titles.
- Bloody Mary's or Bubbly for breakfast!
- Luxurious and comfortable furniture provided pool-side and on the beach - more than enough for everyone to choose their perfect spot.

Sumptuous al la carte breakfast provided every morning by wonderful staff who always have a smile for you. The choice is incredible all freshly made and caters for all tastes (gluten free etc etc etc.)

The dining experience at La Sal restaurant is not to be missed. If you reserve a table on the beach, your table will be reserved with a leaf artistically presented with your name written in beautiful silver writing. Such a nice touch.

Small hotel with incredible personalised service, The staff cannot do enough to help.

Very well equipped gym with new modern equipment and again fresh peppermint towels on hand to cool you down after your work out!

Rooms exceptional and spacious with comfortable terraces with a terracota pot complete with giant ladle to clean your sandy feet before entering your room.

We actually left something at the hotel and did not realise until we reached our next destination. We contacted Wira at reception who luckily found the item straight away (he remembered us!) and agreed to despatch it immediately by courier. We moved on to our final destination and the item was waiting safely for us! Thank you Wira!

All in all, this is a first class boutique hotel in a superb location right on the beach. Our pool-side room had wonderful views of the ocean too - see photos for themselves.

If you are in Langkawi - you HAVE to stay here......and you must book a sunset cruise with Eva! ( ask the hotel for more info on Eva or find her on Trip Advisor Blue Water Star Sailing)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MafsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Seeing the #1 TripAdvisor popularity of Casa del Mar, I went for this hotel and I'm glad I did. The staff are very welcoming, attentive, friendly and helpful. For example, once the staff realised we were on 'honeymoon' they gave us a bunch of flowers, a fizzy drink and a card saying 'congratulations'. The staff - and people in general in Langkawi - were a memorable point in our holiday.

The room is much better and more spacious than might appear in online pics. The staff would provide complimentary mangoes and water topped up every day, as well as the weather forecast. Bathroom products were fancy - in fact, I ended up buying some the cinnamon soap to take home!

The hotel restaurant is also fantastic (also #1 TripAdvisor rated in Langkawi). It's great we got breakfast included in the room price, as it was particularly a highlight we looked forward to. The cooked beakfast seemed fresh, quickly prepared and beautifully presented. And also very tasty.

Staff were able to suggest and help organise activities. For example, we went Island Hopping with Casa del Mar, which we really enjoyed and would recommend.

The hotel is also close to the airport and on the beach, so is very well-located.

We had such a brilliant time that my wife and I spoke about how great it'd be if we were to bring our families to Casa del Mar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My husband and I spent 13 nights at the Casa del Mar for our honeymoon and it was great. If you want to go somewhere and completely switch off from life then this is the place for you. The food and cocktails in the hotel were lovely and just sitting on one of the sofas watching the sun go down every night was pure bliss. The staff are wonderful and really friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they always have a smile for you. The island of Langkawi is lovely, the hotel was so relaxing that we struggled to leave. We finally dragged ourselves off our loungers and explored! There are lots of things to do and the wildlife is really interesting.

We did two trips through the hotel, the Capricorn boat trip and the Castaway picnic. Bot trips were great and again the staff were brilliant. The only negative thing with the castaway picnic was that we didn't get any drink with it and we thought we got some bubbly. Some of the materials say you do and some say you don't. We should've checked before we set off! Both trips are highly recommended and our highlights of our trip.

The actual resort on the island has numerous restaurants, shops and bars. We did not have one bad meal on the Island and you can get a range of foods from Chinese, Indian, Malay to Mexican. Everything you need for a great holiday. Lovely hotel, amazing people, beautiful weather, food, drink.....we hope to return again one day soon! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for an unforgettable honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeylaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We decided to treat ourselves on the last few nights of our holiday in Langkawi and what treat !! We booked an Ocean View Room and due to another customer requiring our room due to illness (we think) we were upgraded to the deluxe room !! Superb !
Casa Del Mar is a smaller hotel therefore, their attention to customer service detail is great, the rooms are fantastic, sunbeds, pool, restaurant are all great. The location is perfect. The staff are wonderfully friendly so really we couldn;t fault a thing..
CDM have a lot of return business each year, which says something really, I can;t wait to go back myself. If you are considering CDM don;t hesitate you won;t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2009, mainly on the basis of the good reviews on Tripadvisor, and on the fact that this hotel is reasonably-priced for a hotel in Langkawi. We were not disappointed, and can only really echo the reviews on this website!
We arrived by transfer from the airport, and it was a welcome relief from the heat of the day to enter the air-conditioned, mint-scented lobby, and to be greeted with cold towels and a lovely lime and ginger drink. Check-in was easy, and in no time at all we were taken to our room. We had booked a sea-view room, but for some (not unwelcome!) reason were upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was beautiful, very spacious and clean, with comfortable sofas, a 4-poster bed, a lovely bathroom, and best of all - a balcony overlooking the beach with a hammock on it. There was a jar of yummy biscuits, and a plate of fruit which was replenished daily.
The beach is nice, but my one complaint (?) would be that it's not a private beach. Not the hotel's fault of course, but this does mean that you get people driving up and down the beach, which was a little annoying. The hotel is up at the quieter and much nicer beach, however. Sunloungers are comfortable, and best of all are the little treats brought round at intervals: watermelon, watermelon ice, and cold mint-scented towels. The sea is very warm, and fairly calm, so good for swimming. We took the hotel's kayak over to a nearby island one day, which was fun. The pool is also fabulous, and seems to often be empty, not sure why, but we enjoyed it!
The food at Casa del Mar is beautiful. The menu is big enough so you don't get bored, but do ask the staff about the specials - as if you're having dinner on the beach you won't see the specials board, and they didn't tell us unless we asked. Portion sizes are good, and the cocktails are delicious. They have a good wine list too. Breakfasts were just as good, with lots of choice.
The hotel is quite small, and as a result feels quite intimate. The service is exceptional, and I think that's what really makes the difference here. All the little touches really add up to make the place special. Oh and the spa is lovely - had one of the best massages ever there!
All in all - a fantastic place to stay, and I hope we can go back there someday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

The whole package delivered at this hotel is the best we have experienced in our travels around the world. The fabulous staff, exquisite food and beautiful location make this a a little heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWOOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £167 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing