We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Jewel”
Reviewed 8 July 2006

I travel all the time and stay in Hotels all over the world and I can honestly say this hotel is the only place Ive stayed where I have vowed (and eagerly look forward to) returning again.

We stayed for a week in June 2006, and were looking for a smaller hotel (as we hate bigger resort hotels) , but one that provided a nice location. The CASA DEL MAR exceeded our expectations, and whilst the location (right on the beach) is excellent, it was the staff and the service and 'the little things' that made this one of the best hotel experiences i have ever had.

The hotel is an intimate place, not extravagant, but not poor either, the rooms were very nice with the usual amenities and some nice touches (such as fresh fruit and ice in the room each day) made it that little more special. The layout is great and you can dine on the sand by the beach between the palms, or in their small restaurant - either way you will be in for a fabulous meal the food is fabulous! The pool area is good and they provide fresh (good quality beach towwels) every day....when we stayed the spa were also providing free ginger and herb refreshing face sprays which were fab! The bar is good for a small hotel, the staff great and if you are visiting you must spin the wheel at 6pm!

I am surprised by a couple of the reports of people who seem to have been dissapointed by the hotel.....both we and everyone we met at the hotel loved the place!- we almost didnt post a review here because we wanted to keep this little hotel a secret for us!

Interestingly the Casa Del Mar doesnt initially blow you away like some bigger and more extravagant hotels may do......but its personal touches, location, great food, great staff and the fact that its a smaller more quiet establishment made it into a fantastic experience and we cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,020
    267
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
210
1,724
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Staying at Casa Del mar was something that I really looked forward to, especially since I had not been back to Langkawi for a few years. Unfortunately the experience turned out to be really lacklustre. Obviously the hotel has seen better days. Much of it is quite run down - the rooms look like they have stayed the same since the 80s, the doors & floor to celing windows are rusty, the bathroom has a mini flood when you take a shower, the deck chairs on the beach are cheap plastic & extremely uncomfortable, etc. The worst part was that when I had a word with the manager, Mr Andrew Drummond about the bathroom problem, he just laughed it off & said that that was the 'Malaysian' way. First of all I thought that was really insulting and second he never attempted a solution or an apology of any sort. Service is also very tentative or very 'relaxed' if you want to be kind about it. As a result, throughout my stay there I deliberately utilised the hotel services as little as I could except for the day when it rained the whole day & I did not have much of a choice. At US$150 per nite, I expected something better than what I got. So, to all those who are planning a trip to Langkawi & your budget is about US$150 per room per nite, my recommendation is the Bon Ton resort. More style, more class, better service & definitely a much more unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank chocfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 12 July 2006
Casa del Mar has been in touch with this guest to address and clarify the issues mentioned here.

Should any reader of this review have further queries or concerns about matters raised, they may be addressed to the General Manager's direct email: andrew@casadelmar-langkawi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

We stayed in Casa Del Mar in June with my husband. The hotel is in very good location, the rooms are large comfortable and clean with nice touches such as dvd player, handmade soaps, fresh ground coffee. We found the service excellent and professional. Nothing was impossible and they made you feel at home. Amir was very helpful advising different trips. My only complaint will be the food which was completely westernised which would be ok with many people , but we found very dissapointing. We told them to make our dish more authentic, but it turned out to be the same as before. So we had to eat out mostly. Casa Del Mar is good value for money. It is not as luxurius as For Seasons, but also not as expansive. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank persson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2006

We went to Casa del Mar after spending 3 days in Kuala Lumpur (stayed between 9-15 june) and belive me there is no better way to describe the sensational time we had there but to point out the little details that realy make your every day worth while staying at the Casa. Starting with Andrew (the manager) greeting you at your arival, continuing with the rooms - spacious, the king size relaxing bed, the orchids on the bed, in the bath tub, the cinamon soap bars (we bought 4 of them from the spa shop :), the fresh cofee, tea, chocolate and milk brought to your room every day, the little atentions at the pool (every half an hour they bring you in this order watter, wattermelon, cold lillte towels and a spray with esential oils) and the staff. They're very attentive to your needs and try to make your stay as wonderful as they can. We were on our honney-moon so on the first night there, when we went to our room after having the most romantic dinner on the beach, we found the room lightended, orchids on the bed, and romantic music playing on the DVD player. (you have it in the room) It was very nice! We also had a few days with rain, but mostly in the evening. They bring to your room every day a note with the weather forecast for 2 days and the sugested activites for the next day. So one day they invited naturalist Dave who has 18 years of experience with Langawi's flora and fauna and who organises trips in the heart of Langkawi's nature. It was wonderful listening to him. We had the most wonderfull honney-moon thanks to Casa del Mar, where we would definetly return!!!
Vicky and Adi Ionescu

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank swicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2006

My wife and young son (16 months old) stayed at Casa del Mar for 4 days last week. It was a great boutique hotel. The rooms and bathroom were very large - and great for my son who enjoyed exploring the room!

There was also a DVD player in the room - which was also great as we brought along my son's favourite DVD which we played for him when we were busy un-packing and packing.

The location is great as there were lots of eating places just outside the hotel.
The beach was also just outside our room - and my son enjoyed his walks on the beach.

The only negative was that there wasn't a children's pool.

I would definitely stay at Casa del Mar again

Helpful?
3 Thank Kev&Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 June 2006

I booked this hotel having read the great reviews on this site and I have to say I was disappointed. The room rate was £100 per night (a LOT in Malaysia) so my hopes were high and I felt let down.

Positives:
- Beautiful and peaceful location right on the beach
- Nice spacious rooms with lots of attention to detail
- Good restaurant (but expensive) serving tasty food
- Great service by pool - they bring you water and fruit
- Lovely pool area and beach
- Quiet and relaxing

Negatives
- Service can be poor, particularly on the front desk
- Low level of English
- Expenisive for what it is
- Tried to charge us for things we hadn't had and left us to spot the mistake (which we did)
- Gym is not a gym - 4 ageing machines, two of which don't work
- lacking in facilities (but that's what you'd expect from a smaller hotel)

The owner has obviously put a lot of love and care into creating a beautiful hotel and it's a shame that the staff and service ruin what would otherwise be a perfect experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 20 June 2006
Casa del Mar has contacted this guest to clarify and address the concerns outlined in this post.

Should any reader have queries or concerns about anything in this review then I would be happy to respond to them through my direct address: andrew@casadelmar-langkawi.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2006

We have just returned from a two week holiday in Malaysia - staying in busy Penang for the first week and then to Langkawi for 5 days which was a fab contrast and made it a great holiday.
From the moment you arrive at Casa, the service is fabulous. Andrew, the manager, comes out to meet you, which is a great personal touch. The rooms are fab with huge bathrooms featuring Casa's own toiletry range, which includes great cinnamon scented soap bars which you can buy at the spa shop.
The location is amazing - right on the beach - and the sea is really hot, so it's like taking a bath in the ocean. The pool at Casa is really small but suits the environment. The food is fantastic here - really good and reasonable. We had the personal bbq on our last night and it was a really nice way to end the holiday. We hired mopeds and went round the island which is great because the roads are very quiet and it was only £5 a day. We went to The Datai for lunch and although the views, rooms and hotel are all fantastic, we thought is lacked atmosphere. Nobody spoke! Bit strange, so Casa in contrast is very friendly, personable and relaxing. We were also upgraded to a junior suite after a couple of days, which was nice. The resort of Pentai Cenang is very quiet but there's some really nice restaurants - particularly the japanese one in Pentai Tengah as recommended by Peter - the restaurant manager in Casa.
Would definitely return. The only downside was the weather wasn't great but you can't do much about that. I've been to many parts of the Caribbean and I definitely think Langkawi beats it hands-down in terms of scenery, beaches and food.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,344 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing