We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esperanza
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very Satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Esperanza in Playa Carrillo for 2 nights and were very happy with our decision to stay here while visiting Carrillo. Dennis and Kattia were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Dennis was always available to help us with directions or recommendations for local activities or restuarants. The location was a short walk to the beach, the website is very accurate for the proximity to the beach. This can be very helpful if you don't have a car. The room was very comfortable, with good AC to escape the brutal midday heat and warm water, which we found at other hotels is not always present even if advertised. The bed was extremely comfortable, much better than other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica. The hotel was conveniently located to restaurants and although it is along a main road, we never heard traffic noises from our room. If comparing to other hotels, almost all the other hotels we saw in the area were along a main road and required a walk up or down a hill to access the beach, although most other hotels were further away from the beach than Esperanza. In closing, although this hotel doesn't have the best view of the ocean, it is by far worth its value for the personalized attention you will receive to help you feel at home while you away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
93
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Dennis was very helpful in arranging our trip but the hotel didnt live up to the description. It is not 2 minutes from the beach, maybe 5 there downhill but considerably more back up 2 steep hills. The beach is spectacular though. Dennis was away during our trip and Kattia does not speak English which made life difficult. The rooms are adequate but face onto quite a busy road. There is no restaurant although this was advertised, and not cheap at $120. There are better hotels nearby at less cost. The breakfasts were OK and eggs well cooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePFelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, Owner at Hotel Esperanza, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
SURPRISED AND DISAPPOINTED … This is all I can say for this review. First off the hotel was no different than described in our website or my emails to this client. I am extremely careful not to mislead any clients with false statements or information. To correct the false statements in this review, the client was informed that the hotel was a 4 to 5 minute walk down a steep hill to the first part of a 2 K long beach. If you have a car as in the case of this client, it is no more than a 1 minute drive down the hill. The client was informed at three different times in emails before arrival that I would not be at the hotel to greet them. As for my wife Kattia not speaking English, this is a Latin country and I fail to see why or how this could be an issue when one person in the party actually did speak enough Spanish to communicate. The vast majority of hotels in Costa Rica either front roads or are in close proximity of roads. This is how it is done in Costa Rica. The client was informed that our Restaurant was closed, but there are 2 Restaurants next door to the hotel, and numerous Restaurants within a short walking distance from our hotel. As for the price, the client was given a discounted rate for 8 days of $97.88 per night including all taxes and full Breakfast, NOT $120.00. The client was not charged for the 5 days left on his reservation after he informed us that he wanted to move on and see other parts of Costa Rica and only paid for 3 nights. I find it incredibly sad when clients choose to falsify statements with no regard as to how it will affect a Hotel’s future business. We are a Hotel that takes great pride in how we treat and provide services for our clients, especially our honesty. The (Glowing Reviews) are true and we work very hard with honesty to earn all the (Glowing Reviews). This is an extremely difficult business to make every guest Happy, but it is our ultimate goal from the first contact we have with our clients as was in this case that they are Happy and satisfied when they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from Carrillo beach, it is a quite area, away from the street noise. It is extremely cosy and with an environment suited for families. The personalized attention from Dennis and Kattia is a very special detail that welcomes me to return. The food is spectacular, specially the breakfasts. I felt in love with Carrillo Beach, and every single time that I get back to this beach, I will always stat at the Esperanza Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This place is worth $50 maybe. We paid 120. It is far from the beach and along the road, the room is average, the swimming pool is ridiculously tiny and the breakfast is mediocre. Colibri, which is just next to it, charges $60 a night for the same service and has a bigger pool and great Argentinian food.
Don't waste your money on this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, Owner at Hotel Esperanza, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
As the owner of Hotel Esperanza I take each and every review of my hotel very seriously. I respect that every client has the right to their opinion, but I have no respect of any client’s review written with untruths, exaggerated statements, false information, or other agendas. We do encourage and welcome true commentaries of our hotel, staff, or other concerns that may help us in providing and improving a top quality product and service for our clients. This is and will always be the top priority of Hotel Esperanza.
This review response is written in defense of my staff and hotel. As with this client, when a client accepts and returns a reply email in request for a reservation quoting all costs and pertinent information to the hotel, you would assume that they would have reviewed the website, and understand the price they were quoted, and confirmed with an email. Our website is extremely explicit on what amenities we offer, our room rates, and the location of our hotel to the beach, the size of our pool, and what services we offer. For those few clients who don’t exactly understand what is written in our website describing our hotel and services, we also post very clear and up to date photos throughout our website showing all facilities such as, grounds, rooms, pool, restaurant, and Etc. There are no false statements or out of date photos of our hotel on our website.
I will not waste my or the reader’s time in trying to justify false statements. I will however clarify a few facts about our hotel. The value of a hotel or facilities depends on the amenities offered by the hotel. If you are comparing hotels, do it with equal amenities. In our hotel we offer all American amenities such as Air conditioning, Ceiling fans, Private baths with Roman showers, hot water, a full American breakfast, a video library of well over 800 movies, very comfortable beds with double pillow top Posturepedic mattresses, a very comfortable pool with a Spa equipped with therapy jets overlooking the pool, and rooms that are accented with exotic native woods such as Teak, Cedar, and Mahogany. Please note, all of these amenities can be viewed and are described on our website. Each morning we offer one of the best and most plentiful breakfasts in Costa Rica, offering juices, milk, coffee, tea, eggs, Gallo Pinto, French Toast, Pancakes, fruit, and toast with Jelly. I find this to be just a bit more than mediocre.
Our hotel is a short 4 to 5 minute walk to the first part a beach that is 2K long. If you have a car, the drive from our hotel to the beach is no more than a 1 minute drive down the hill to the beach. We are the second hotel from the beach. You cannot see the beach from the hotel because of the trees, but we are close enough that you can hear the surf at night. The vast majority of hotels in Playa Carrillo are located with road front. This is Costa Rica and this is very typical of hotel locations here. I find it very unfortunate that there are a few travelers who cannot come and enjoy the natural beauty and culture Costa Rica has to offer and leave the amenities, hostilities, and other properties of their own country behind. If you can possibly do these things you will find a culture that offers friendly and honest people, the natural beauty of beaches and mountains, and a calm and peaceful vacation. To all future travelers I offer this advice. Please make sure you know your budget before you select a hotel and book a room. Our hotel is not for the party animal that is looking for other activities. We are a family and couple hotel that offers a first class hotel with top rated service and amenities. This is well proven with our previous client’s commentaries. Unfortunately we cannot be the hotel for everyone, but it is not necessary for a client to make up false statements or attack our hotel to get out of a reservation they booked and cannot afford, or if they want more of a party atmosphere. It is very easy at Hotel Esperanza to cancel a reservation. All you have to do is ask. We have never charged a client yet for breaking a reservation in over the 10 years I have owned the hotel. It is my personal policy that if you arrive at my hotel and it does not work for you, all you have to do is request to cancel your reservation. In most hotels if you book a room you will pay for the days you booked. I find that it is better for us both that you do not stay. In the case of this client after they had a very hearty breakfast and informed us they wanted to leave, they were released of their reservation and not charged for the second day of their booked stay. It is and will always be our goal to have happy clients and find it unfortunate that this client could not have just asked to cancel their reservation upon arrival. The reservation would have been cancelled without question or costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is conveniently located walking distance from Playa Carrillo, a peaceful and quiet town and very close to mini-markets and very good restaurants. Dennis and Katia provided a very familiar and personalized customer care and the breakfast was fantastic, also, if you need any advice, maps, reservations, etc etc, they can help with that.

We came to visit with our 4-year old son who had a terrific vacation time and established friendship with Jonathan (Katia's son) and his dog Max.

My family definitely recommends this hotel and we are actually making plans to come back soon.

Thanks Dennis for a magnificent vacations time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvillane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is a small informal hotel, and Dennis, the owner, is very friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Together with his fiancé they provided great customer care, the breakfast was cooked to order, and Dennis booked us a horse riding trip, and made a telephone call on our behalf to rearrange one of our transfers. He was very easy going and full of advice regarding where to eat etc. Sure, Carillo is in a quiet setting, and there isn't much going on out of season, but isn't that what a relaxing holiday needs? Our room was fairly basic, but clean, and we felt very relaxed setting up a small camp outside our room, to drink wine, watch a lonesome howler monkey, and chat with the friendly people next door. The pool was small, but relaxing and for the price we paid, with the breakfast included, our stay was good value. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable. By the way. La Tucan, opposite provided great food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marion3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

i'm here right now in room 5 at hotel esperanza. it's clean, comfortable, has a spectacular air conditioner, lots of pillows, a dvd player (to watch one of 800 videos!!), a lovely ceiling fan, a safe and a really good mattress. breakfast is included in the room rate and you can choose from eggs, panckes or french toast....you might even get your pancakes in the shape of mickey mouse or a turtle:). i'm not reporting anything that other reviewers have already written....so here's the important piece. if you read all the comments praising the owner....dennis alvin clifton and then multiply by ten, you might get close to what this man and his hotel have to offer. it's not fancy or pretentious....not big and shiny....but it's a reflection of how gifted he his and how much he loves his work and his life. his beautiful fiance, katia, works beside him and she is delightful.
you could spend alot more money in playa carrillo, but it won't buy what is freely given away at hotel esperanza. care, concern, love and pride....hard to find, but in abundance here. don't hesitate...just come.

Room Tip: there are seven....all along the same corridor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Property: Hotel Esperanza
Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esperanza 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing