We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a terrible state”
Review of Hotel Enigma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Enigma
Ranked #12 of 18 Zabljak B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel is in a terrible state and definitely overprices for what it offers. Everything is dirty and/or broken (bathrooms, beds, bed linen, light, TV). Staff although friendly, absolutely desinterested. Breakfast tasteless and of a very doubtful quality. Located far from the village centre. NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel staff were generally friendly but had no concept of an internet booking so weren't expecting us. We were there for 4 nights but they still put us in a small room on the top floor. The bathroom had a horrible smell of drains and the desk draw had an almost empty bottle of methadone in it!

The resaurant area had been nicely refurbished (very expensive by local standards) but the rest of the hotel is in dire need of a major refit.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, there are plenty of nice looking hotels in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The worst experience i have ever had...When we arrived{so hard to find it,many calls to the hotel}, they rold us that they didn't have a room to stay,so they moved us into a house that was FOR SALE!!!Yes,an old house,dirty with old furniture,that had a big sign outside it ''FOR SALE''!!!!WE COULD BELIEVE THAT!!! A V O I D !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Quite possibly the worst hotel we nearly stayed in. We were promised an apartment with a double room and 2 single rooms, which was necessary as we have older teenage boy and girl. The room was the one at the top of the hotel (lift broken) with a double room and single attached with no door. It was filthy with burn marks on the carpet, plaster falling off the walls and bare electrical wires sticking out of the walls. We decided not to stay and went to get our money back. The receptionist was helpful but embarrassed, as this was obviously not the first time this had happened. The owner suddenly couldn't speak and tried to hide in the kitchen. We are lucky that my wife is Australian and is not easily put off. She chased him around the kitchen and a half-full restaurant until he coughed up.
This place is a disgrace to an otherwise proud and respectable country and is not only unsuitable but dangerous.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maxwellmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The hotel wasn't the greatest, though having seen the town there don't seem to be all that many alternatives.

On the upside:

- The room was clean - bedding, towels looked new, the bathroom was spotless. The carpet was stained, but being cream it probably just showed use more than a darker carpet that other hotels might use - it's probably as clean as that of any other good hotel.
- The room had a nice balcony (granted, it overlooked a bit of a building site, but looking past that you see the mountains).
- The staff at recpetion were both incredibly friendly and helpful. They also organised rafting for us.
- Walls are thin - noise carries.

On the downside:

- The water supply dried up completely about 10pm (no water in the sink or shower - toilet still flushed though) so bring some bottled water - we were parched all night!
- The shower support was broken so you had to hand hold it which was a bit awkward.
- Breakfast was ok but not brilliant - terrible coffee - orange juice is actually orange squash. They allow smoking at breakfast which, if you're a non-smoker, can be hard to stomach first thing in the morning when everyone's at it. The breakfast waiting staff were unhelpful and unfriendly.

We ended up spending only 1 night instead of 2, but that was more because there was less to do in the area than we had thought - the rafting was fun but there doesn't seem to be much going on in the area. National Restaurant was probably the best food we ate our whole 10 days in Croatia and Montenegro though, so if you're staying at Hotel Enigma, definitely stop by there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItchyFootTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

The marketing of this hotel locally is very good - we saw leaflets everywhere, but it didn't live up to its promise, nor its price. Sheets, basin, and toilet were clean, but the floors were filthy, both the carpet in the bedroom and the floor of the shower-room. The shower was broken in both of our rooms, and this was clearly known to the management, as evidenced by the attempt to repair them with some black tape. The TV in one of the rooms had obviously fallen off the wall at some stage and been moved, leaving gaping holes in the plaster. The TV aerial didn't work, and the manager came to fiddle about with a screw driver, but gave up with a shrug, saying 'problem'. It was clear that this too was not a new problem. The TV in the other room was just about watchable through the 'snow'.
We didn't eat there because judging by the rooms, we didn't feel we would get a good result.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LadyRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

The Hotel Enigma is now into its second season and was a good find as the other choices in Zabljak are poor. There are a number of small hotels (e.g. the MB & Javor) and whilst these are clean and friendly, they suffer from a water shortage between certain hours. The other big hotels are showing their age and need to be refurbished.
The Enigma is a modern hotel on the outskirts of this small town with basic but clean rooms, most with Balconies. Would recommend booking during the busy season as the hotel advise that the majority of guests are walking tour groups and it is not a big hotel (20ish rooms), so fills up.
Would recommend the restaurant - portions huge and very tasty food. Have the mushrooms if in season.
The receptionist Rose speaks good english as did one of the waiters.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zabljak hotels
0 mi away
Golubovic Apartments
Golubovic Apartments
#14 of 63 in Zabljak
5 reviews
0 mi away
Apartmani Sobe Sljivancanin
Apartmani Sobe Sljivancanin
#10 of 18 in Zabljak
5 reviews
0 mi away
Apartments and Rooms Taverna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Lovac
Hotel Lovac
#33 of 63 in Zabljak
10 reviews
0 mi away
Sepic Accommodation
Sepic Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Zabljak
29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Soa
Hotel Soa
#1 of 18 in Zabljak
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Enigma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Enigma

Address: Zmajeva bb, Zabljak, Durmitor National Park, Zabljak Municipality 84220, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Zabljak Municipality > Durmitor National Park > Zabljak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Zabljak
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Enigma 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Enigma is a recently-opened hotel in Zabljak, 1200m from the centre of town in the direction of Pljevlja. This three star hotel is a small building, in the style of an old Montenegrin house - idyllic scenery for snowy days. Hotel Enigma has a restaurant with a fire place that offers traditional tasty northern Montenegrin cuisine. The hotel organizes different kind of activities for its guests like rafting, hiking, fishing, bird watching etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Enigma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing