We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding host; Uncomfortable room”
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Esperanza
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Dennis was a very good host. He extended himself in many ways to make us comfortable - the hanging rack for our clothes, a cooler to bring to the beach, the use of the fridge for our leftovers. He also makes excellent french toast! We truly appreciate his hospitality. My kids loved the small but fun pool.

I can't give it a higher rating, however, because we found the cost was way too high for the quality of the amenities. We paid around $145 per night. Other hotels we stayed at throughout CR were more spacious and more comfortable for 30-40% less cost. Our room was very tight (one had to walk sideways between the bed and the closet/ very little room between foot of the beds and the wall), the stuffing was coming out of a torn pillow, there were several oil stains on the bedding, the sheets were scratchy, the room was very stuffy (and the fan wobbly and noisy, so it kept us up at night), brochures and menus in the lobby were mildewy, and there were unfilled cracks in the bathroom wall. We're really not that picky - we stayed at many simple but wonderful places in CR with fewer amenities but that were a better value. This hotel has great potential, but needs upgrades in bedding quality, room layout, and ventilation for the price point.

Other tips: Playa Carrillo is a gorgeous beach worth visiting. We had to drive to Samara (10-15 minute drive) for meals because Carrillo had very few restaurants open while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danna_G4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, Owner at Hotel Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

In the hospitality business from time to time you will have clients that totally surprise you with undeserved comments such as in this review. As the owner and manager of Hotel Esperanza I find this review to be offensive and lacking in all the true facts. I take great pride in our product; attention to service we provide for every guest of Hotel Esperanza. We provide a thoroughly clean and sanitary room and hotel in all areas. I personally inspect every room before a guest’s arrival to insure it is ready for the client by testing all remotes and room amenities such as fans, lights, etc. It is our standard routine to change and launder the bed comforters every time a client leaves. If a bed comforter has stains it is usually caused by the clients eating in the room or more often by children of the clients. If the comforter cannot be cleaned of stains it is discarded. I can assure you that the bed comforters do not have oil or food stains before a client arrives. Bed linen is changed every 3 days or more often if the client desires. It is my personal guarantee that you will not find a cleaner hotel room in all of Costa Rica.
In my response to this review it is not my objective to belittle or bash this client, only to tell all the true facts in defense of my hotel and staff, concerning our standard practices and policies. I do greatly appreciate valid and true comments that will assist us in doing a better job for future clients, but I do not appreciate or accept exaggerated untruths. I stand very proudly on the vast majority of our previous reviews posted that dispute these comments with the praise of how clean our hotel is, the comfort of our beds, and the attention we give to all our clients requests.
In addressing the issues of this review concerning the cost per night: Our rates are clearly posted on our (Rooms & Rates) page of our website and photos of our rooms and sizes are also posted. All photos and information posted on our website is current. As in this booking, every client that books with Hotel Esperanza receives a confirmation email of arrival and departure dates, total room costs including taxes and complimentary American breakfast, and any discounted or special rate offers. There are no surprises or changes when you arrive at Hotel Esperanza. As posted on our website and in this case, the rate for a family of 4 with children over the ages of 5 years is $141.25 not $145.00. As In all our bookings and in this booking, the client was offered a discounted price of $125.00 upon arrival if paid in Cash of which they accepted. This family also booked 3 nights, but after a very hearty breakfast on the third day informed me that they were leaving and stated that there was nothing wrong with their room, the hotel, with me or my staff, only that they just wanted to explore other parts of Costa Rica. There was no charge applied for the third day that was booked. In the majority of times in Costa Rica the client will be required to pay for every day they have booked. This client was charged the normal rate of $141.25 because they did not have the cash to pay the $125.00 room charges in cash that they had previously accepted upon arrival. As with this client, it is my and my staffs’ policy to ask the client at various times during their stay if there is anything they need or if we can do anything to make their stay more pleasant or comfortable. Absolutely none of these issues were ever brought to our attention when asked. Here at Esperanza, we have an unconditional guarantee that if you arrive here and find our hotel different from our website or different from your confirmed reservation, we will release you of any financial obligation and assist you in finding another location that will suit your needs.
If our bed linen is worn or torn it is discarded and replaced with new. Our mattresses are double pillow top Posturepedic mattresses that offer a good night’s sleep. As for the room being stuffy, all our rooms are equipped with air conditioning for the clients comfort. At the end of July and the first part of August we are in Green Season and this is Costa Rica. Costa Rica is a very humid country and the humidity is at its highest level in Green season which starts the first of August. As for the menus in the lobby, when you have the high humidity as we do in Costa Rica, plastic covered pages will absorb water from the air. I find this true in all countries when it comes to high humidity, open air areas and paper. All menus are provided to us from the restaurants around us. Upon receipt of this review, I immediately previewed the room and found truth in that the pillow did have a very small tear. I totally find this review untruthful and absolutely unjustified and encourage all who are inclined to have a swift pen to give your host a fair chance in resolving your issues. How can you expect a host to correct a problem if you do not give them the opportunity or at the least the notice of a problem? I also encourage all who write reviews to include all the true facts not just the ones you want to tell. In most cases readers can usually determine where the true problem lies by the majority of the reviews posted and your comments. It is and will always be our goal to provide our clients with a premium product and the best of services that can possibly be given. Unfortunately I cannot justify remodeling my hotel to satisfy a certain type of client when our reviews state otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Esperanza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is clean, affordable and the owner, Dennis, is vey helpful. My wife and I had a great time and if we come back to Carrillo, we will stay here. Dennis arranged our horeback riding adventure.Reasonably priced! The views were amazing. Playa Carrillo was incredibly hot and we were glad the AC was working at the hotel. The pool was small but that was perfect for us. Thanks for the warm hospitality!

Room Tip: Ask about the unadvertised specials!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayA687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We loved staying at this hotel! Dennis (the owner and ex-pat) is so friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has 7 rooms, all along one corridor. The rooms are small, but very functional and have air conditioning, electricity, and hot water. The pool is small, but perfect to cool off in the mid afternoon heat. The televisions are not hooked up to any satellite or cable, but Dennis has hundreds of movies, if you can find the time to watch one. You are about a 2 minute drive, or 8 minute walk to playa carrillo. Playa Carrillo is one of our favorite beaches in the world. It is clean, lots of natural shade from palm trees, and there's no one there! One of the neat things about this hotel was the clientele. Each day we would go to the beach, hang out at the pool, go to dinner, then sit outside at night with other guests and chat. This truly made the hotel unique and fun. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzgreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Dennis, the owner of Hotel Esperanza, was the single friendliest host of a hotel on our entire trip (we stayed in 12 different places – all of them good!) in Costa Rica. He really made his home our home –we were able to use his refrigerator to store a few items, he engaged our 5-year-old son playing in his multiple pools, let our son “help” him sweeping and cleaning around the property, he served us wonderful breakfasts, made sure our room was comfortable, dug up a soft-sided cooler that we used when we went to the beach (Playa Carrillo); he even gave us a ride back to Samara – to a hotel there – since he needed to run errands. It should be said that the hotel wasn’t busy when we were there and he would potentially have had lots of time to devote to us, but we think that Dennis would be just as personable and helpful with a full house (about 8 rooms) as with 2 rooms full. Dennis recommended two great places to eat – a super close pizza & pasta place called El Tucan (really good, run by an Italian-born owner) and a small resort – the Hotel Leyenda, about 2 km down the road. We expected that we might be “gouged” a bit at Leyenda– just the opposite. The prices were very reasonable, the food was delicious and there was a trampoline and a swing set/slide that our son greatly enjoyed. Thank you so much, Dennis, for a wonderful 3 days at the Hotel Esperanza! (J.B. and his proud new owner send you a big “hello!”)

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JBandToofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My Husband and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Esperanza. Our room was very clean with a rich, Bombay type decor. The showers were hot and had plenty of pressure. A delicious complimentary breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, eggs, French toast, and the best gallo pinto around was also offered with our stay. The pool at the hotel was great for cooling off and relaxing. A short 5 minute walk from the hotel is Playa Carrillo - a pristine, beautiful beach perfect for swimming. Above all, the hospitality is what will keep us returning to this little hotel. Dennis (Owner) and Annie (Hotel Keeper) were beyond warm and welcoming and were always willing to do whatever they could to make our trip as special as possible. I would highly recommend staying here.
Wendy & Kevin Jones

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRBound_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed 3 nights along with my family, we had a great time there. This hotel is clean, with excellent location. Carrillo is one of the best beaches in CR.
If we had the opportunity of going there again, we would definitely go to Esperanza Hotel again. Dennis is the owner of this place, he is a very nice guy, any conversation with him will be interesting.
Great place, we are looking forward to go to Carrillo again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. It's minutes away from a beautiful and quiet beach and the pool is refreshing and pretty.
Dennis is a great host, very accommodating and helpful. My husband got sick during out stay and he helped us with everything. He is such a nice guy and will do anything to accommodate his guests.
Breakfast was good and plentiful, and Dennis' recommendations for restaurants hit the mark every time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esperanza 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing