We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and economy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AB Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AB Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent and economy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

the hotel has good location,clean and spacious room with ac,fridge,tv,with large choice of sea-face villa/huts(AROUND RM120) and STANDARD ROOMS(RM80) just opposite the sea. its very good option for budget hotel with clean and spacious room comparatively to other hotels/resorts around the location.

Room Tip: whatever u take it will good for u.but if u expact room service you will be disappointed.but i think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umangnayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    171
    106
    41
    26
See reviews for
100
132
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a very basic, 2 star motel that sits right on the beach. For our family of 5 it was perfect as it allowed us to stay in paradise for longer since the price was so cheap. We had two rooms beachside (A6 & A7) interconnecting. Two queen sized beds in each, quite comfortable. Airconditioned, fridge and TV (no English chanels). Bathroom was VERY primitive (shower nozzle over toliet), smelly, small etc. We were not expecting luxury, therefore this did not bother us. We found the staff friendly and helpful, the grounds were kept clean and tidy. The biggest plus for this motel is its location and price. We will definately come back.
We didn't have to pay a deposit before we came and could have checked out at anytime during our stay. There were several families staying that come every year and stay for a month at a time. As I have mentioned, don't stay here if you want luxury accomodation. If you are used to backpacker style or camping then this is great. We had no problems with beach or road noise but then we had the airconditioning running all night.

Room Tip: Next time we would stay in A13 as it is the closest to the beach. If you need an interconnecting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anoukmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, which cost us RM240 for 4 persons with a deposit of RM50 to be returned after check-out. We got a room with 2 double beds. Few steps walking distance to the Cenang Beach. Air con/fan, minibar, tv with local channels, hot/cold shower. Overall, it is simple and just nice for us to have a rest after our day's out.

Room Tip: Get a room next to the beach to enjoy the view, though the rooms across the road cost cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xin-Fang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sepang, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

me and my friends just spend our 4 days 3 nights there on 19th - 22th April 2012. During the stayed was good~the price also worth with what we got. the important is the location of AB motel is in cenang beach, it was a awesome beach! will be back to langkawi next time and sure will stay over in AB motel again! we are enjoying our stay there~~

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaDa_Ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

You have to remember reviews (mine) are in accordance to the level/standard/rating of the hotel. So, don't expect any outstanding facilities. The previous reviews mentioned lacking customer service and they were right. On checking in, paying for your room and key deposit, we were pointed to across the road (not beach side) with our toilet paper in hand :(


We were travelling as 2 couples, in two rooms and one of our companions laughed that reception didn't seem to want to hand over an extra roll, 2 days into our 3 night stay.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and cool, with nice bathrooms - Asian style. Our rooms were side by side, with adjoining double internal doors...so we could open them to make one room.

There seem to be various configurations of rooms, like ours, single cabins and normal multi level hotel style, side by side rooms. But all have their own porch or verandah.

The TV reception was terrible, with English programs, some of the time. There is no room service or inroom safe.

No breakfast on site, so turn left (from the road side part of the motel) and walk to the next corner and you'll see Man's Cafe. The lovely lady who runs this place, serves nice food at reasonable prices, with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only. The rooms were basic with old fashioned bed and decor. The bathroom too was basic but fine. We only spent a few hours in the room to sleep, so for us it was OK. I found the staff the be friendly and helpful. The location is good, but this is definitely a backpacker place and nothing more.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CrumpetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pantai Cenang hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We checked into the AB Motel in Feb'12 for 2 Nights. The best part of the Hotel is the location..bang on pantai cenang and right on the beach. The Hotel has 2 parts - 1 on the beach and the other across the road away from the beach but 2 min walk to the beach.
The staff at the reception was very rude and unpleasant. The room service was just for the name sake and not at all prompt and again very rude. The rooms are more of a back-packer kind rather than a hotel or motel. The bathroom was worse, very small more of a cabin bathroom categ. There are some deluxe rooms as well which seem ok from outside. Beach is connected to the hotel or the hotel is right on the beach.

The Hotel location is the best part. Right on the busy Pantai Cenang beach with eateries and shops lined up nearby. Langkawi underwater aquarium is 5 min walk.

Room Tip: Select deluxe rooms closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteSandySun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.4 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#25 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
0.0 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#12 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AB Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AB Motel

Property: AB Motel
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ab Hotel Pantai Cenang
Ab Hotel Langkawi
AB Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing