We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down hotel in a good location.”
Review of AB Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AB Motel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Run down hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Ok, it's pretty cheap for Malaysia and the location is good. But the bathrooms are filthy, broken and tiny. Cables coming out from the fridge (not working). The AC only produce noise, dirty bed sheets and sandy floors even before you move in. You have to ask for toilet paper (from day one). Staff really don't care, with high ratings on TripAdvisor guests continue to come. Most of the guests are young people with a tight budget and groups of Arabic men. We will not come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    171
    108
    41
    27
See reviews for
101
133
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

If you're in Langkawi for a short time in the midst of further travel, stay here for very cheap and clean accommodation. It is close by to everything you need - food, drink, beach. I will definitely stay here on return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Nothing much you can say about this hotel. Its cheap, its clean (before we went in) with basic amenities. For a room for 4, its pretty spacious. This room has 2 double bed, with a cupboard to keep our clothes, a small Tv, which we never turned on, air conditioned, and mini bar (empty of course) and water heater. The amenities are not new, but its still acceptable. What can you ask for with RM 110/ night for a room that accommodate four ppl?

Location wise, AB motel is in the heart of Pantai Cenang, the busiest beach in Langkawi. Walked out from the room, you can buy island hopping package, snorkelling and etc. And there are restaurants, convenient stores every where.

They are pretty famous among tourist and locals, heard that they were one of the few earliest motels around Cenang Beach. If you are on tight budget, this motel should suit you fairly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller81_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sepang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The motel was so noisy especially during the night. Probably I got neighbors who never sat at budget motel. However, very near to the beach which is less than 2minutes from the motel. So close to the shop,several restaurant and nice to walk all the way especially at night..If I were to Langkawi again probably the same motel I would choose.

Room Tip: Near to shop,near to restaurant, budject stay but must worthwhiles..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Honey_Bunny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here five nights, first night was horrible we couldnt sleep cause our neighbours made to much noise, so the staff helped us switch room. The hotel has verry thin walls so you hear EVERYTHING the neighbours are doing. But the location of the hotel was great. They cleaned our room one day out of nights, uusch.. No toilet paper provided in the rooms. Wien we checked out they only gave us 50 ringit instead of 100 from our key deposit and some booking deposit. The lady in the reception actually hide one of the reciet when I checked out. Many russians and muslims, u are not allowed to drink alcohol or kiss in the hotel area......

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pantai Cenang hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

its very suitable for budget holidays with family members, They have connecting rooms as well. The room was very clean and the location is great, right on Pantai Cenang steps away from many restaurants

Room Tip: Look for a family room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaymugilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kedah
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed for 1 nights, no meal are provided. The is small but comfort, water heater, hair dryer, air-con and other basic amenities are all included in our pay. It is behind the seaside, walk behind then can reach the beach. The room is cheap and satisfied our needs. Overall, is ok. I would recommend it for low cost tourist

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddysuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.4 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#25 of 103 in Langkawi
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
0.0 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#13 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AB Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AB Motel

Property: AB Motel
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ab Hotel Pantai Cenang
Ab Hotel Langkawi
AB Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing