We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed Spectacular Sunset Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indeed Spectacular Sunset Beach!”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My family & I stay there for 3 nights (family room) which cost RM260 per night. The main reason that I booked Sunset Beach Resort was there are two queen size beds enough for 4 persons despite read some previous bad reviews. The environment is natural filled with greenery plants and water features. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The ladies at the reception are readily to provide any information regarding Langkawi. The air-con and mini freezer are cold enough. Room are clean daily with clean towels.

There is a small area with two chairs & a small table where you can chat and drink. You also can do your laundry as you can hang them dry outside with hangers provided. The room is basic and is not carpeted which do not give off musty smell. The beach is nice, windy and less crowded. The sea water is not deep despite strong waves. The sunset view is spectacular. My two children love the beach and have a great time playing there. I must say that the starry night at the beach is quiet and romantic. You can walk beside to the next door bar close to the beach, enjoy the music and drink, at the same time listen to the splashing of waves. You can also book the discounted island hopping & mangrove tour at the reception counter. The mangrove tour cost RM120 for adult & RM80 for child while the island hoping cost RM35 for adult and RM25 for child. You also can call for massage at the beach which cost RM80 per hour (full body massage). The resort is at prime location where you can easily access to airport, Kuah town and other attractions. There are also restaurants and mini supermarkets nearby.

The only bad experience is there are few cockroaches crawling around in our room and coming from the toilet on our arrival! I have managed to kill about 10 cockroaches in the first two days with the “powerful” insect spray provided, I did complain to the reception and it was attended to promptly. Finally the cockroaches are no more seen from the toilet. The cupboard door in the room is broken and the furniture are rather old. There is only a small 14” TV with only 3 local channels to watch so you really need to plan your night activities. There are also mosquitoes but not many as I thought. We have told the reception and they have given us spray and electric coil. The breakfast is healthy, simple, unlimited tea and coffee, fruits, butter, jam for your toasted breads. But they only serve only one glass of orange juice and two eggs per person. You can also request different cooking style for your eggs (really fresh eggs!).

Overall, I have a pleasant time staying there with my family and my two kids really enjoy playing at the beach. Resort will be great for those who looking for a no frill stay on a beach, more suitable for couples.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    298
    94
    25
    25
See reviews for
124
334
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sunset Beach for six night on our honeymoon, after a shorter stay in KL. The booking process was pretty simple - all completed by email, no hitches or glitches - and the rooms were good value at 190 Rm per night for a Sunset II (double room). First impressions driving from the airport to the Sunset Beach were that Langkawi was perhaps a bit more run down than you would expect, with scrubby fields, untidy pavements and loads of little stalls and shops selling the obligatory beachware and souvenirs. Once you're off the main roads and onto the beach, though, the change is striking.

The Sunset Beach is right on the quieter Pantai Tengah beach rather than the busier Pantai Cenang. It's separated by a little rocky outcrop so you have to go onto the main road to travel between the two, and this must keep Pantai Tengah a bit more secluded. The beach itself is beautiful, a real paradise island vista, although there is some litter on the sand (bottles, flip-flops etc). The sea is warm and not too rough - the waves can be strong but don't pull you out, rather they seem to throw you back onto the beach if they're not bobbing you up and down. No problems with jellyfish while we were there.

The hotel itself is quiet, with only 20-odd rooms. It's basic and can look a bit shabby in places, although this comes across more as traditional rustic charm rather than dirt or disrepair. Staff are great, breakfast is basic (but you get to eat it looking out over the sea), sun loungers are only ever half-full (and there are only about 14 of them) and the path past the rooms and onto the beach is lined with orchids and water features. The hotel is basic and budget, but the greenery and the atmosphere mean it's at least as classy in feel as most of the other hotels nearby, even the larger ones (not counting the five-stars like the Datai, obviously).

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it's directly next-door to the Oasis Beach Bar which does a good range of western and Indian food as well as great, cheap beers and cocktails. The other venues in the Sunset chain are also worth a visit, particular the Sunbar Grill and the Mata Hari restaurants - again, a cut above most of the other restaurants in the area.

Overall, we were really pleased with the hotel and our stay. The island offers lots of things to do, from parascending and cable cars to boat trips on the mangroves and rainforest treks - with shopping, massages, and just lounging in the 34-degree sun for the less energetic. There are some amazing beaches, hidden waterfalls, great restaurants and beautiful views. There can be litter too, and lizards, and the sewer grills could do with covering up here and there, but the Sunset Beach was certainly a success for us (relaxed, not too fussy, not luxury but great for the self-sufficient and the down-to-earth) and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Just returned form a kl & lankawi trip. Sunset resort is a excellent resort with good value for money. Its has a nice clean almost private beach. Only thing was missing was there was no music at night on the beach. But i have gone through all the hotels in langkawi with this price tag and prime location there is simply no other hotel available. The staffs are very friendly always keep smiling and say hello. Even after check out they dont hesitate to provide you with towels, soap, shampoo e.t.c for going to beach and using their toilets. Oasis resturant just beside sunset its a very good place for a candle light & siitng on the beach dinner. Paitai chenang the main beach and heart of langkawi is 10 min walking distance from resort. But when u r in lankawi renting a car is must and its cheap only 50 myr for 24 hours and fuel at 1.8 myr thats extreme cheap.
There is nothing much to see or do at lankawi just water sports activities and cable car to sky bridge.
Our trip was amazing hope u ppl good luck next time u visit langkawi.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakhter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This hotel is far too expensive for what you get. We stayed 2 nights and then moved out.
Unfortunately there are very few good value places on this island, with the exception of the 5 star places with 5 star prices.
Maintainance is not their strenght. The rooms would need refitting.
Garbage is also a major problem on this island which could be paradise if properly taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed here during chinese new year and booked a week before we went so we were pretty much left with this unless we wanted to pay exorbitant prices for other hotels. Even so this hotel was expensive when we booked! RM290 p/night for a family room.

There were 6 of us and we had 2 separate rooms. The parents had a room to themselves and 4 of us shared a family room. The size of the room is huge and there aren't that many rooms here. It is air conditioned but it has chock full of mosquitoes! The rooms are very dated and old but they keep it clean. The bathrooms are OK, a bit dated but a decent size.

Ladies who work there are very friendly and laid back, always with a smile. Breakfast buffet is very basic, egg, toast, ham, jams and cereal.

Here's my tip to ward off mosquitoes. Borrow the mosquito spray from the front desk and before you leave for your day trip, give your room a good spray and lock the doors behind you, DO NOT leave any windows opened. When you come home you will come back to a room mosquito-less.

The hotel is also connected to the beach so you can lounge at the beach, it's not crowded and quite peaceful. If you like massages, their in house masseuse is strong and great if you want to experience a traditional malay massage.

location wise, not much to complain about, it's in a moderately busy area.

If you want to go online, purchase a rm10 pass for a day that will give you wifi access.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank booffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

sunset beach resort is a budget hotel with simply fabulous reviews by others. I went there with the impression it would be a true gem like Alam Jiwa in Bali, also similarly priced.
The nice things about the place is the fabulous beach and its sunset , the lovely plantlife landscaping in the passageway and the lady at the reception called Mas. very nice and helpful.
Yet considering its high reviews I think it important to highlight some facts especially for family travellers.
The place reception is virtually deserted later in the night, so if there is any emergency there is no one. Rooms have no phones either to connect to the reception. The management itself has kept the rooms in a very shabby condition. The AC in our family room was not working properly and the weather in lankawi in the day is FUMING hot! The bathroom has no window, exhaust fan or ventilation. There are no toiletries but soap and there is only a shower to bathe with and no tap or hand shower. To top it all the sheets have all kinds of spots and are very old and dirty looking.
I really think travellers should know all this before falling in love with other reviews.

  • Liked — the beach and the landscaping
  • Disliked — condition of rooms, lack of room service
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

First we stayed here 3 days but our holiday was so great that a month later we came back for 5 more days. Checking the reviews about Langkawi accommodations gave me the feeling that in this price range we won't find anything good, but this hotel was a pretty nice surprise - it is excellent value for money. Reading some previous reviews I was a bit afraid there was going to be some mess up with the booking but although we arrived very late at night, everything went fine. (I also called them a day before our arrival just to make sure that they still have our reservation.)
The room was OK - nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Next morning we were amazed how great the hotel's location is. It is situated right next to the sea on a lovely sandy beach. It is clean, the water is calm and warm and only a couple of people use this so you can almost have it to yourself. The hotel has a number of sun chairs where you can crash in the shade of the palm trees or you can sunbath on the beach. There is a wide choice of restaurants nearby as well as shops and supermarkets - all within walking distance. We tried Sun Group's cafe and restaurant - both were great and just a short stroll from the hotel.
The staff was really great; everybody was very kind and helpful and they made us feel welcome. They gave us valuable local advice on organizing our trips and were always ready to answer our questions. It was a nice surprise that from the very first day the ladies at the reception called us by our first names - considering the number of guests it is a great achievement.
I can’t mention anything that I didn’t like. If I need to say something bad it would probably be the breakfast: it's kind of basic (scrambled egg, sausages, jam, butter and some fruits) and didn't taste that good. I also wouldn’t recommend this hotel for those looking for luxury - there is no bar or restaurant to start with. But apart from these we had a great time and I would definitely go back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
418 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,342 reviews
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing