We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed for a week at the Kennedy Nova, it was comfortable, a good selection of choices for breakfast and a very nice rooftop restaurant at very reasonable cost. The hotel is in a great position for exploring Malta, overlooking the harbour with easy access to water taxis and buses.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Anthony H,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Malta please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    168
    159
    116
    93
See reviews for
67
276
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Kennedy Nova is In a great location to explore Valetta and the rest of Malta and Gozo,buses are regular and very cheap from outside the hotel and go all over the island,the hotel food is good and so inexpensive it was cheaper than eating out,and there is a very good breakfast the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a nice restaurant and pool on the roof with fantastic views of Sliema and Valetta.The rooms are very clean and well kept ,the Kennedy Nova is a really nice relaxing place to stay.
I stayed there in early October and there were no problems with students or anyone else,I like to give an honest review of the hotel not the other guests.

Room Tip: Room 317 is nice and cool so you don't need the air conditioner on at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Woodrjo,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with and the facilities offered. Should you return to Malta do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

i am returning to the Kennedy Nova for 5 weeks on the 27 Oct. this will be my 3rd visit. Location is great, staff lovely..ok so the rooms and food could be better but for what im paying its fine. Ive also read commemts about silver surfers and age of guests..want on earth has that got to do with anything , I ve meet a great variety of people from all walks of life at the hotel all with interesting stories to tell. If people did a little research they find out a bit more about where they were staying...you pays your money etc ..I did and am more than happy to go back to the Kenndy Nova

Room Tip: get a 7 day bus ticket
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Lynplym,

Many thanks for your positive review.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Hotel in a few days.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have just returned from the worst holiday we have ever had in Malta. The Kennedy Nova is a nightmare.The hotel was full of students.At night in the 'View Bar'there was entertainment but the TV was also allowed on so that the students could watch football at the same time which ruined it . the waiting staff were very kind but couldn t manage it all. N o cups or glasses atbreakfast so we were all waiting.Tables weren t set.Dirty plates not cleared away.On tuesday the 9th we were told at dinner that we couldn t have any wine because there wasn t anyone to serve it and could only have bottled water.The food was uneatable.We ate out every evening except one and everyone was complaining but management didn t seem to care.How they get away with it we do not know !

Room Tip: get a sea view room if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Annes,

We thank you for taking the time in reviewing our Hotel and giving us your personal experience about it.

We would like to commence by stating that the Hotel has a very small group which consisted of persons on a cultural and language trip. The ratio of rooms within this group in comparison to the rooms at the Hotel is very minimal and therefore we tend not to agree with your comment that the Hotel was indeed full of students. Moreover the Hotel is not one that is frequented by students during the year and this was indeed a one off group.

We shall bring to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager your comments with regards to the items in relation to this department as such claims have never been raised prior to this review.

We value guest comments as we believe that such instances could have easily been remedied when at our Hotel and regret that this was not done. In any case should you wish to return to our Hotel please do get in touch with us so that we may offer you a complimentary room upgrade.

Regards,


Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Unfortunately the change is not for the better. We always enjoy our visit to Malta but the hotel is looking dated although the maids and other staff do their utmost to make your stay comfortable. This year we suffered from an influx of raucous students, and despite numerous complaints from other guests as well as ourselves very little was done by Management to rectify the situation. We complained while we're in residence but with no result, not even a response. Management have been saying for several years that a refurbishment will soon take place, we are still waiting for evidence of this. It is a shame that this hotel is going down as it holds an extremely good location for all the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suewood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Suewood13,

We thank you for taking the time in detailing your personal opinion about our Hotel.

As a Club Member we urge you to correspond directly with the Administration Team in order for further details to be forward to you.

There are plans / projects in place for the Hotel which are soon due to occur.

Should you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact us directly.


Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keighley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just retuned from a stay at the Kennady Nova and enjoyed it very much. Clean, help full, good location, quiet( whilst we were there) Natasha one of the dinning room staff was a joy and all in all a good experiance. But the Hotel is not 4 star and shoud be re graded as it is miss leading. that said I would have no problems staying there again. (17th to 23rd September 2012)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Peter H,

Many thanks for your positive review.

As one can appreciate the star rating in Malta is different than overseas so are the prices paid.

Whilst we look forward to welcome you again in the future, kindly contact us prior to your stay to avail of a free upgrade.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Kennedy Nova for a week and I have to say we were impressed. We arrived at 1am (ish) and we were greeted by a few happy members of staff who checked us in with no problems. The room was a large, with full air conditioning and was very clean all round. The breakfast was your standard holiday hotel breakfast with hot and cold options every day. It got a bit samey towards the end but 7 days in the same dining room would do anywhere! We like to eat out so I can't comment on the lunch or evening meals.

All of the staff were very friendly all week and I really couldn't fault the service. Our room was cleaned every day and they did a great job :)

The roof top pool was excellent, and the few times we used it we never struggled for a sun lounger.

Location wise, it was perfect for us. 1 minute walk to the water taxi to Valetta (€2.50 return) and less than that to the bus stop. Regular busses take you to Valetta (15 min journey max) and from there you can get anywhere on the island. Walk for 10 minutes and you can get to St Julian's or anywhere in Sliema including loads of bars and restaurants.

The ONLY thing I would say is that the room doors seemed to be a little bit thin. We were woken up on a couple of occasions by people in the corridor outside. But we are pretty chilled out so didn't cause us a huge problem.

As a regular Malta visitor I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good, clean base to explore from. Thank you Kennedy Nova!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris3Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Chris3Jerry,

Many thanks for such a positive review with regards to your recent stay with us at our Hotel. We pride ourselves in guest satisfaction and are very content that this has been reflected during your stay.

Please do contact our Sales Department should you wish to visit Malta again. We thank you for the time you have taken in loading this review.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing