We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Animal loving authentic retreat”
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Sutz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Animal loving authentic retreat”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Old Malay village brought to live again as the guest stay in authentic Malay houses. All houses are built on stilts and are most definitely quirky. So do expect the wood to creek beneath your feet while standing in the bathroom having a shower. Sleeping in a four-poster bed with all its authentic touches was a great experience (hearing all the noises in the night…).
The front desk manager with his dry humor was very welcoming and great fun at the same time. The whole team was an absolute joy to talk to and nearly (but really only nearly) made you overlook the really delicious dinner.
For us is it was a great experience to see the animals (cats and dogs) be given the same respect and attention as the (human) guests and how all could enjoy a lovely stay together.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    103
    28
    20
    15
See reviews for
128
304
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently spent a lovely few days at Bon Ton resort. We stayed in Blue Ginger, which is one of the smaller houses, but found it very comfortable and well appointed. Loved the outdoor bathroom, which was reminiscent of going on safari. The resort is in a lovely setting, and is slightly away from the main tourist beach. Comments about the proximity to the airport are exaggerated, there are at most one plane an hour and they are all small aircraft so barely noticeable. We ate in the restaurant one night and the quality was good. As mentioned in other reviews the breakfast is simple and was sufficient, but if you were staying for longer, you might want a bit more variety. My one major criticism, and one which I feel the resort should resolve asap, is the quality of the towels, both in the room and for use around the pool. I found them stained and rather tatty and not the level of quality one would expect at a resort charging upwards of $220 a night. Overall though, a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend the resort for those who are seeking something a little different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJetsetter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After spending 3 nights in a 5 star resort on the other side of the island, we decided to have a change of scene....we walked into the Bon Ton welcoming area and we thought OMG what have we walked into to...at first a little daunting but within minutes we were overwhelmed with the serenity, peacefulness, calmness of this magnificent "resort" . No it is not a resort as such but even better. We were welcomed very warmly and enjoyed an apple tea and then we were taken to our haven, the Laguna. What an impressive hut/room/ abode. A 100 year old traditional house on stilts and totally natural....thatched roof, wooden shutters, wooden floors with the drainage from the bathroom just running through the floorboards, big wooden bath tub, canopy bed, and a scenery from the room to die for...overlooks the lotus lagoon and tropical gardens. We stayed 2 nights...should have stayed longer. Breakie was more than adequate and enjoyable eating from a small balcony. Beware there are 100s of cats but they didn't worry us at all even though my husband HATES cats. We were not at all disturbed by the planes nor dogs rescue shelter next door. Loved the pool and lazing around. Easy walk to the main shops along the road or along the beach...take a short cut through the Meritus resort. Eat at the Nam restaurant at Bon Ton or next door at the Temple Tree. Nam has a lovely seafood platter or Meze plate....for hotel clients you get a free cocktail too.....every little touch they have done well......don't expect pure luxury but raw natural beauty and peacefulness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wokka25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had an excellent WE at Bon Ton Resort. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the wooden houses were lovely and nicely decorated. Lots of thoughful attentions (anti mosquitos, sarong to go to the pool, basket for your stuff...) which really make you feel at home.
The villa was super comfortable, I loved the outdoor bathroom.
The food was excellent, whether the breakfast (which awaits in the fridge to be taken in bed) or the fusion restaurant, whith quick and smily service. DEcent choice of good wines at reasonnable pricing.
The only disapointment was on the noise, any family with yelling children will spoil the atmosphere and being close to the airport you hear the planes (but they are quite rare).

Room Tip: I was in Blue Ginger which have an outdoor bathroom, super nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinacecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Langkawi is a special place and Bon Ton and its sister nextdoor, The Temple Tree, are special within it. Having had a friend recommend and describe it, I still wasn't sure what to expect of Bon Ton. 'Resort' conjured up something, big, sterile and corporate, but it isn't any of these. It is a tranquil collection of wooden villas, each of different design and construction, scattered around a mangrove pond, pool and restaurant. Having been there it is still hard to describe; an eclectic mix of things and people, combined with really personal, but not obtrusive, service. The food is superb and the strawberry dacquiris are not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

In January 2014 I visited the Bon Ton Resort for the sixth time. I absolutely adore coming here. Whenever I need to recharge I come here, and have visited with my husband, friends, and family on different occasions.

Very different from staying in a sterile megaresort with scores of identical, soulless rooms, the Bon Ton is small and full of character. Each house is traditional: moved with care from its original location to an old coconut plantation on the island. They are decorated beautifully, with comfortable beds, wooden bathtubs, and rich textiles just designed for lounging and relaxation. Each room has an air conditioning unit and mosquito nets above the beds, as well as a TV with DVD player for rainy days. Note - the resort doesn't receive regular TV but there are plenty of DVDs to borrow from the Straits Club at Temple Tree.

The resort is located between Langkawi airport and Pantai Cenang. It’s a ten minute taxi ride from the airport (around RM30) and even less to the top of Pantai Cenang. I note some reviewers have criticised the aircraft noise. I haven’t ever really noticed it – by its nature, it is ephemeral, passing quickly. Langkawi airport is not Heathrow.

The resort is not situated on a beach, but there is a pool and it's a very short trip to Cenang (very noisy and busy) and Tengah. I prefer getting a hire car and heading over to Pantai Pasir Tengkorak on the northern side of the island to get my beach fix.

Each evening, the Bon Ton’s staff come to your room and leave a simple continental breakfast for the following morning in your fridge. Home baked bread, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a few slices of cake – it’s simple stuff, but allows you to wake up when you want and breakfast on your own time. With only eight houses it would be impossible for the Bon Ton to have the economies of scale to offer a full buffet breakfast to guests. I don’t miss it. I’d prefer a simple breakfast in order to gorge myself on deliciousness later in the day!

I’ll leave my full review of Nam under the restaurants review section – but suffice to say, I find it the best on the island.

The staff are exceptionally friendly and very eager to please. When I visited with my two year old nephew they were simply fantastic with him. Because the resort is so small they know who everyone is and we have our "in" jokes... like Captain Jack Sparrow and Captain Barbosa!

CATS. There are a LOT of cats, and they have the run of the place. If you don't like cats, FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE to stay. If you love cats, then you’ll love a resort that loans you some furry feline friends whilst on holidays. As an animal lover, I adore having a very friendly purring kitty sharing my sun lounger.

The negatives are limited. That being said, the Bon Ton will NOT be to everyone’s taste. If you like five star fully insulated luxury you should go elsewhere. If you like “upmarket authenticity”, then you’ll probably like the Bon Ton.

Looking forward to making my seventh trip back sometime soon :)

Room Tip: Blue Ginger and Yellow Orchid are smaller, with outdoor bathrooms only. White Frangipani and Palm ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThePuddleducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at Bon Ton for 3 nights on a long awaited getaway to Langkawi. Firstly - it is really easy to get to from the airport as it is a 10 minute taxi ride away. The setting is quiet and beautiful. The traditional Malay house itself - we stayed in Yellow Orchid - was one of the smaller ones but offered comfortable and characterful accommodation for the two of us. The bathroom is outside which initially was a little concerning but is absolutely lovely :-)

The food is of a great quality making it easy to stay in the hotel if you want to or the hotel are very happy to help in organising bookings for other restaurants (I'd highly recommend Casa del Mar).

This is a lovely, charming place to stay. If you want an alternative to the sterile, generate, minimalist hotels that exist everywhere in the world this is perfect. Especially for animal lovers and people with a conscience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineann26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.6 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Property: Bon Ton Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing