We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, cheap and near to langkawi attraction places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melati Tanjung Motel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Everything is fine except for the poor tv reception. The beach is near and near to restaurants and mall. Best stay here for beach activities, kids attraction at the underwater world. The cable car is also just 20mins away.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank shahydnadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Check in and step in to the beach will be awesome. New building with reasonable price. Good shower and air-con room. Plus balcony facing to the beach make your day worth it.
The receptionist kind of friendly and talkative to entertain your need. Got storage place after check out and keep it for free. Forgot her name but the "glasses akak" should get compliment from management for her understanding service. We need more people like her. Overall the reception staff there very well welcoming. Keep it up for the ambassador service.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josedmohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We agree to stay.one month.in melati hotel instaed 140 RM we pay.120RM by night
Not one night my husband or.me.we.slept in one go. Soo noicy. They dont.have a nightgard so people from outside came in the middle of the night with motors or just drunk screaming having fun but not.funny for.us. Sometimes we had to ask them please be quite from 2/5am it went on and on. Instead they pay.a nightgard so people can have their sleep. Also the matrasspring made a little wound in my back. I put a pillow under. We didnt see any bugs in the matras but the matras was dirty. With the sheet on it lookes clean. Our little light was brokenthe second week and still till we check out they did not put another one
Aswell the cleaners dont speak any englisch. We had to clean our bed by ourselfs than we saw how dirty the matras was
They clean the bed 2 times in one month after asking and did not showed up. After all something positief the location is beautiful when u are on the right side We are easy going people not pickedy but they are only seeing $$$$$ not very symphatic

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eduardo En Ingr... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived in Langkawi on an off-peak season, so we decided to wing it on accommodations instead of pre-booking something, and Pantai Cenang was the most obvious answer for something cheap and available.

The cabbie initially recommended a different motel but the budget rooms there were booked out. We wandered about 300m down the road and found Melati Tanjung, which had budget rooms available for RM85/night. Seeing as how it came with either a double or twin-bed arrangement, air-conditioning, a tiny old-skool TV and hot shower, there were definitely worser options, even if these rooms were across the road from the beach.

A roll of toilet paper and two soaps were provided per room, and towels were available on the beds in the room itself.

The room was comfortable and secure, and the service staff were good. All in all, no complaints, although the room really is a budget, no-frills option.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are across the small street that runs between the accommodations and the beach. Worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We got two rooms next to each other without prebooking and had a fantastic beach view. The rooms were spacious and clean, although noone came to clean or make the bed at any time during our five night stay. Bed was comfy with great pillows.
Staff were not the most organized but we were able to stay an extra night in the same rooms which was great.
Location wise it was the best place in Langkawi!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank GladerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had no booking at arrival in langkawi, so we decided to check out 8 different hotels in the same pricerange. We chose this one and were not dissapointed. We we're staying right at the beachfront and the room was fine. Agreed it was nothing special and the service quite ordinary, but we have to go above average due to this being the best choice out of 8.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trooper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Melati Tanjung Motel is far from luxury. In a few words - budget hotel, beachside, basic, clean. Despite their beachside rooms' "new" feel, the furnishing & amenities could do with some maintenance.

I upgraded from the budget rooms (across the street). Budget rooms were quite run down, badly maintained, and even a little creepy. The wall cracks & ceiling stains aren't visible in the pictures provided. The budget building is a standalone building down a dark street (across the beach). We said no thanks, and upgraded.

Things got much better in the seaview room (B307). Cleaner, newer, larger, great view with the beach at the doorstep. Nevertheless it had minor issues. Bathroom although looked good at first glance had minor issues. Slightly rusty towel rack, loose tap, stupid toilet cover which wouldn't stay up, etc. The bed was a little hard, and pillows too small. The centre of our bed frame was cracked (from too much "activity" presumably), so sitting at the edge of the bed resulted in us sinking down. Bed was a little hard for my liking, the pillow was "mushy" (for lack of a better word). They did have a spare pillow but removing the pillow case revealed it to be old and mouldy.

The bottom window railing was also bent out of shape, and the huge torrent of rain (typhoon maybe?) at night flooded the room and the desk (just under the window) where the only working power plug was located. Luckily I managed to wake up before any real damage occured.

Despite the little setbacks - the hotel's location cannot be beat, with restaurants, bars, minimarts, knick knack & souvenir stores galore all around it. The beach right outside your door is also fantastic! Also I didn't find the bar next to the hotel as loud as the other reviews say it is. Didn't have any trouble sleeping through it (alcohol helps).

Taking into a account that we had beachside rooms, the price was fair. Nevertheless, I probably wouldn't return. For the same price, I would rather walk a little further for a better maintained & more comfortable place.

Room Tip: High floors probably escape bar noise a little more. If it's raining heavily, grab a couple of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinlimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#28 of 104 in Langkawi
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#13 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Tanjung Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Tanjung Motel

Address: Temonyong, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melati Tanjung Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Melati Tanjung Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Tanjung Hotel Pantai Cenang
Melati Tanjung Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing