We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place and Receptionist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melati Tanjung Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melati Tanjung Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place and Receptionist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Check in and step in to the beach will be awesome. New building with reasonable price. Good shower and air-con room. Plus balcony facing to the beach make your day worth it.
The receptionist kind of friendly and talkative to entertain your need. Got storage place after check out and keep it for free. Forgot her name but the "glasses akak" should get compliment from management for her understanding service. We need more people like her. Overall the reception staff there very well welcoming. Keep it up for the ambassador service.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josedmohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
14
42
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We agree to stay.one month.in melati hotel instaed 140 RM we pay.120RM by night
Not one night my husband or.me.we.slept in one go. Soo noicy. They dont.have a nightgard so people from outside came in the middle of the night with motors or just drunk screaming having fun but not.funny for.us. Sometimes we had to ask them please be quite from 2/5am it went on and on. Instead they pay.a nightgard so people can have their sleep. Also the matrasspring made a little wound in my back. I put a pillow under. We didnt see any bugs in the matras but the matras was dirty. With the sheet on it lookes clean. Our little light was brokenthe second week and still till we check out they did not put another one
Aswell the cleaners dont speak any englisch. We had to clean our bed by ourselfs than we saw how dirty the matras was
They clean the bed 2 times in one month after asking and did not showed up. After all something positief the location is beautiful when u are on the right side We are easy going people not pickedy but they are only seeing $$$$$ not very symphatic

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo En Ingr... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pantai Cenang hotels

KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived in Langkawi on an off-peak season, so we decided to wing it on accommodations instead of pre-booking something, and Pantai Cenang was the most obvious answer for something cheap and available.

The cabbie initially recommended a different motel but the budget rooms there were booked out. We wandered about 300m down the road and found Melati Tanjung, which had budget rooms available for RM85/night. Seeing as how it came with either a double or twin-bed arrangement, air-conditioning, a tiny old-skool TV and hot shower, there were definitely worser options, even if these rooms were across the road from the beach.

A roll of toilet paper and two soaps were provided per room, and towels were available on the beds in the room itself.

The room was comfortable and secure, and the service staff were good. All in all, no complaints, although the room really is a budget, no-frills option.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are across the small street that runs between the accommodations and the beach. Worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We got two rooms next to each other without prebooking and had a fantastic beach view. The rooms were spacious and clean, although noone came to clean or make the bed at any time during our five night stay. Bed was comfy with great pillows.
Staff were not the most organized but we were able to stay an extra night in the same rooms which was great.
Location wise it was the best place in Langkawi!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GladerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had no booking at arrival in langkawi, so we decided to check out 8 different hotels in the same pricerange. We chose this one and were not dissapointed. We we're staying right at the beachfront and the room was fine. Agreed it was nothing special and the service quite ordinary, but we have to go above average due to this being the best choice out of 8.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trooper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Melati Tanjung Motel is far from luxury. In a few words - budget hotel, beachside, basic, clean. Despite their beachside rooms' "new" feel, the furnishing & amenities could do with some maintenance.

I upgraded from the budget rooms (across the street). Budget rooms were quite run down, badly maintained, and even a little creepy. The wall cracks & ceiling stains aren't visible in the pictures provided. The budget building is a standalone building down a dark street (across the beach). We said no thanks, and upgraded.

Things got much better in the seaview room (B307). Cleaner, newer, larger, great view with the beach at the doorstep. Nevertheless it had minor issues. Bathroom although looked good at first glance had minor issues. Slightly rusty towel rack, loose tap, stupid toilet cover which wouldn't stay up, etc. The bed was a little hard, and pillows too small. The centre of our bed frame was cracked (from too much "activity" presumably), so sitting at the edge of the bed resulted in us sinking down. Bed was a little hard for my liking, the pillow was "mushy" (for lack of a better word). They did have a spare pillow but removing the pillow case revealed it to be old and mouldy.

The bottom window railing was also bent out of shape, and the huge torrent of rain (typhoon maybe?) at night flooded the room and the desk (just under the window) where the only working power plug was located. Luckily I managed to wake up before any real damage occured.

Despite the little setbacks - the hotel's location cannot be beat, with restaurants, bars, minimarts, knick knack & souvenir stores galore all around it. The beach right outside your door is also fantastic! Also I didn't find the bar next to the hotel as loud as the other reviews say it is. Didn't have any trouble sleeping through it (alcohol helps).

Taking into a account that we had beachside rooms, the price was fair. Nevertheless, I probably wouldn't return. For the same price, I would rather walk a little further for a better maintained & more comfortable place.

Room Tip: High floors probably escape bar noise a little more. If it's raining heavily, grab a couple of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinlimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Melati Tanjung is in Pantai Cenang, the most popular area if you wanna party in Langkawi. It is far from giving you any luxury facilities, but it is close to the happening area -- in fact it is right next door. The bars and restaurants close by are pretty cool, but I see how it could be a bother for those looking for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms, as they are nicer, bigger and cleaner than the ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pantai Cenang hotels
0.0 mi away
Salsa Resort Langkawi
Salsa Resort Langkawi
#12 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cenang Memories Motel
Cenang Memories Motel
#7 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#10 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Tanjung Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Tanjung Motel

Property: Melati Tanjung Motel
Address: Temonyong, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melati Tanjung Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Melati Tanjung Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Tanjung Hotel Pantai Cenang
Melati Tanjung Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing