We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare gem”
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esperanza
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rare gem”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Gorgeous and convenient, tucked in just off the main road, Dennis and Katya were more than gracious in accommodating us. They have neat rooms with A/C, a cute little child-friendly pool and shaded courtyard. Playa Carrillo is arguably THE most beautiful beach on the Nicoya peninsula.

Room Tip: The doubles at the far end of the courtyard are the largest rooms offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysFurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
93
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We found Hotel Esperanza while exploring in 2009 and we just stayed there again in March. Dennis and Kattia and their family made us feel so welcome! Dennis cooked our breakfast to order every morning and offered all sorts of advice on things to do in the area (Playa Carillo is now our favorite beach in the world!) He also offered us towels, chairs and even a cooler that we could take to the beach. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxing and laid back. While there are not fridges in each room, the cooler in the lobby is stocked with beer and wine that guests are welcome to based on a simple honor system. The rooms are cozy and clean and Dennis has over 1000 DVDs to choose from in case of a rainy day.
The hotel is near a small grocery store and the best restaurant in the area. The beautiful beach is short 5 minute walk down the road. You really can't beat the location and hospitality of this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a wonderful 8 day stay at Hotel Esperanza. Dennis, Kattia and their family are wonderful people and keep a very clean hotel. They treated us like part of their family which made our stay more than a vacation. The beach is just awesome and a short walk away. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My stay at this hotel was perfect, and the attention of dennis and kattia was excellent, they worry about keeping us comfortable and provide a quality service, I stayed with my family, we are very pleased and grateful for the attention.Clean and comfortable rooms, the location is absolutely Ideal, the beach is very close. an excellent hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cata m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Esperanza in Playa Carrillo for 2 nights and were very happy with our decision to stay here while visiting Carrillo. Dennis and Kattia were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Dennis was always available to help us with directions or recommendations for local activities or restuarants. The location was a short walk to the beach, the website is very accurate for the proximity to the beach. This can be very helpful if you don't have a car. The room was very comfortable, with good AC to escape the brutal midday heat and warm water, which we found at other hotels is not always present even if advertised. The bed was extremely comfortable, much better than other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica. The hotel was conveniently located to restaurants and although it is along a main road, we never heard traffic noises from our room. If comparing to other hotels, almost all the other hotels we saw in the area were along a main road and required a walk up or down a hill to access the beach, although most other hotels were further away from the beach than Esperanza. In closing, although this hotel doesn't have the best view of the ocean, it is by far worth its value for the personalized attention you will receive to help you feel at home while you away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Dennis was very helpful in arranging our trip but the hotel didnt live up to the description. It is not 2 minutes from the beach, maybe 5 there downhill but considerably more back up 2 steep hills. The beach is spectacular though. Dennis was away during our trip and Kattia does not speak English which made life difficult. The rooms are adequate but face onto quite a busy road. There is no restaurant although this was advertised, and not cheap at $120. There are better hotels nearby at less cost. The breakfasts were OK and eggs well cooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePFelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, Owner at Hotel Esperanza, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
SURPRISED AND DISAPPOINTED … This is all I can say for this review. First off the hotel was no different than described in our website or my emails to this client. I am extremely careful not to mislead any clients with false statements or information. To correct the false statements in this review, the client was informed that the hotel was a 4 to 5 minute walk down a steep hill to the first part of a 2 K long beach. If you have a car as in the case of this client, it is no more than a 1 minute drive down the hill. The client was informed at three different times in emails before arrival that I would not be at the hotel to greet them. As for my wife Kattia not speaking English, this is a Latin country and I fail to see why or how this could be an issue when one person in the party actually did speak enough Spanish to communicate. The vast majority of hotels in Costa Rica either front roads or are in close proximity of roads. This is how it is done in Costa Rica. The client was informed that our Restaurant was closed, but there are 2 Restaurants next door to the hotel, and numerous Restaurants within a short walking distance from our hotel. As for the price, the client was given a discounted rate for 8 days of $97.88 per night including all taxes and full Breakfast, NOT $120.00. The client was not charged for the 5 days left on his reservation after he informed us that he wanted to move on and see other parts of Costa Rica and only paid for 3 nights. I find it incredibly sad when clients choose to falsify statements with no regard as to how it will affect a Hotel’s future business. We are a Hotel that takes great pride in how we treat and provide services for our clients, especially our honesty. The (Glowing Reviews) are true and we work very hard with honesty to earn all the (Glowing Reviews). This is an extremely difficult business to make every guest Happy, but it is our ultimate goal from the first contact we have with our clients as was in this case that they are Happy and satisfied when they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from Carrillo beach, it is a quite area, away from the street noise. It is extremely cosy and with an environment suited for families. The personalized attention from Dennis and Kattia is a very special detail that welcomes me to return. The food is spectacular, specially the breakfasts. I felt in love with Carrillo Beach, and every single time that I get back to this beach, I will always stat at the Esperanza Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Property: Hotel Esperanza
Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esperanza 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing