We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melati Tanjung Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 10 February 2012

if you are looking for a clean and cheap place just for sleep and rest, you will like it. a double room with aircon and hot water starts from Rm70 per night. location is very good ( pantai chenang) just 30-40 meters from chenang beach and 30-40 meters from main road where all restaurants,shops and stalls are waiting for you. you can find a nice beach bar near this motel ( babylon I think)and have a experience of romantic afternoon with short tables and candles.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazloomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

Liked: It's right on the beach, good location for pentai cenang, good aircon but we still got a mosquito or two a couple times, mini fridge, own balcony, friendly staff. The room itself was fairly clean and the shower worked well. They had construction going on but luckily the day we came they were about done. Also, just a tip, if you eat anything and have trash, keep it in the fridge or toss it in the outside garbage bins because it will attract ants otherwise.

Disliked: It was in pentai cenang not our first choice location but it ended up being ok, bathroom smelled of urine sometimes, I'm guessing because of the pipes. The towels they give you had stains and seemed a bit dirty, door locks are rudimentary, tv plug was broken but that didn’t really matter to us but things should work if they are in the room. Sheets weren’t that clean…Pentai Cenang in general seems overpriced for what you get even after bargaining, at least for us. The room was a good size but on the small side. We wished the wifi would work all the way in the rooms instead of just out by the lobby.

Room Tip: We picked a less expensive room because although it wasn't on the beach, you can still see it fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hello,
we (3 friends) visited lankawi for 7 days and stayed at their place for total 3 days
we were offered 1 room with TV, Fridge, bathroom, double bedroom + extra bed at 155 ringgits per day which includes morning breakfast,
so we paid 310 ringgits for the 1st 2 days
first two days no breakfast was offered and we too neglected it since we were too busy in our own way,having fun n stuff,

on the 3rd day we paid them another 155 ringgits since we decided to stay for the 3rd day,
and this time i inquired why no breakfast was provided on the first two days at which i was replied that they don't have breakfast scheme! --anyways we let this go

on the 4th day when we decided to checkout, we went on the counter n asked for our passport and shockingly they asked us for another 155 ringgits for the 3rd day,

we told them that we had paid them in advance on the beginning on the 3rd day but all in Vain,
these guys have no written records of your payments nor do they give you any receipts when u make payments,

even on the 1st day when we had asked for a payment receipt we were informed that they keep a record and all the receipts would be given to us while checkout...

so we lost about 155 ringgits over here since these guys don't give out receipts even if requested and nor do they write it down...

the Telivision set provided has only 4 channels so its of no use

Overall i would say that the rooms are nice but the staff aren't.
just accross the street there are several hotels,
ill check my accounts for receipts and update a review and reference.. cause those hotels all we had to pay was 90 ringgits for a better room with ample parking (room rates starts from 45) but anyways the point is you can enjoy more by spending a lesser amount than paying more and getting cheated, given fake info about breakfast n stuff, and where people clean ur rooms...


anyways i assume that its one of their employees who cheats visitors and gives the hotel a bad name...

ill update the review with some pics later

Room Tip: just wakin and checkout rooms that are not in beach view area -( you cant see the beach from your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rohan_r_chavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

considering motel run by a family, they did a great job! Rooms are new and clean.
Superb location are their selling point. Accesible to made of paradise cenang beach, local and international restaurant, Fun for young travellers as babylon the reggae bar just right next door will create noisy enviroment. anyway who cares...?
and all of this make all of us a promise to come back!

Room Tip: party goers gets room on rigth block facing the sea, family and couples the other block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

this hotel is a series of two story blocks . most rooms have a sea view. some are right on the beach facing the sea. the rooms are clean and have en suite bathrooms, tv, aircon and fridge.
one negative piont is that they can be noisy at night, all depending on your neighbours at the time.Staff re friendly and heplful. bike hire just cross the road. many restuiarants within 5-10 minutes walk.
can recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea . these are highest price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISHKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This 'Motel' is in the very heart of the Pentail Cenang resort. It has direct access to the beautifu beach but also faces onto the main road. Rooms closest to the road are a little noisy so ask for a room facing the beach. (They are a little bit more expensive, but worth it in my opinion). The rooms are simply but adequately furnished with ensuite bathrooms and air conditioning. Staff helpful. The resort has lots of restaurants and a few bars and lots of shopping opportunities but we experienced no hassle from the traders. Recommended resort and hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedhopper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this place for about a week after a very dissapointing stay at another beach side run down place, just down the road.We liked this place,much much better.

We were orginally shown an older, ground level suite which seemed a bit dark and gloomy and had a musty smell to it.We requested to see another room and were taken two storys up to a newer room, that was much brighter and cleaner looking to the room we first saw.

The room was small and compact offering a comfortable clean bed and an LCD TV, with only one or two English channels. We didn't have any wifi devices at the time so, I'm not sure if wifi is available,however, it must be by now. Our room also had a small, but adequate balconey that gave us a side view of the ocean,between the buildings. This balcony lost it's privacy whenever the neighbours came out,however, it was still a nice added feature.The shower provided good pressure, heat and the AC was also adequate.The staff in the office were very friendly and accomodating to all our requests.

Location,location,location....

The beach out front offers some nice sand and is busy with plenty of things going on.Locals were playing soccer and we went para sailing for an incredibly low price of around 10-$15 each.That was an awesome experience my wife and I both loved. There are plenty of bars and restaurants up and down the beach and the local ,predominantly Muslim population were extremley friendly.

The street out front had a lot to offer in terms of shops,massage parlors and eateries. We had some fantastic seafood meals at some very great prices at some outdoor restraunts up and down the street. This hotel is located right on the beach in the middle of a very safe touristy area with a lot of foreingers walking around. We felt very safe here, even at night.

Motorcycle rentals are available nearby for a mere $12 daily and it really opened up the very beautiful Lankawi island for us to go on daily, self controlled tours. We loved this feature very much and experienced almost all of Langkawi's tourist offerings, at our own leisure.Someplaces we stayed extra long and some of them we got out quick. You can't do that on an organized tour.

In closing....

When rating a hotel, the familiar saying of "you get what you pay for" has to be considered. we definitly felt we got great value for the $35 per night we paid.

Room Tip: Upper more modern rooms(left side) are brighter/cleaner than the darker/gloomer musty smelling room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Motel
Grand Beach Motel
#15 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#30 of 104 in Langkawi
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pondok Muara Chalet
Pondok Muara Chalet
#14 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#13 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Tanjung Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Tanjung Motel

Address: Temonyong, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melati Tanjung Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Melati Tanjung Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Tanjung Hotel Pantai Cenang
Melati Tanjung Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing