We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and price-worthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome and price-worthy”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here in March.
There were 5 of us and we booked the biggest room they had. Glad to say the room was spacious enough for all of us. There was ample of space for all of us as well as our baggage.

Breakfast was simple but good enough. English breakfast with all the main things you need in the morning.


Thumbs up for the bathroom. It's huge and clean and comes with a bathtub. At the price we paid, we expected lesser. We had some water clogging issues the first 2 days but it got resolved as soon as we informed the reception counter.


Staffs were friendly and helpful. Location was awesome and we could just take a walk to the entire street of cenang while enjoying some peaceful time
at pantai tengah. You don't need to put up with the crowd at pantai cenang and you can have an almost private beach to yourself at pantai tengah. The beach is almost as nice at cenang and maybe cleaner.

There are many restaurants and bars nearby as well as a mall and McDonald's. Alternatively, just walk down to cenang to enjoy the food there.

There's Oasis bar right next door where you can let go lanterns at night by the beach.

One of the best hotels in so many different terms that I have stayed in Langkawi.

Sadly they have been bought over by Berjaya Group and will be closed soon for renovation. So goodbye to the budget price once the new management takes over.

We stayed here for 5 days and had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    298
    94
    25
    25
See reviews for
124
333
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

i booked the hotel for Nov and was very looking forward to it. However, i receive an email saying that they will be cancelling my reservation n refund me due to some investors buying their property. Therefore, no need to book this hotel anymore as it will not be available in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KennethChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunset Beach for a week. The accommodation was (to a Westerner) basic, clean, of a good size, air con works, shower very good and a basic tv (but on holiday why would you need to watch it?! ).

The grounds are stunning with an array of landscaped tropical flora. Amoungst this are pots with floating lillies and small ponds with fish swimming around. The reception area is (despite nr a main rd) apparently tranquil.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is incredibly basic but serves its purpose in setting you up for your days exploration.

The beach is a stone's throw from where you have breakfast with stunning views if the Pantai Cenang bay. The only WiFi available is at the reception lobby and there is no swimming pool.... however, I am nit picking here and it has not in any manner inconvenienced me!

I'm not sure what others have expected in this accommodation. It's not the Hilton... if it was, you'd have booked there, I'm sure. However, it does exactly what it says on the tin. It's simple, no fuss, clean and perfectly located for shops and restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pass2shangrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff were really friendly and warm at all times. Rooms were clean and cosy with a nice big bathroom that was clean as well. Loved the location, which was more on the Pantai Tengah side, meaning you won't have to deal with the hoards of people and watersports from the Cenang side. Breakfast spread was decent (fruits, eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, tea). Good enough for us, but if you get bored, hop on over to Red Tomato (on the left side if the resort) for some amazing breakfast.

There's a nice little bar (Oasis Bar) right next to the resort beach that serves good cocktails, while you lounge on the beach and a great place to catch the sunset. Nice resort if you're not too picky with little things. Would definitely come back, just for that amazing view on the hotel beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a budget place so go with that mentality. You will not find the luxuries of a typical resort here except a really nice beach access.
Rooms were in the form of small cottages and were clean. There was a lot of greenery which was nice.
Best part about the place was access to pantai ceneng beach at the back of the resort. A nice cozy corner where you can sit back and relax and get beer from a shack next door. There is a lady here who does massages under a canopy. Her service is decent for the price charged. I mean 30 RM for a 30 min back massage is cheap acc. to me.
Breakfast area was basic but overlooking the water, which made it pleasant.
The location was excellent. It's near the main market where you can buy stuff and find lots of places for drinks and food.

I do feel the place can be slightly better managed and maintained. e.g. some of the broken sun chairs can be repaired. The breakfast area furniture also could have been better. AC is the room need to be replaced with newer, more effective ones.

Overall it wasn't bad for a budget beach stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakshiprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a triple room for me and my friends at the end of June 2014. And today 14th May, they sent us a short notice inform that they have to cancel my reservation due to part of their property being acquired by a new owner and they have to closed part of the resort. Then i'm on my way to manage to find another hotel for upcoming trip. It really waste of time after searching, reading comments on all booking website to find this hotel and you're rejected in someway though they confirmed about your stay. You should be careful if you want to stay here unless you want to be the same as mine!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TrangTranHuyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

You have to be joking ... we made a reservation here for the end of a seven week trip around Europe. Thought it would be great to have a week of relaxation on the way home to Melbourne. Booked our accommodation back in November. Now the fun begins. We leave next Tuesday 20th May, and got an email from this place 20 minutes ago cancelling our reservation. Some excuse about the property being sold. So now we have to find somewhere else on short notice. Not at all happy ....... so don't bother even trying to book.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithsWarragul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,337 reviews
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing