We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, value...a great package”
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Bon Ton is the type of resort i wish I ran. Stylish without ostenation and with a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms were amongst the best I have ever stayed at...I love everything about them from the bathroom to the views to the outside balcony. In terms of value Bon Ton has to be ones of the best in the world in its category. In short, I'd thoroughly recommend this reosrt to anyone (provided they love pets!). I'd also recommend that you hire a car and see the rest of the Island, esp. up North to get a full sense of Langkawi.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

My wife and our 1 year old daughter stayed here for 8 nights, and have to say the hospitality shown by Amir and all of the staff at Bon Ton was second to none!

No request was too much trouble. Our daughter was unfortunately ill after the flight from London, and Amir was kind enough to take my wife and daughter to the local doctor for a prescription, as well as taking us into Pantai Cenang on a couple of occasions for lunch and beach visit.

Our daughter was continually entertained by the waiting staff, who were always very friendly and accomodating, and on our last evening Alison even upgraded our accomodation from Blue Ginger (which is a fantastic little house!) to a house on the neighbouring Temple Tree site for a change of scenery!

The houses, which are traditional Malay homes relocated and reconstructed from elsewhere, are so much better than any hotel room, and the cost for staying in such beautiful surroundings really is so much more reasonable than other resorts in Langkawi.

It will be sometime before we venture back to Langkawi, but there are no questions about where to stay should we do so!

Thank you everyone for a wonderful stay!

Mark, Claire and Jasmine

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

stayed at both one of the villas at bon ton as well as a few nights at temple tree. facilities were gorgeous, staff was attentive, but relaxed and casual. food at the restaurant was fantastic and the type of traveler this resort attracts appealed to me as well - definitely not a place for whiny, high-maintenance types - much more a place for real travelers, looking for a spot of luxury. AND the fact that they have such close ties to animal rescue is a huge plus, in my book!!

drawback for some will be that it's not directly on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We were lured by the beautiful pictures of the Bon Ton Resort and by the good reviews. We had done our research on the Bon Ton so we weren’t expecting a typical resort and we were aware that the owner also operates an animal shelter with numerous cats. However, we had been advised that each of the houses was “set up like a very nice hotel inside”. Given that the Bon Ton was the most expensive place in which we stayed in Malaysia (considerably more than the beautiful Eastern and Orient in Penang), we expected there to be a certain level of comfort. However, I can honestly stay this was like a nightmare camping trip from my childhood, except we couldn't get away from the mosquitoes while sleeping at the Bon Ton.

From the outside the restored Malay houses look charming and rustic, however, the experience went rapidly downhill once we entered the house which was definitely not equipped like any reasonable hotel I have stayed at:
• The cushions and fabric on all the chairs and day bed were not clean and had dirt, gecko poo and paw marks.
• As well as dead bugs, there were other dirty marks on the bed pillows on two of the nights which were not cleaned during the day – probably from the cats.
• There were holes in the mosquito nets but this was a moot point because the mosquitoes simply came through the gaps in the floorboards everywhere – there were even gaps in the floorboards under and around the bed that weren’t covered by rugs or mats (i.e. within the mosquito net) so the net just became a trap for mosquitoes.
• There was some netting around open parts of the house but there were so many large gaps in the shutters, floorboards and between the doors rendered this ineffective.
• We sprayed the room regularly, kept the shutters locked and left the plug in mosquito repellents on all the time, but the room was still infested with mosquitoes. We had to wear DEET repellent to bed each night and still got bitten as there were loads of mosquitoes just gathering in the bathrooms, the bedrooms and in the mosquito nets!! I appreciate that Langkawi is not within a malaria risk area but there are other diseases that can be contracted from mosquitoes in this region such as dengue fever that really require avoidance of mosquito bites as much as possible. So, it was more than just an annoyance to be constantly bitten by mosquitoes but is a health risk.
• The man that was managing the hotel in the absence of the owner told us that it was probably just sandflies and not mosquitoes in our room even though we told him that we could see the mosquitoes all around the room and some were even trapped in the mosquito net as they were coming through the floorboards.
• The air-conditioning in the main bedroom was almost ineffective against the heat as there was no insulation between the inside roof and the thatching. However, given the mosquito problem in the room it was necessary to have long sleeve tops and pants on the whole time even while in bed as the mosquito net was ineffective due to the gaps in the floor boards.
• Of the two showers in the main bathroom, one did not work and the other just stopped occasionally.
• The other bathroom did not drain properly and the water from the shower pooled around the wooden shelves as a breeding ground for even more mosquitoes.
• On the second night there was a storm and the shutters in the second room blew open and a wet cat jumped in and landed next to my sister’s head. A swarm of mosquitoes also came in with the rain while she was trying to close the shutter back up.
• The wood in the shutter was so swollen from the rain that it would not shut again from the inside, so we had to go outside to fix the shutters and inevitably stepped in cat poo in the darkness.
• After she finally managed to get the cat back outside, the room was had mud (hopefully) and dirty wet marks that were left behind by the cat all over the bed, the spare day bed and the cushions.
• Amidst all this my friend also gashed her finger on the rusty door lock.
• Also we noticed some left over fleas in the rooms which presumably were from the cat.
• There were a lot of small bugs and geckos around the house – which was fine but a bit more like camping than a “resort” or hotel, particularly, when the geckos left droppings everywhere.
• The mosquitoes and heat made it difficult to sleep at night so we were tired most of the time and could only sleep in the mornings when the mosquitoes were less prevalent.

I notice that some of the other reviews mention the very ordinary breakfast. I don’t eat cereal or sweet things for breakfast so I found it a bit limited and didn’t have any myself. Any concerns about the breakfast pale into insignificance compared to the other discomforts.

We spent most of our time avoiding the mosquitoes, heat and general squalor of our room at the Bon Ton by spending the days on the beach and the nights at the pleasant beer garden of the Beach Hotel Resort. I appreciate that each of the Malay houses are “living museums”, however, this should not be an excuse for having things clean and in good working order. Similarly, it would not detract from the authenticity of the house to a) put insulation between the ceiling and thatch, b) place a full rug under the bed to ensure that mosquitoes could not come up into the mosquito net through the gaps in the floorboards, c) sand back/replace some of the wooden shutters in the same style so that they close properly, d) ensure that the showers work, e) replace some of the floorboards that have broken or and lay floorboards closer together to avoid half inch gaps. This small attention to detail and comfort would surely not deter from the authenticity or heritage of these houses. The house we stayed in would have been fine for a shop or a restaurant but really wasn’t suitable to serve as comfortable, reasonable standard accommodation.

There was a level of complacency by the man that was left in charge of the property in the absence of the owner about most things. Indeed, one of his first comments to us was a racist rationalisation about Arab women being demanding because they didn’t like animals and other bugs in their rooms. I found this hotel to be even more substandard than even many budget hostels or guesthouses I have stayed in which really cannot be justified for the price.

After the first night staying at Bon Ton, I was so disappointed, I contacted several other hotels to see if they had vacancies so we could move. I really could not have cared about having to pay more money or losing money to get out of there but unfortunately, everything I tried was fully booked. All I wanted was a place we felt comfortable to relax, i.e. one that was clean, mosquito free (or at least had a mosquito net that was effective for sleeping) and at a pinch with effective indoor temperature control and showers.

The only positive aspects of the Bon Ton were the pleasant (if a bit overpriced) restaurant, the lift to the beach that was offered each day and the recommendation to eat at the lovely little “Yellow Café” on the beach in town.

This was probably the most disappointing accommodation experience for the money that I have ever encountered. The lack of attention to cleanliness and lack of attention to details that make a stay comfortable would rate this below a cheap hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bon Ton in "Blue Ginger" for 6 nights as part of a 2 week holiday in Singapore and Malaysia. We had a pretty good idea of what we hoped the Bon Ton would be like when we booked it, as we had read reviews and looked at pictures- our only concern was whether it would live up to our expectations.
Bon Ton turned out to be probably the most peaceful and relaxed "resort" I have ever stayed in. The fact that there are only 8 houses means that is never too busy- during the day there were never more than 6 or so people around the pool at any given time. The location of the hotel also suited us in that it offered peace and tranquility as it was not located in the main beach stretch of Pantai Cenang. Having said that, it was sufficiently close for us to walk into that resort one morning in 15 minutes. The staff were also more than happy to provide a lift into Pantai Cenang if needed.
We absolutely LOVED the fact that the houses in Bon Ton were decorated and furnished in authentic Malay style, and the outside bathroom in Blue Ginger was truly unique. Whilst showering in the morning we saw squirrels and hornbills (as well as many more exotic bird species) in the trees only yards from us- how many other hotels can offer this?
The food at Bon Ton was truly outstanding. We ate in the restaurant on several occasions and although not cheap by Malay standards, it was still considerably cheaper than restaurants in the UK. What should also be taken into account is the standard of the food, which really was second to none.
Breakfast was delivered by the staff to your fridge at around 6pm and although this may not be to everyone's taste, we again loved this and found it unique. This meant we could get up when we wanted in the morning and eat breakfast at our leisure. The breakfast consisted of fruit juice, fresh fruits, different types of breads (with butter, jam, honey), yoghurts, home made cakes, and tea or coffee. We found this to be more than enough in the morning.
The staff were also very pleasant, helpful and gracious and they helped make our stay memorable. Finally, the cats (and not forgetting Mocha, Mylo and Shane the dogs!) at Bon Ton really endeared themselves to us. We have cats and a dog at home so we really enjoyed getting to know the animals at Bon Ton. Special mention has to go to Skippy the ginger cat who was sitting on our top step most mornings when we opened our doors and who made himself extremely at home in Blue Ginger!
Overall, Bon Ton really did live up to and probably exceed our expectations. This really is different to staying in large "chain" hotels but all the more refreshing for it. It has style, character, and charm and we would most definately love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FionaJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Gorgeous resort - the attention to detail and personal service is second to none. The rooms are all very luxurious and the place feels very peaceful. The restaurant was brilliant - best steak I have ever had and the cocktails rival the best bars in London! I am a cat lover so it was great - they are everywhere- not good if you aren't an animal lover because you can't escape them! Lovely, helpful staff and owner. Definitely in the luxury boutique category.

Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbbyandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Me and my sisters only stayed at the Bon Ton Resort for two nights but they were the best two nights of our entire two week holiday!

I would safely say this is the sweetest and most unusual place I have ever stayed. The resort is made up of two next door sites, the one that we stayed in, Bon Ton and another, Templetree. Both sites are beautiful but very different. The houses on Templetree are much larger and seem to be decorated in a little more of a modern way whereas the smaller wooden huts in Bon Ton are more traditionally decorated (still with a modern twist though).

When we arrived we were offered a complimentary drink to welcome us - we choose a scrumptious Mojito each! We were then talked through the amenities and how the resort runs day to day, e.g. every evening around 5pm the staff would deliver breakfast to you to be placed in your fridge for the next day. They would place different types of bread, fresh fruit, yogurts, juices and cakes in your fridge so that you could have breakfast in bed the next morning opposed to getting up and serving yourself buffet style like most hotels. We loved finding out what had been put in our fridge for the next day and it was lovely being able to relax over breakfast every morning.

The resort was set back from everything so super quiet and peaceful (the airport is rather close by but didn’t bother us). Bon Ton is run by an Australian who has restored 8 Malay antique stilt houses and charmingly all profits go towards her cat and dog rescue centre. Each house is uniquely decorated with bright stripy silks and traditional wooden furniture. We stayed in ‘Silk’ which was over 120 years old and the 2nd largest house within the boutique resort. Our house had two queen sized four-poster beds with draping white mosquito nets (beautiful), chic interior design, the best rain shower on earth, two fridges and the best bit of all was an outdoor wooden bathtub complete with a view of the stars! Bliss!

The restaurant was excellent with a jaw dropping view over paddy fields and a water-lilied lagoon. Partcularly beautiful at sunset. The restaurant food was exquisite (the mash potato is to die for!) We ate there both nights it was so good. The Lunch menu was quite small but had some delicious choices, i especially liked the brie, olive and rocket sandwich! We also got to try extra bits from the tapas menu as at 5pm if you were around the pool you were given an afternoon snack! We had peanut beef rendang on our first day and chicken satay on our second - both lovely and one of many sweet touches added by Bon Ton.

The resort had a lovely pool but if you wanted to visit the beach there were many close by and the resort provides free transportation to the nearest one if you don't have a hire car .

To sum up – this resort is paradise! I will definitely be going back and recommending it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robinson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,266 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,432 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £117 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing