We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Motel(Pantai Cenang)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bon Ton Resort(Pantai Cenang)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cenang Memories Motel(Pantai Cenang)(Great Value!)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motel(Pantai Cenang)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pondok Muara Chalet(Pantai Cenang)
US$21
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Salsa Resort Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Peak Inn Motel(Pantai Cenang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grand Beach Motel(Pantai Cenang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
224
310
97
26
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
310
97
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderwater worldtropical gardenfamily roompalm treeslocal channelsper nightbasic amenitieskoh lipesmall fridgesun loungersred tomatofree shopsceiling fanthe main streetbeachislandida
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We recently stayed at the Sunset resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful to us - one member of staff even lent us some cash when the ATM in Cenang Beach was out of operation! The hotel is in a lovely quiet stretch of beach but close enough to the centre of Cenang and Tengah to allow you access to plenty of bars and restaurants. The breakfast was great, served in a room overlooking the beach. This is the perfect place to watch the sunset, some people travelled to the beach for that, we didn't even have to leave our sunloungers!

The rooms are really big - we had one of the smallest rooms and it was big enough for the three of us (all adults) even with a second bed in there.

Great value for money, we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueeyes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We are a youngish couple (21 years old) and we felt as if the staff were looking down on us the whole time. It's definitely more suited to slightly older couples. Beach location was cool, and breakfast was good.

We highly recommend not catching a bus from KL to Langkawi, we missed the last ferry because our bus driver was so arrogant and nicotine addicted. Well worth investing in a flight, as we did for the trip home.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dogfoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

The price at which the rooms are available is unbelievable.

The location of the hotel too is excellent - Sea world (acquarium) is practically right next to the hotel and Cenang beach is also only a 5 mins walk.

The staff was very helpful and cooperative. The breakfast was simple but nice.

We booked a Sunset II room and found it to be quite spacious. The room and the bathroom was clean.

The hotel beach is very clean with an amazing view (do not miss the sunset!).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed here for 9 nights and loved it. It's simple but great value, and the beach is lovely and quiet. The Oasis next door makes up for the lack of restaurant and is a good place for a couple of beers at sunset. For a cheap but delicious local lunch, turn right out the hotel and take the short walk to the T junction where there is a Malay cafe next to a minimart where you can get delicious fried rice and noodles for a few pence.
The Lighthouse is worth splashing out on for its dreamy location, and the other 'Sun' businesses are worth checking out too. Debbies Place does as good a steak as I've had anywhere in the world and is brilliant value.
You can't beat this place for simple good service and fab location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Having stayed here for more than a week, I could not recommend the Sunset any more! The staff is beyond friendly, the rooms are kept very clean, and the attention to detail is stunning. I remember seeing a man watering the garden only a couple of hours after a pouring rain! The Sunset seems to be part of an attempt to make the area a bit more upmarket. With the dollar skyhigh, it was also pretty affordable. For those in search of amenities, keep in mind that the TVs only have local channels, the resort has no in-house restaurant, and there is no pool. But really, when you're right by dozens of restaurants and really warm water, who cares? Bathrooms are kept clean and AC works well.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank papupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews