We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star quality at 2 star prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July 2012, mainly on the strength of the reviews on tripadvisor.
We found the place to be pretty good on the whole, an the plus sides it's a good location, great and friendly staff and an adequate breakfast for the price.
The staff being the best, not just friendly, but helpful with any queries and keen to recommend restaurants and attractions if asked.
On the minus, it's a little old and tired around the edges, chipped paint, sad looking bathrooms and in need of a bit of a spruce up really.
Sadly the whole street is looking a bit that way as well, tatty and messy, a bit old and run down.
But all in all, for what you pay, pretty good value really.
There seems to be only two ways of staying along this stretch of Langkawi coast, either high-end resort or down and dirty, Sunset Beach resort seems to be one of the few places that slots between the two extremes.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade, at extra cost, we didn't bother and found the cheaper room to be fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_rossduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

On our first day in Malaysia we arrived at the Sunset Beach Resort. Although we were early (12 o clock, while the room was accessible after 14), we received towels and could freshen up.

We went for a relaxing afternoon on the beach.

Next door on the beach there was a restaurant with nice cocktails and nice food (more expensive than on the main road).

The location of the hotel is superb, in the middle of everything, but still very relaxing atmosphere.

The room is basically your own little house. Nice breakfast with fresh fruits. Service is great

Would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to stay on the island. We loved it here.

Tip: mangrove tour was very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babsie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Never having been to Langkawi before I wasn't sure what to expect and had no idea about our accommodation at Sunset Beach. Although Sunset Beach is not a resort in the true sense of the word (no pool, bar, restaurant, etc) the airconditioned rooms were quite charming set amidst lovely gardens and just down a short pathway to the beachfront. This was lovely with chaise lounges set out under coconut palms and the water just a few metres away. Perhaps not suitable for families with young children as the beach slopes away quite quickly but plenty of beach activities such as parasailing just a bit further up the beach. Not a luxury resort but warm and friendly service, a restaurant next door and a whole strip of shops and restaurant right outside the front.

Room Tip: Actually all the rooms are good as it's a small place and you really only need to choose relativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This place is located in the heart of Langkawi! A great place to stay with plenty of place to eat at. The resort is located in a nice setting. A pathway in the middle with rooms on either side. The resort is right next to the beach with plenty of sun beds too. The serve complimentary breakfast in their common dining area overlooking the sea. This was my favourite part and loved the view. The staff here are very friendly and always willing to help. They also help in organising tours to neighbouring islands, scuba diving, car rentals and so on. On the down side, the rooms have no wifi facility and the wifi at the lounge is poor. Because of all the plants around the rooms there are too many insects and keeping your room door open in the evening can be a bad idea. Overall a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

You'd be surprised that a beautifully done up beach facing property such as this.. Is a budget resort. Staff ( all ladies) are very polite, a bit shy as well. Except for a simple complimentary breakfast we didn't test the in house restaurant. The property sits on Penang cenang , busiest street on langkawi. There are several eating joints, both fine dining and thatched roof joints. The best food we had was at a shack on the beach .. Live music by a Rastafarian musician and live grill counter with booze. Make sure to order the pepper chicken wings.. Mouth watering yummilicious...the shack is called "Babylon".
the entire stretch makes for a great walk , occassional stops at a trinklet store, yummy chilled coconut water to quench a thirsty traveller.

Room Tip: Dont feel restricted if the resort food is below your expectation. There are multiple eateries as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancinaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in June 2012 and thought it was fab. Having stayed on Pantai Cenang (busier beach down the road), realised how much nicer this end of the beach was. Its not on the busiest part of the stretch, which we liked since its more quiet and relaxing. If you want to get to Cenang the walk is not too bad and the taxis are cheap to get from end to end. The resort has a little patch of beach with beautiful views and lovely palm trees (stunning views of this at breakfast time). The women that worked there were some of the loveliest people we met, went out of their way to remember your name and were always thrilled to see you and say hello on passing. Breakfast was simple but everything that you needed- juice, tea/coffee, cereals, toast, noodles, fresh fruit.

Stayed in a Sunset 2 room, which was also simple but lovely- the only complaint was the slightly weak air conditioning which didn't cool the room quite as much as you might like- but this is not a huge problem at all. Good location for cafes and just round the corner from the Cliff restaurant (a definite must for amazing food and sunset views). Definitely reccommend this place and the lovely lovely people there

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just returned from Langkawi and I must say that the reviews here on Trip advisor were spot on. The hotel isn't the most luxurious but its clean, simple and has everything you need, the shower and bathroom is very good. The gardens and grounds are well kept and it's right on the beach and away from the noise but close enough to walk to the action, for the price they are asking, what more can you want?

The view from the restaurant in the morning is a million dollar view, simply beautiful and the ladies who run this place are all very nice. To give you and example, the scooter hire place we rented from was closed and we we're changing hotels to get a taste of one of the big resorts, I left the bike with the staff who returned the scooter and collected my deposit and were all very helpful. Just popped in before catching the plane to collect my deposit and there were no issues.

We had a great time here and was value for money, much better value then the big resorts!

Room Tip: Get the room closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
455 reviews
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.5 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing