We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at sunset resort for 14 nights, very enjoyable lovely room we had Sunset 1,. The ladies in reception were lovely nothing too much trouble, also all other staff always had a smile, would love to return but so many changes will it be there! I do hope so.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    295
    94
    25
    25
See reviews for
123
330
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

5 of us stay at the family room and we truly enjoyed the stay. it is beach front hotel with balinese style. simple but tasty breakfast. friendly staff in the hotel. is a quiet beach at pantai tengah but overall is good enough for us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beautiful Balinese gardens, polite friendly staff, tired but clean rooms, tasty breakfast. All amenities and restuarants within a short walk away. Days spent lounging around overlooking the quiet beach, having the occasional massage and daily cocktails served by Adi (bar next door) - I didn't want to leave..... :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyMay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at Sunset Beach Resort for 5 nights in March. There were some things we liked about this place and some things we didn't. One thing we liked was the location. It is right on the beach at the far end of Pantai Tengah. This is a quiet stretch of beach good for walking and swimming. It's also easy to access restaurants and shops on the main street. We also liked the breakfast. Eggs were cooked to order and served near the beach. There were lots of options available. Finally, we liked the grounds; they were well maintained and beautiful.

Unfortunately, there were several things we didn't like. Our room, a Sunset III, was not great. It was very small and not particularly clean. The bathroom really needed to be updated. There was an old tv in the room that didn't work--why not remove it? The AC was loud and the door could only be closed with a key--no doorknob--very inconvenient. It felt like a cheap motel room; we expected more for the money.

We also didn't like the fact that there was no wifi in the room, only in the lobby area. This just doesn't make sense. It is such a small investment for a hotel to add a couple of routers so guests can get wifi in the room. Today's travelers expect this.

I wouldn't stay at Sunset Beach Resort again. Although we liked the breakfast and the location, the rooms are just not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and my Husband were on a holiday here recently and stayed at Sunset beach resort. It has the amazing sunset view just as in its name. its just so picture perfect. They have provided us with breakfast, you can just enjoy the breakfast just besides the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SriRamyaMerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Sunset Beach. The garden and bungalows are nice and the price is okay for the standard.

There is lots of jet-sky, parasailing and banana-boats in front of the Hotel... it can get very noisy and busy and the nearby Government Hotel now dumped large sandbags on the beach. The breakfast is pretty dull and most of the desk-chairs are broken. I really don't understand why people here say it's relaxing beach area.

We arranged speedboat transport to nearby Koh Lipe with the lady from the reception. We were told that the boat leaves very early in the morning. So we asked if we still can get breakfast and we were told that we can get a 'fast' breakfast short before our pick-up to the ferry. But when we came to the breakfast pavilion there was nobody there and we left without getting breakfast

We also reserved a room for our last night, when we came back from Koh Lipe. And again the lady told us twice that the reservation was confirmed. But on our arrival they gave the room away and they had no vacancies. So we had to find a room by ourself. Well, the ladies at the reception seem nice but very chaotic and not well trained.

We didn't like Langkawi at all… most parts of the beaches are private and it's a real package destination. The rainforest is nice but there are no real walking tracks… only paved roads for cars, sky bridges, cable cars, noisy mangrove tours, shopping complexes etc. So if you are into this type of vacation it might be the right island for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Farinurlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed only for couple nights there. It is a beautiful and relaxing place. Simple, but provide all the basic. Breakfast is good, right next to the beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing