We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it's made out to be! From a wheelchair users prospective...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not as bad as it's made out to be! From a wheelchair users prospective...”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

First of all this is a hostel, don't be expecting five star as if this is what you want you should look for a hotel!
Malta was my first stop on my travels and the first hostel i have stayed in, baring this in mind I was pleasantly surprise!

The staff were extremely accommodating and did everything they could to help!!

Unfortunately the wheelchair accessible rooms were not completed at my time of arrival/stay but they have a elevator and changed my room to first floor (phone ahead if need wheelchair accessible room as I did not!). The lift was too narrow for my wheelchair (it is rather large some may be ok!), but i am lucky enough to be able to get out onto my knees and crawl and fold my chair up into the lift. The staff would offer and help in anyway they could!

Rooms are spacious and have basic facilities, but everything that is needed!

The animation team were fantastic, even though i think they're employed for the kids, there extremely welcoming and helpful to every guest! All offering to help push mean and some even invited me out to places when they had days off which I really appreciation.

The location is perfect for a fully able body as its close to bus stops to get around anywhere and everywhere but in an area where you can also get peace and quite!
Unfortunately for wheelchairs it was situated on quite a steep slope which I personally found it extremely challenging, but as said about people working at the hostel and even locals would constantly be offering and helping!!

There are quite a few kids that seem to be staying at the hostel as they are learning English or on school trips etc but they have a curfew and out during they day! I guess it depends on the bunch but there were no problems whilst I was there! The pool area could get noisey when they returned from there day but this is just to be expected and was not a problem for me!

Don't be put off by people's reviews as long as your aware it is a hostel and not a hotel then I think you may also be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
2
13
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I didn't really like my stay at NSTS: As it was February, nights were still very cold. Apart from very thin linen, there were two blankets (not that thicker), that seemed to be already used. Hair that didn't belonged to me did not really make me feel more comfortable.

Although I could stay on my own in a 5 bed-room, there was not much space to store anything. Any shelf or hook would be an improvement.

Some of the staff was helpful and friendly but most of them were not really interested in your requests. They told me I don't need to cook, which I don't think is something like a polite behaviour. In addition they told me that there would be cleaning once a week. I stayed there from sunday to sunday and didn't see any cleaning staff (not even to collect waste!) so I was asking myself - what does "once a week" mean?

WiFi was only available in the "common room" which means, you sit in the entrance hall, next to a noisy chocolate bar machine. As it was quite windy these days, the wind blew through the 5cm gap between floor and door and it was even colder. I was glad not to fall ill those days!

I would not recommmend this hostel, altough prices are quite cheap, it's not worth the inconvenience you get for it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Gzira, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

From the first moment of my stayment in the hostel wasn't going smoothly.
I have just arrived, I have found myself in the administration hell, thanks for that
Carefull old gentlemen who almost let me sleep on the "open air" .
Absolutely not flexible person, not interested in to solve the issue, jus say "I am not in charge"
In contrary of rude behaviour of the security, who is acting like an officer in a garrison at the nighttime,
I would like to mention about Assisstant manager perfomance, She is absolutely open-minded, helpfull person who is taking attention about the issues of the students...

With her guidance he gives the extra mile what all of the staff should have to do in the Hostel...
The cleaningness afar from minor difficulties was good, the cleaner knocked and asked about what is the suitable time for us for the maintenance of the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very basic hostel with a lot of flaws. First of all, our room had no balcony and only a small window. A/C is non existent, and only after 4 days of begging we got a fan. Without egzaturation, the temperature in our room was at least 35 degrees Celsius during the night. Although they are very proud of it, the pool was extremly dirty, so dirty you couldn't see the bottom at 1,5 m depth. The whole hostel was dirty and rarely cleaned. Our room wasn't cleaned during our stay, and considering they didn't install a cover or a door to the shower, everything was dirty and wet... The staff was extremly rude. They denied to give us toilet paper, we were yelled at when we tried to use the fridge. One of the receptionists, thinking he is a security guard or something, threw all of our food to trash and spilled our drinks to the toilet while we went to smoke outside the hostel. The breakfast was actually ok, but it ends at 9, or before if the people are hungry, since they buy half a kilo of cheese and salame for the entire hostel.

Room Tip: Ask for anything on the north side with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatejPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

In my opinion this is a very basic hostel in need of refurbishment. I had booked a single private room and the man at the reception tried to put me in a shared one. Finally he gave me a whole apartment only for me but nobody had cleaned it since the last guests had left, so it was quite dirty and there were no clean towels. Wi Fi was free but it didn't work the first two days and the other two the connection was very slow. It took me ages to check my emails! The breakfast was very basic, but the swimming pool was OK. Best thing is that it is located very near a bus stop with buses to Valetta and other parts of the island passing every five minutes. In 10 minutes by bus you will be at the capital, and Sliema strand is only 15 minutes walking.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This hostel seems to be experiencing management issues. It was clean and seemed to be safe, but that is the best I can say for it. There was one bathroom/toilet for nine people. There was no proper shower and the spray that they did have attached to the tub gave out a mere trickle of water. Hot water ran out after two people. The breakfast was white bread, processed cheese and luncheon meat. Rooms were very cold and only one thin blanket...we did get a second blanket after we complained. No trash baskets in rooms or bathroom. Kitchen was ill equipped. Man in charge of reception couldn't tell me how to get to a restaurant. Entire facility very much in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This was my first time at NSTS Campus hotel. I like the place because it is not very formal and one can relax. Internet it is not a problem with WIFI areas and Internet room. Pool is quite big and we enjoyed it a lot even if it October. The weather in Malta is fantastic. The Hotel / or residence is very close to Salima and transport is not a problem. 10 min away from Valletta and 5 min walk away from Salima and St Julians the maltese Mekka for nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadridMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Hotel Kennedy Nova
#1 of 1 in Il Gzira
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Malti
Hostel Malti
#3 of 31 in Saint Julian's
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel

Property: NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel
Address: University Rd 60 Triq L-Imsida, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1403, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campus Residence and Hostel is located on the Gzira/Msida border, adjacent to the University of Malta sports complex perimeter, and within 10/15 minutes by public transport to the capital city of Valletta. A friendly atmosphere among staff and residents are its top characteristics. Its young environment and low prices makes the hostel the ideal place for budget backpackers, independent travellers and students alike! Discount student rates apply for long lets of over 12 weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your NSTS Campus Residence and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NSTS Campus Residence And Hostel Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing