We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifull hotel”
Review of Hotel Leyenda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Leyenda
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel is about 2 km from the beautifull beach Carrillo. They have a shuttle service and a service on the beach with chairs, bathroom etc. The hotel is small and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast is great and also the food in the restaurant is very good. Big rooms with airco and tv. A small kitchenette with a coffemaker and a microwave. A nice swimmingpool and a sportscafe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Esperamos nos visite pronto, ahora con una nueva administración.
Gracia por su preferencia.
saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a great experience. Good spacious and clean rooms with a kitchenette. Nice pool with terrace and bar,. Beautiful garden. The staff is very friendly. Shuttleservice to the beach. Lunch and dinner in the hotel is amazingly good!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Svintha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thanks for your good reviews
We hope you visit us again for your next vacations

Thanks for your preference

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel Layenda is a nice hotel. Breakfast is great and it typical. it's not the cheapest place around but the price is about right for the area. There is a shuttle bus that brings you to Playa Carrillo, one of the nicest quietest beaches in the area which is great. I recommend you have a car or some form of travel as you will need to drive to most of your restaurants etc..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thanks for your good reviews
We hope you visit us again, now managed by new owners.

Thanks in advance for your preference

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed in La Leyenda for 5 nights and couldn't have enjoyed my time there more. Upon walking into the hotel I felt immediately comfortable because of the warm welcome by the staff and the clean and well maintained environment. Everyone there from the drivers to the waiters to the managers of the hotel went out of their way to help me with every need. One major highlight of La Leyenda is the FOOD. There were a lot of options, even for me as a vegetarian. They actually prepared a few special requests I made that were not on the menu. I should mention that I was incredibly relieved to find this place after passing a horrible night in another supposedly luxury hotel in the area, El Guanamar (don't go there). One thing to note is that Playa Carrillo is a natural reserve. There are laws to protect building hotels right on the beach. La Leyenda is located about a mile from the beach, although they have come up with a convenient way to bring the hotel to the beach. They have free transport there any time of day and they also have a trailer set up there that has beach chairs and food service. The only hotel that has a view of the beach is El Guanamar, which I suppose was built before the law went into effect. Unfortunately, the view is the only thing they have going for them (again, don't go there).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarieM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Marie
Thanks for taking your time to give us this good reviews.
We hope you visit us again for your next vacations and anjoy our services, now managed by new owners.

Thanks in advance for your preference
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A friend recommended Leyenda and so I booked my family of 5 and a friend for 3 nights to have fun on beach. We ended up spending much more time around the hotel than we expected because of the large pools, the tasty food at the restaurant and friendly staff. Carrillo beach is gorgeous and there are no hotels along the bay. The hotel runs a regular shuttle to Carrillo beach and they set up a trailer with an attendant who provided us cots, a shower and a place to store our valuables. The waves are also not large, which was perfect for our young family. We consider this hotel and the beach a lucky “find”.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue River R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Guest
Thanks for your good reviews, we hope you visit us again, Will be nice to see you again in Hotel Leyenda, now managed by new owners.

Thanks for your preference
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I think one would have to be very picky or be a hard to please person to not feel comfortable in this hotel. The building does not look abandoned like the previous reviewer mentions, the pool was cristal clear and with a perfect temperarue. Staff is friendly and curteous and the food is downright delicious and with fair prices. We even brought along our own wine which they uncorked in the restaurant with any extra charge, contrary to other hotels. We enjoyed our brief stay which was mainly for business since we live in Costa Rica and fell in love with Carrillo Beach and decided to return to the area and buy a small property in the residential project the hotel owner is involved in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisselle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Upon arriving at this establishment I was deeply disappointed,it looks like an abandoned building from the front, the rooms are ok, but spacious and clean, the pool is Hirt on lounge chairs and not too clean(dead leaves on bottom lots floating and bottom of pools feels a little slimy), the restaurant offers good food and is reasonably priced, the staff is a little noisy, but very friendly and helpful, the shuttle to the beach is great and it can also take you into samara. After I calmed down from my disappointment I realized that this place is actually quite nice. It is basically quiet, peaceful and comfortable. It is not the Ritz ( no one to carry your luggage), but I would recommend to stay here if you want quiet. Keep in mind this does seem to be a family place , so if you don't like the noise of children Leyenda may not be for you. For ourselves the kids did not seem to bother us.

Room Tip: Rooms attached to the reception area facing the pool with a patio were good. You could see your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertoiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.2 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
284 reviews
15.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leyenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leyenda

Address: 1 Kilometro al Este de la Plaza de Deportes de Puerto Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 291-3100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: £59 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leyenda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leyenda is located at Carrillo Beach, the white sand beach and gorgeous palms, Guanacaste. Enjoy the hotel's Mediterranean architecture and its entertainment area, featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, playground and private parking. 11 Superior rooms, luxuriously equipped with 2 queen beds, fab, a/c, beautiful outside porch, satellite TV and amenities. Five Superior rooms include kitchenette. Also available Internet access.Enjoy our very exclusive service for our exclusive guests! We offer mobile units including restrooms, sinks, showers, dressing rooms, lockers, safety box, beach chairs and umbrellas, awnings and sports equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leyenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leyenda Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing