We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a chance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Give it a chance!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Initial reaction upon seeing room was not good. Concrete floors and dirty rug and dirty drapes, But it's he property itself that does have some charm. Simple accommodations , great for just passing thru.
Pros, best margaritas, short walk to best beach, playa Carrillo, great breakfasts included in a value priced offering. with some small investment of window coverings and flooring, this could be a great place. Try dinner in Samara at el Alancar on the beach.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have tiled floors, ask for the most updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It is a relatively small hotel (14 rooms) however it has all what you need, it is run by its new owner and is like being at home, service is intended to be very pesonalized, it is great for families. Hotel is walking distance to Carrillo beach (0.3 miles) but if you do not feel like going to the beach it has a nice pool, big enough for full occupancy. Food is great and prices are very low compared to other hotels/restaurants in the area. Room had A/C, 2 double beds, Cable TV, WiFi. There is room for improvement in few ares however it is the best option I found in the area: $ versus what you receive as a customer. Great job!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Overall a great hotel, great food, super clean!
My family and i stayed for 3 nights, and my 4year old kid said "this was my best vacation ever"!
Big pool and great for relax
Not far from the beach, (10 minutes walking distance)
I will come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlizanox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Carrillo is one of our favorite beaches and we wanted to stay at a hotel close to the beach, clean, and most importantly with AC since we have a 3year old. And we found all this and more in Hacienda del Mar. Check-in was quick and easy. Hotel Service was awesome! From the person in reception, to the cleaning lady, to the waiters at the restaurant. Everyone was so friendly, we felt like at home. Rooms were very clean and organized. Not a spot on the walls. Very nice furniture inside each room. Beds were very comfortable with 4 pillows!. AC was a litlle noisy but worked perfectly. Hotel is definately well maintained. The pool is great. Just have to be careful with steps not visible within the pool. FOOD IS DELICIOUS! Breakfast was included and the best thing is you could choose whatever you wanted from the menu. We happend to also have lunch and dinner the days we stayed and both were amazing! Our daughter was given crayons and coloring pages meanwhile we waited for our food! (Details make a difference). Best of all was THE PRICE! We FULLY recommend this beautiful hotel! And we will definately come back!.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heredia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hotel service is great. Very friendly and family type service. Hotel is located close to a very beatiful beach. Rooms are nice. Hotel in general is well maintained. The beach club is great and has restrooms and showers. A/C is noisy and pool need some cleanning. In general the hotel is great value. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tico-Herediano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Carrillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Mar

Property: Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Address: 400 mtrs Este de playa carrillo, Playa Carrillo 474-3100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 500m one of the most beautiful beaches in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. It has been distinguished with the blue flag award (water quality and clean beach shore). Our Hotel is based on the old architecture of large hacienda houses from the rural part of Costa Rica. Come experience some of our local flora and fauna surrounding our facility along with a beautiful pool area. Visit our convenient on-site restaurant featuring local and international flavours dishes.. Come and enjoy our fantastic food, drink and hospitality today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Del Mar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing