We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights and I have to say it made our first time in Langkawi a fantastic experience! The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was run very efficiently. The room we were in was great, very tastefully decorated inside, and the gardens around it had a Balinese feel. They served a good enough breakfast and the beach area had enough sunbeds for the guests. It was in a really good position, at the very end of Pantai Tengah, so it was easy enough to Pantai Cenang which is where a lot of the beach bars are. There is an excellent cafe next to the resort called Oasis which served amazing food! My only suggestion is that they install shower curtains in the bathroom and purchase softer pillows. A very good mid-range resortI will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    295
    94
    25
    25
See reviews for
123
330
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We got this hotel from the internet, and its really good.Clean rooms, Nice Beach, Nice breakfast, no beacon ;-( ( Its a muslim country) very good chars on beach with a lot of palm tree( good shadow)
For family with 5 people it was excellent.
The hotel is situate in a very nice garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunglosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good thing: staff were friendly, location is perfect (not too busy like Pantai Cenang but very near with it. You can just walk to Pantai Cenang), you'll have your own privacy once you entered the hotel area, there's parking, more to Balinese style, the beach is perfect (Not as good as Tanjung Rhu but better than Pantai Cenang),
Need to improve: as the room charges is included breakfast, really hope if they can change the menu every morning (imagine you have the same breakfast menu for the same 5 days), the room & toilet need a bit of renovation, need to add extra service in terms of cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Small little hotel with its own private beach which is more like a guest house than a resort. As long as that is what you are expecting then this is the place for you. At the quiet end of the street and away from the noise of traffic. The rooms are basic and clean. Don't expect satellite tv (only 3 local channels) and the internet access is a ways up from most of the cottages near the reception area. We rented two rooms, one for the adults and one for our teenage children, which worked out mostly except that we had a smaller room so no extra cot could be fitted in and they had to share a double bed for 5 nights. The breakfast are fine, but basic. Plenty of fruit with a lot of seasonal variety, toast, eggs and drinks. Lots of places to eat nearby. Renting a car was one of our best decisions as it was a low key island to drive on and gave us the opportunity to learn to drive on the left hand side of the road without too much stress. The cost wasn't much more than using taxis all week. There is no pool, but the ocean is fine for swimming except for all the para-sailing speed boats constantly going by making swimming a bit hazardous if you were out very far. We would most likely stay here again if we returned and would recommend it to friends. It was a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Pick the bigger size room as they are a bit on the small side and worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I returned from Langkawi two weeks ago. We stayed for the first time at the Sunset Beach Resort and found it good value for our money. We have been several times to Langkawi and have tried a variety of locations and accommodations. We stayed at the Sunset Beach Resort for four nights (RM 280 per night). The room is simple but sufficient, except for the shower which we found weak. It gave you the impression as if you were standing in the rain. The number of towels is a bit limited, but we could get extra if we asked at the storage room (located next to the breakfast room). On the evening when we checked in we found quite some mosquitoes in the room. But they were quickly gone after burning a mosquito coil. The one thing we did not like was the breakfast: limited choice and not enough. Several mornings we decided to go out and have breakfast elsewhere (the Red Tomato restaurant is good and nearby).
Pantai Tengah is a very quiet beach, much less touristy than Pantai Chenang. So if you want to relax, this is a good location. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but a taxi to Pantai Chenang is cheap and there are lots of restaurants over there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLinTKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a great time at the Sunset Beach Resort. First of all, as mentioned by other reviewers, the staff here are brilliant. They are really friendly and seem to know all the customers from day one, calling you by your first names whenever they see you. It is a small, quiet resort but situated on it's own little area of beach. There is always enough sunbeds to go around and the whole place has a very relaxed feel to it. The rooms stretch from the reception to the beach either side of a path and gardens and each room has a great deal of privacy. One thing i would say, some of the rooms could do with a little bit of renovation, our air conditioning unit had been badly fitted for example which left the wardrobe looking messy. I have to be honest and say i didn't really enjoy the breakfast either and this is the only reason why i have not awarded the resort five stars. I don't think it would take much to cook noodles fresh for customers rather than leaving them sitting out. The resort also offers massage on the beach which was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 278 is the last room prior to the beach and breakfast area but is very quiet and well worth ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Sunset Beach Resort is located in the heart of the main street to Pantai Cenang beach within walking distance of 5minuets and within 15minuets to the Langkawi International Aiport, is very convenient, beside transportation is convenient too, could go on line for booking a car rental or
make a reservation appoint your arrival at the car service rental booths provide at the airport. Bicycles, Scooters and Taxi are available too.

This resort is surrounded by serene lush greens landscape and blue sky with beach front view. In the morning will get to enjoy free "Bird Singing" fresh air & breeze all day long.
Good hospitality with friendly and warm staffs all the time, breakfast may looks simple yet tasty, massage service available facing a spectacular beach front view and surrounded by lush tall coconuts threes.

Is a good place to relax over a short weekend or hang out with a few good friends, as well as for couples wish to spend some peace, enjoy and relax get away time. This resort is clean and will fall in love with their landscaping, is amazing.

Strategic location for foods (lots of different variety available) & beverages such alcohol is cheap, due to this is a "Duty Free Zone" island. Shopping is amazing and site seeing is interesting too...!!!

While my last day of stay, had in mind for my next vocation, because "Langkawi" is a place surrounded by beautiful mountains, greens and beach. The weather is majority time "Bright Sunshine" only selected months are raining season.

Thank you, and sure be back & voila......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctpy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing