We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and very beautiful area to visit. ”
Review of Hotel Leyenda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leyenda
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the food and their interest in helping us. A couple of miles from Carrillo Beach, beautifull place to relax, snorkel and walk. We took the local bus to Samara, the closer city if you are interested in dancing or having dinner/ drinks in the beach.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linacsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario
Para nosotros es de gran satisfaccion saber que su estadia ha sido placentera.
Esperamos volver a tenerle en nuestro hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel with a Living Social deal & our expectations were exceeded. The hotel rooms are very clean, were a bigger size, ours had a full kitchen & fridge - which came in handy to keep drinks cold & cut up fruit we bought from local vendors. I believe they only have 11 or so hotel rooms but the pool & relaxation area (hammocks) are large. It looks like a 4-5 star resort in the back with beautiful trees & flowers. Because it is smaller, everyone that works at the resort knows who you are & tries their best to take good care of you.

Howler monkeys showed up one morning in the tree just outside our hotel room & stayed for several hours. It was so cool to be so close to them!

This would be a great hotel for families - there is a shallow kids pool & the main pool has about half as a shallow end. There is also a swingset, playhouse & trampoline there for the kids.

The staff in every area of the hotel are fantastic! Roger at the front desk has very good English & is very helpful.
We ate most of our meals at the hotel as it was always fresh, tasty, & displayed so fancy on the plate. Prices were reasonable for the area. We always ate lunch at the pool. The waiters always put down place mats at your table & brought drinks with star fruit slices on them. It felt like the royal treatment.

While we were there, they opened their wood oven pizzeria. The new owners (as of Sept 2013) are from Italy & the pizza tastes exactly like something you would have in Italy. It is a bit overpriced but very tasty. When we were leaving, they were building a big outdoor BBQ.

We saw the new owners (2 parents & their grown kids & one of their newborns) working very hard all day everyday trying to improve things. Although they did not speak English they were very friendly & always stopped to say hello.

I would highly recommend this hotel. We are planning to return with our kids. You will not be disappointed!

They also offer a free shuttle to the beach & have a truck at the beach that has chairs & lying down chairs & can deliver food from the hotel to you. We just never used that service.

Last - Wingnuts zip tour was awesome! Tico's Surf School kayak tour was awful & a waste of money

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MELANIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario.
Ha sido de gran satisfaccion saber que haya sido de su agrado la estadía en nuestro hotel ya que nuestra principal meta es hacer que el cliente reciba un buen servicio y un ambiente agradable como merece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We planned our trip through Living Social Deals. We didn't know what to expect since it was our first time in Costa Rica and traveling through a deals website but it was such a wonderful trip!! We were nervous about getting to the hotel from the airport but that was very easy with no stress. The only stressful thing about the trip was from Budget Rental (word of advice, do your research about the credit card payment and insurance).

From the moment we arrived the hotel staff was AMAZING, we were actually put in one of the suits, which was a great surprise. Staying at this hotel made us feel like we got the best of both worlds. The Playa Carillo beach is one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen, the locals will even say that! With having a car, we were able to go into Samara whenever we wanted which was great. I would describe Samara as a "hipster/surf town", it's where the night life is and we felt completely safe. There were other beaches near by that we traveled to (sea turtles) and there are waterfalls that if you ask the Samara info center, they will draw you a map :) You can even jump off a cliff and swim in the rock pools. If you like fishing, don't waste your time buying the expensive charters...get to know the locals, they are friendly and love to take people out if you spot them some cash. We actually ended up catching a Mahi Mahi and Red Snapper!! The best part was, is that when we brought it back the hotel cooked us an amazing meal...preparing it many different ways. All and all, this was a trip that gave us amazing memories and we would definitely come back someday!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torkelsock23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario en especial decirle que nos hace sentir orgullosos que hayamos superados sus expectativas precisamente nuestra meta es esa poder brindarle un buen servicio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Leyenda and the experience has been just wounderful. Since our arrival, staff has been very nice and charming and we felt like at home. Manager were always ready to provide any help to improve our stay and meet our requests. Definitively, as other travellers have already wrote, people make a difference here! Josephine, Laura, Roger, Henry and all the others are an example of really tireless dedicated staff. At the restaurant, staff was always keen to accomadate our requests to modify dishes according to the needs of our young child and providing also options outside the menu. We stayed in a room at the first floor, overlooking the pool. It was spacious and clean. The pool was also very nice. The beach service to Playa Carrillo is excellent providing chairs (free) and cold drinks (obviously to be paid). I hope to come back soon to the Hotel Leyenda and definitvely I warmly recommend it to other travellers. Excellent stay, excellent experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarioZ_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario
Nos hace sentir gran satisfaccion poder haberle brindado un buen servicio
esperamos volver a tenerle en nuestro hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

People make the difference here. Roger at the front desk went out of his way to accommodate our requests, even finding us a different room so ours could be fumigated when insects were a problem. The wait staff in the restaurant was fabulous, although the menu options for the Living Social voucher were quite limited. We often ordered from the main menu. Bus service to Samara is convenient, or a taxi is cheap so you can get by without a car. Playa Carrillo is spectacular with warm water, cool breezes, and available shade. If you want additional specific advice about the region, contact Brenda in the Samara Information Office.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Saludos
Estimado cliente lamentamos mucho lo de los insectos en su habitacion esto a nuestro alrededor se hace normal por ser nuestro pais de clima tropical pero igualmente lo tomamos en consideracion asi como tambien agregar mas opciones al menu referido.
esperamos de nuevo su visita y agradecemos profundamente su comentario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

As others have commented, the Leyenda is not much to look at from the street side, but once inside you are in a hidden gem. The gardens are beautiful, the pool very large and clean and the staff extremely friendly. Laura, one of the Italian family members who apperently own the hotel was very helpful and friendly. We stayed there 3 nights.

Indeed the Leyenda is not close to the beach, but if you have a car this is no problem at all and the hotel also runs a shuttle service. Carillo beach is one of the most beautiful, beaches we have ever seen. It is very good that the government does not allow any building there. Such a (5 km) strech of beach would attract tens of thousands of visitors if it was in Europe. Over this stretch we counted less than 100 people, one of them being a female saxophone player who was there 3 days in a row practicing her music.

The Leyenda was well above expectation. The only comments we would have is that it was somewhat noisy: The first night a young group, who occupied an adjacent private complex played house-music until 1:30 in the night and the owners were not too silent as well. However, the beauty of the place, the swimmingpool, nice breakfasts and dinners certainly compensated for this.

Our room was spacious and clean, but a bit dark. Some more lighting would be recommendable. Thanks again to lovely Laura, Henry and all the other staff members.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too close to the reception if you need a quiet place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario especialmente la descripcion de como usted nos considera una joya escondida y nos sentimos complacidos que haya disfrutado su estancia.
Tomaremos en cuenta su comentario con respecto de mas iluminacion en las habitaciones.

Mil gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a lovely stay. The place is well maintained and rooms are clean. Staff is very helpful.
As soon as you call, someone will come right away fix your problem. The hotel is very quiet, so it's perfect when you want to relax. Also, the pool is huge and as a swimmer, I enjoyed making laps everyday. A special thank you to Henry & Louis for all their help to make our stay comfortable & relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteLLeyenda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

All our staff thanks you, especially Henry and Louis.
We really appreciate all your good comments.

Sincerely,

Hotel Leyenda Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.2 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
145 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
285 reviews
15.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leyenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leyenda

Address: 1 Kilometro al Este de la Plaza de Deportes de Puerto Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 291-3100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leyenda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leyenda is located at Carrillo Beach, the white sand beach and gorgeous palms, Guanacaste. Enjoy the hotel's Mediterranean architecture and its entertainment area, featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, playground and private parking. 11 Superior rooms, luxuriously equipped with 2 queen beds, fab, a/c, beautiful outside porch, satellite TV and amenities. Five Superior rooms include kitchenette. Also available Internet access.Enjoy our very exclusive service for our exclusive guests! We offer mobile units including restrooms, sinks, showers, dressing rooms, lockers, safety box, beach chairs and umbrellas, awnings and sports equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leyenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leyenda Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing