We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Casa Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2006

My wife and young son (16 months old) stayed at Casa del Mar for 4 days last week. It was a great boutique hotel. The rooms and bathroom were very large - and great for my son who enjoyed exploring the room!

There was also a DVD player in the room - which was also great as we brought along my son's favourite DVD which we played for him when we were busy un-packing and packing.

The location is great as there were lots of eating places just outside the hotel.
The beach was also just outside our room - and my son enjoyed his walks on the beach.

The only negative was that there wasn't a children's pool.

I would definitely stay at Casa del Mar again

3  Thank Kev&Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,381)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Mar, Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,048 - 2,054 of 2,381 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
333
Reviewed 8 June 2006

I booked this hotel having read the great reviews on this site and I have to say I was disappointed. The room rate was £100 per night (a LOT in Malaysia) so my hopes were high and I felt let down.

Positives:
- Beautiful and peaceful location right on the beach
- Nice spacious rooms with lots of attention to detail
- Good restaurant (but expensive) serving tasty food
- Great service by pool - they bring you water and fruit
- Lovely pool area and beach
- Quiet and relaxing

Negatives
- Service can be poor, particularly on the front desk
- Low level of English
- Expenisive for what it is
- Tried to charge us for things we hadn't had and left us to spot the mistake (which we did)
- Gym is not a gym - 4 ageing machines, two of which don't work
- lacking in facilities (but that's what you'd expect from a smaller hotel)

The owner has obviously put a lot of love and care into creating a beautiful hotel and it's a shame that the staff and service ruin what would otherwise be a perfect experience.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 June 2006

Casa del Mar has contacted this guest to clarify and address the concerns outlined in this post.

Should any reader have queries or concerns about anything in this review then I would be happy to respond to them through my direct address: andrew@casadelmar-langkawi.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
113
Reviewed 1 June 2006

We have just returned from a two week holiday in Malaysia - staying in busy Penang for the first week and then to Langkawi for 5 days which was a fab contrast and made it a great holiday.
From the moment you arrive at Casa, the service is fabulous. Andrew, the manager, comes out to meet you, which is a great personal touch. The rooms are fab with huge bathrooms featuring Casa's own toiletry range, which includes great cinnamon scented soap bars which you can buy at the spa shop.
The location is amazing - right on the beach - and the sea is really hot, so it's like taking a bath in the ocean. The pool at Casa is really small but suits the environment. The food is fantastic here - really good and reasonable. We had the personal bbq on our last night and it was a really nice way to end the holiday. We hired mopeds and went round the island which is great because the roads are very quiet and it was only £5 a day. We went to The Datai for lunch and although the views, rooms and hotel are all fantastic, we thought is lacked atmosphere. Nobody spoke! Bit strange, so Casa in contrast is very friendly, personable and relaxing. We were also upgraded to a junior suite after a couple of days, which was nice. The resort of Pentai Cenang is very quiet but there's some really nice restaurants - particularly the japanese one in Pentai Tengah as recommended by Peter - the restaurant manager in Casa.
Would definitely return. The only downside was the weather wasn't great but you can't do much about that. I've been to many parts of the Caribbean and I definitely think Langkawi beats it hands-down in terms of scenery, beaches and food.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

We stayed at the Casa del Mar for four days in Mid May. We had a superb time and were sorry to leave to go over to the East coast. The rooms are not large, but were most importantly light, bright, modern and very comfortable. We liked the little extres that made our stay so comfortable. We've stayed at many five star hotels and have never had fresh cafetiere coffee in our room, or fresh milk.

Service was excellent - better than the five star resort we stayed at for the rest of our holiday. The staff were friendly and efficient, but not overbearing. We were concerned that the location of the hotel, which was right on the road into Pantai Cenang, would mean that our room was noisy. However we need not have worried. The sound of the aircon tends to drown out most things. Also it was rather nice to be in an area with a bit of a buzz to it. We normally stay in remote hotels but really enjoyed being so close to restaurants, bars and shops. We ate out twice - the first time at the Padi Lamai which was just across the road. We had a superb seafood meal, but missed the wine! The second time we ate out was the Bon Ton, which was fabulous, but cost much more than we expected - we almost had to do the washing up! The best restaurant, however, was at the Casa. It was wonderful to sit in candlelight on the beach eating a delicious meal with very good wine. The tables were placed about 10 feet apart and it was very special.

We combined our holiday with 10 days at the Tanjong Jara on the East coast. That was a complete contrast, totally remote and like being in an oasis in the middle of the jungle. It was a complete contrast and a very interesting combination. We're glad we went to Langkawi first as it gave us a taste of Malaysia before we hit the non-touristy part.

We will definitely return to Langkawi and to Casa del Mar, and have great memories of our four days there and of the people we met.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mauritiusfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
111
Reviewed 27 May 2006

WE stayed at Casa Del Mar for a week at the start of May. When we orginally booked, thru the great reviews on the site the hotel was not no 1. - but it definately deserves this position!

I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough,we had a room with a view of the pool and the beach. The whirlpool was virtually just outside our room! The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms are especially spacious. Your room is serviced twice a day, which was impressive. The staff are extremely attentive just unobstrusive.

The food at CDM was great, especially the Kir Royals and other cocktails.

There are other great restaurants in the area especially Bon Ton, less than 5 mins in a taxi in the opposite direction to the shops etc.

In Sun Village there are great places to eat and a really cool bar called Sunkarma which had amazing cocktails.

The beach is also a great for an early morning jog, even if you get some strange looks from the locals!

If you want cheap sportsgear the Addidas shop in the capital is a bargain you can get 3 pairs of proper trainers for £100. You can also get cheap Nike gear at the Zone shopping centre in the resort.

The resort was really laid back it was great to be somewhere with no chain shops or even banks - long may the area stay like that

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
19
Reviewed 26 May 2006

I have just had the most fantastic holiday of my life at this resort! I have stayed at alot of 5 star hotels but non that provide fresh milk daily and Hello! tea in a jar- not tea bags. As a woman travelling alone this was a cool place to go as the hotel is small and has only 32 rooms, I went out several times with different guests out of the resort, all now new best friends! So ladies dont be afraid!...Mile or or so of beautiful sandy beach. no litter what so ever,waiters to bring you drinks on silver trays, sea as warm as a bath. Bed that would have happily slept 4!. I serously cant falt it. It has English managment, and All the staff speak it fluintley. Cant recomend it enough!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

12  Thank crispin_de_montague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,354 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £149 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing