We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!!”
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Monifieth, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bon Ton in "Blue Ginger" for 6 nights as part of a 2 week holiday in Singapore and Malaysia. We had a pretty good idea of what we hoped the Bon Ton would be like when we booked it, as we had read reviews and looked at pictures- our only concern was whether it would live up to our expectations.
Bon Ton turned out to be probably the most peaceful and relaxed "resort" I have ever stayed in. The fact that there are only 8 houses means that is never too busy- during the day there were never more than 6 or so people around the pool at any given time. The location of the hotel also suited us in that it offered peace and tranquility as it was not located in the main beach stretch of Pantai Cenang. Having said that, it was sufficiently close for us to walk into that resort one morning in 15 minutes. The staff were also more than happy to provide a lift into Pantai Cenang if needed.
We absolutely LOVED the fact that the houses in Bon Ton were decorated and furnished in authentic Malay style, and the outside bathroom in Blue Ginger was truly unique. Whilst showering in the morning we saw squirrels and hornbills (as well as many more exotic bird species) in the trees only yards from us- how many other hotels can offer this?
The food at Bon Ton was truly outstanding. We ate in the restaurant on several occasions and although not cheap by Malay standards, it was still considerably cheaper than restaurants in the UK. What should also be taken into account is the standard of the food, which really was second to none.
Breakfast was delivered by the staff to your fridge at around 6pm and although this may not be to everyone's taste, we again loved this and found it unique. This meant we could get up when we wanted in the morning and eat breakfast at our leisure. The breakfast consisted of fruit juice, fresh fruits, different types of breads (with butter, jam, honey), yoghurts, home made cakes, and tea or coffee. We found this to be more than enough in the morning.
The staff were also very pleasant, helpful and gracious and they helped make our stay memorable. Finally, the cats (and not forgetting Mocha, Mylo and Shane the dogs!) at Bon Ton really endeared themselves to us. We have cats and a dog at home so we really enjoyed getting to know the animals at Bon Ton. Special mention has to go to Skippy the ginger cat who was sitting on our top step most mornings when we opened our doors and who made himself extremely at home in Blue Ginger!
Overall, Bon Ton really did live up to and probably exceed our expectations. This really is different to staying in large "chain" hotels but all the more refreshing for it. It has style, character, and charm and we would most definately love to go back one day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FionaJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    105
    28
    20
    15
See reviews for
130
309
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Gorgeous resort - the attention to detail and personal service is second to none. The rooms are all very luxurious and the place feels very peaceful. The restaurant was brilliant - best steak I have ever had and the cocktails rival the best bars in London! I am a cat lover so it was great - they are everywhere- not good if you aren't an animal lover because you can't escape them! Lovely, helpful staff and owner. Definitely in the luxury boutique category.

Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbbyandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Me and my sisters only stayed at the Bon Ton Resort for two nights but they were the best two nights of our entire two week holiday!

I would safely say this is the sweetest and most unusual place I have ever stayed. The resort is made up of two next door sites, the one that we stayed in, Bon Ton and another, Templetree. Both sites are beautiful but very different. The houses on Templetree are much larger and seem to be decorated in a little more of a modern way whereas the smaller wooden huts in Bon Ton are more traditionally decorated (still with a modern twist though).

When we arrived we were offered a complimentary drink to welcome us - we choose a scrumptious Mojito each! We were then talked through the amenities and how the resort runs day to day, e.g. every evening around 5pm the staff would deliver breakfast to you to be placed in your fridge for the next day. They would place different types of bread, fresh fruit, yogurts, juices and cakes in your fridge so that you could have breakfast in bed the next morning opposed to getting up and serving yourself buffet style like most hotels. We loved finding out what had been put in our fridge for the next day and it was lovely being able to relax over breakfast every morning.

The resort was set back from everything so super quiet and peaceful (the airport is rather close by but didn’t bother us). Bon Ton is run by an Australian who has restored 8 Malay antique stilt houses and charmingly all profits go towards her cat and dog rescue centre. Each house is uniquely decorated with bright stripy silks and traditional wooden furniture. We stayed in ‘Silk’ which was over 120 years old and the 2nd largest house within the boutique resort. Our house had two queen sized four-poster beds with draping white mosquito nets (beautiful), chic interior design, the best rain shower on earth, two fridges and the best bit of all was an outdoor wooden bathtub complete with a view of the stars! Bliss!

The restaurant was excellent with a jaw dropping view over paddy fields and a water-lilied lagoon. Partcularly beautiful at sunset. The restaurant food was exquisite (the mash potato is to die for!) We ate there both nights it was so good. The Lunch menu was quite small but had some delicious choices, i especially liked the brie, olive and rocket sandwich! We also got to try extra bits from the tapas menu as at 5pm if you were around the pool you were given an afternoon snack! We had peanut beef rendang on our first day and chicken satay on our second - both lovely and one of many sweet touches added by Bon Ton.

The resort had a lovely pool but if you wanted to visit the beach there were many close by and the resort provides free transportation to the nearest one if you don't have a hire car .

To sum up – this resort is paradise! I will definitely be going back and recommending it to all.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robinson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

This is a special place...not like being in a hotel; much more homely due to its small size and very laid back atmosphere. Attention to detail is great with the rooms being beautifully kitted out. Rooms is a poor word as these are standalone wooden chalets on stilts, a very unusual and charming experience. Ours was massive, with a four poster bed and a separate room and bathroom for the kids. The bathroom was a complete wet area with a huge wooden tub and two showers. Did I mention the cats?There are very friendly and well looked after cats everywhere too, which is lovely (provided you like cats) and they really set the tone for the hotel. The restaurant easily had the best food we had on the island and the staff where charming, friendly and always happy to help or just chat. A very small but incredibly relaxing place....just right....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Argonsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Had a wonderful holiday at Bon Ton, great staff and the villas are beautiful. Langkawi was a nice island, but has a big rubbish problem which was sad to see. We stayed in Laguna Villa which is right next to the lagoon and is definitely the best for views and privacy.

The restaurant was fantastic, overall I dont think the prices were too steep either. Definitely a place for cat lovers - I wouldnt recommend it if you dislike them as they are everywhere. Despite the amount of cats the staff are very viligant about keeping the grounds tidy although I always kept an eye on the ground if walking across the grass!

The newer Templetree is very impressive and you can go between the 2, using the amenities at both.

I think the only let down for us was the amount of children there during our stay. Given the size of the resort and the distance from the beach I had hoped there wouldnt be many if any. Due to the small sizes of the pools (1 at bonton and 2 at templetree) it was hard to relax on the deckchairs or have a quiet dip when it was full of children and toys. I think parents with small children should look at different places if only for the other guests! Aside from that it was an amazing experience, I will definitely be back one day.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jillkj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Bon Ton's the Best! Ever!

Environment - View is relaxing, certain laid back feeling in it + its animal friendly, the cats they have are great entertainment & relax pals to have roaming around! They also know who lives where and will guide you back, if you return late in the dark, KAWAII!!

Service - Friendly, good!
In fact, best I've ever encountered, all the staff wears smiles on their faces, naturally! Assisted us with choice of transport, spa, food & places to go.
There are 6 traditionally dressed chamber ladies carrying baskets to clean up each house, our's the biggest, cahaya. (opening & closing of windows alone takes a person 10 mins, tt's how big cahaya is!)

Food - Fresh bread, pies & cakes, milk, yogurt, makes satisfying breakfast every morning.
Free flow coffee, 3 different choices of tea.

Room - Haiz... Still dreaming of it today.... Dreaming of going back there when I have a chance to!
120+ years old village head house, Cahaya's huge!
The rooms are unique, tastefully done! warmth & comfortable!
Fully equipped.
Great baths... I never wanted to leave!

Definitely an rewinding experience not to be missed.

Keep up the good work Bon Ton!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sati1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I thoroughly recommend this hotel - the service was brilliant and friendly, the huts beautiful and the food delicious. We were there for a week on our honeymoon and would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,330 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.6 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Property: Bon Ton Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing