We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, gracious host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

La Posada is in a lovely location, gracious host, Eneresto. The view rooms in the front seem lovely, great breakfast, super sunset, colorful tropical birds, lovely large deck for all to enjoy and only a short distance to the beach. The drawback was our room, too close to the kitchen which has a large open vent area to our bathroom, limiting privacy. The owners have recently purchased the hotel and are working on upgrading and renovations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyP662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I made a reservation at The Posada for 3 days and ended up staying 9 days. The amenities were that there was a beautiful beach, the most beautiful 3 min away for excellent swimming and beginner courses in surfing. My host Lautaro and his staff Myrta felt like family. They whipped up a mean breakfast every morning and it was just heaven to sit on the patio eating and enjoying all the natural beauty around you. There are several good restaurants nearby and the best horseback riding tour ever. Going into Samara for a day or a night is also fun. This is definitely my go to place in Playa Carrillo.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank smuggy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Within an hour of arriving at La Posada we saw a troupe of howler monkeys making their way home for the night, iguanas basking in the sun, hummingbirds humming, and a variety of other birds singing and flitting around. All this from the veranda at the front of the house, a lovely cool spot which overlooks an expansive nature reserve and the beach, Playa Carrillo. It's a great place to relax, read, catch up on your email, eat breakfast, or just soak up the view.
We stayed just one night and found our room to be a bit small and cramped although the bathroom was a good size. If we were to return, I'd reserve one of the larger rooms facing the view described above. The staff were very hospitable, especially Augustin, and the breakfast was really good.
The town of Puerto Carrillo is just down the road from Samara and worth a visit. We had supper at the Argentinian grill at Cabinas El Colibri - a five minute walk from La Posada - we highly recommend it. The beach is huge and beautiful. It can get very busy during holidays and weekends but is nearly deserted during the week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agathapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

By girlfriend and I stayed at La Posada for three nights. The staff (Florencia, Augustin, Lautaro) are incredibly nice and eager to make your stay in Carrillo enjoyable. We got a room with AC without a view of the ocean. The AC is a must, since the rooms are a little stuffy. I don't think the room with an ocean view is a must, since you can get the same ocean view from the communal porch.

Pros:
Location - located about 150 meters (1/10th of a mile) from the beach, it really can't get any better
View - the view from the porch, where they serve breakfast, is just breathtaking. Aside from the ocean view, you can usually see many animals including hummingbirds, iguanas, and sometimes monkeys from the porch.
Service - The staff is just super nice. The gave us a hammock when we went the beach, recommended a surf school for us which was fantastic (chillasana), drove us to the surf school, and even drove us to Samara one night for $10. They really could not have been any more welcoming.
Breakfast - The eggs were the best I had in Costa Rica. They'll make them scrambled or fried.

Cons:
The rooms are a bit small and stuffy. But really, if you are spending a lot of time in your room, you are doing something wrong and need to reexamine how you vacation or why you are in Playa Carrillo.

Room Tip: The $5 extra for AC are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Staff is super friendly, service is great. Rooms are comfy and the whole place is so authentic and peaceful. Breakfast outside, with sea side view, watch the iguanas eating fruit. Go if you want to disconnect and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darthchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent place, freindly staff and a great view. It is not in front of the beach, but it's not far either, and from the common area you can get an excellent view of the ocean.
The hotel is small and comfortable, the breakfast is excellent and the staff is very very friendly. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huguisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We found La Posada Bed & Breakfast by chance, and what a find it was. The home is beautiful, the owners pay attention to detail, it is cool and airy. The view of the bay is breath taking and the wild life around the place abundant. They have a fabulous veranda with lovely and comfortable rocking chairs, featuring a million dollar view of the Carrillo beach.
It is only a few walking minutes from an animal sanctuary where you can visit lots of native species.
You reach the lovely palm tree lined beach within 5 walking minutes and even spot alligators below the bridge...
There are lots of different restaurants nearby.
Teo and Leo are a wonderful couple. They are very helpful and personable, and they make you feel at home and part of their family. Breakfast is very tasty!
There is a protected beach about 30 minutes away, where sea turtles lay their eggs. We did a tour with them and learned a lot about the protection of turtles and other wild life in Costa Rica.

We often think back to our stay at La Posada and we will be back some day. Promise!
Sandra Gunther with Family from Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.2 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
299 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
50 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Hotel Hacienda del Mar
#3 of 5 in Playa Carrillo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 mts South of the last bridge of the beach | Keep left, Playa Carrillo 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Carrillo
Price Range: £36 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada is a unique property situated in the peaceful village of Playa Carrillo. Located just 100m from beautiful Carrillo Beach, our goal is to make you feel at home while exploring Costa Rica. Our 5,000 m2 property is home to a variety of native species. It's likely that you will see iguanas, howler monkeys, hummingbirds and more just lounging around the property in a hammock all day. Enjoy breakfast or dinner with an ocean view from our dining terrace. We have several room options for you to choose from. We offer rooms with ocean views and private terraces, garden view rooms and a private bungalow that sleeps up to 4 people. All accommodations have private bath, hot water, air conditioning and include breakfast with a view. Our warm and friendly staff will do everything possible to make your stay at La Posada as memorable a possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Posada Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Bed & Breakfast Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing