We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But NOT 4*”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
newtown
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK But NOT 4*”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The room (102) was sorely in need of a fresh coat of paint. Shower cubicle was broken in places and needs replacing.
The "entertainment" was provided directly beneath the room and was loud and awful . We did complain and the next time, it was moved about 2m further away.
During the day, the place is infested with a highly organised team of "wide boys & girls, trying to drag unsuspecting dupes into 1 hour "presentations", selling time share deals (or whatever else they wish to call these cons ) It was sickening to watch vulnerable OAP's being suckered. The Hotel is obviously an area base for these "Spivs" and should be ashamed / STOP forthwith.
Negatives over...very good location.

Room Tip: To avoid the "entertainment" and noise of Boy Racers at 2am, try floors 4 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonybNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Tonybnewton,

We thank you for taking the time in reviewing our Hotel and giving us your personal experience about it.

We regret to hear that your experience with us did not satisfy your requirements as we take guest satisfaction very seriously and endeavor to offer the best possible accommodation as well as service possible at our property.

With regards to the Entertainment, we never encountered any complaints. The entertainment has always been situated in the same area and the hours are from 20.30hours to 23.00hrs.

With regards to the Holiday Club (not timeshare), please note that this club is separate from the Hotel as it offers packages for those wishing to travel at discounted packages. Whilst we always get optimum reviews regarding this Club, please also bear in mind, that the club is fully regulated as per the local and EU regulations. Couples who enter the Hotel for a presentation are definitely not dragged in, but come in at their own free will.

Notwithstanding the said, should you have any further questions or queries then please do contact us and we will be more than happy to assist.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    172
    162
    125
    105
See reviews for
73
286
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My friend & I arrived Fri 3rd Nov to commence our first visit in Malta. We liked the look of the foyer until we actually sat in the seating which was most uncomfortable. We were given possibly the worst room in the hotel (106) which is located within a shaft. Our view was solid walls, therefore we had no daylight to speak of and precious little fresh air. The single bed I occupied made a noise whenever I turned over as if the underside was damaged & incapable of giving proper support. It was far from comfortable. The furniture in the room needs updating & the room was very basic, in need of some tlc. The food was mediocre and whenever new people arrived at the hotel they had to ask us & others where everything was in the diningroom. This should be the duty of staff to familiarise their clientele with their system. I spent 20 years in a customer service roll & I would love to advise management on how to improve their service which is very poor. The worst part to our holiday was rowdy Italian students who were in the room directly above us & the rest of their party in another room on the same floor. They ran along corridors, slammed doors & made our stay absolute hell. I have never experienced such behaviour within a hotel. Simply disgraceful !. Although we complained several times, little was done and we never had a full nights sleep at this hotel. All of this was such a pity because the hotel has a great location and its a pity the hotel does not match the splendour of its location. I have paid attention to the replies given by its management to the numerous reviews and they are very standard automated replies and do not really address the problems raised. To Management I would say, start to truly give customer service and take ownership of the problems raised. Make your hotel all that it could and should be. I loved Malta, but not your hotel and because of that our holiday was not all that it should have been. A great disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106 which is a twin bed within a shaft on first floor. Avoid any room within the shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Gwen K ,

Many thanks for your review.

We refer to your comments hereunder which are being dealt directly with yourselves.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed for a week at the Kennedy Nova, it was comfortable, a good selection of choices for breakfast and a very nice rooftop restaurant at very reasonable cost. The hotel is in a great position for exploring Malta, overlooking the harbour with easy access to water taxis and buses.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Anthony H,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Malta please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Kennedy Nova is In a great location to explore Valetta and the rest of Malta and Gozo,buses are regular and very cheap from outside the hotel and go all over the island,the hotel food is good and so inexpensive it was cheaper than eating out,and there is a very good breakfast the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a nice restaurant and pool on the roof with fantastic views of Sliema and Valetta.The rooms are very clean and well kept ,the Kennedy Nova is a really nice relaxing place to stay.
I stayed there in early October and there were no problems with students or anyone else,I like to give an honest review of the hotel not the other guests.

Room Tip: Room 317 is nice and cool so you don't need the air conditioner on at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Woodrjo,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with and the facilities offered. Should you return to Malta do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

i am returning to the Kennedy Nova for 5 weeks on the 27 Oct. this will be my 3rd visit. Location is great, staff lovely..ok so the rooms and food could be better but for what im paying its fine. Ive also read commemts about silver surfers and age of guests..want on earth has that got to do with anything , I ve meet a great variety of people from all walks of life at the hotel all with interesting stories to tell. If people did a little research they find out a bit more about where they were staying...you pays your money etc ..I did and am more than happy to go back to the Kenndy Nova

Room Tip: get a 7 day bus ticket
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Lynplym,

Many thanks for your positive review.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Hotel in a few days.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have just returned from the worst holiday we have ever had in Malta. The Kennedy Nova is a nightmare.The hotel was full of students.At night in the 'View Bar'there was entertainment but the TV was also allowed on so that the students could watch football at the same time which ruined it . the waiting staff were very kind but couldn t manage it all. N o cups or glasses atbreakfast so we were all waiting.Tables weren t set.Dirty plates not cleared away.On tuesday the 9th we were told at dinner that we couldn t have any wine because there wasn t anyone to serve it and could only have bottled water.The food was uneatable.We ate out every evening except one and everyone was complaining but management didn t seem to care.How they get away with it we do not know !

Room Tip: get a sea view room if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Annes,

We thank you for taking the time in reviewing our Hotel and giving us your personal experience about it.

We would like to commence by stating that the Hotel has a very small group which consisted of persons on a cultural and language trip. The ratio of rooms within this group in comparison to the rooms at the Hotel is very minimal and therefore we tend not to agree with your comment that the Hotel was indeed full of students. Moreover the Hotel is not one that is frequented by students during the year and this was indeed a one off group.

We shall bring to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager your comments with regards to the items in relation to this department as such claims have never been raised prior to this review.

We value guest comments as we believe that such instances could have easily been remedied when at our Hotel and regret that this was not done. In any case should you wish to return to our Hotel please do get in touch with us so that we may offer you a complimentary room upgrade.

Regards,


Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Unfortunately the change is not for the better. We always enjoy our visit to Malta but the hotel is looking dated although the maids and other staff do their utmost to make your stay comfortable. This year we suffered from an influx of raucous students, and despite numerous complaints from other guests as well as ourselves very little was done by Management to rectify the situation. We complained while we're in residence but with no result, not even a response. Management have been saying for several years that a refurbishment will soon take place, we are still waiting for evidence of this. It is a shame that this hotel is going down as it holds an extremely good location for all the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suewood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Suewood13,

We thank you for taking the time in detailing your personal opinion about our Hotel.

As a Club Member we urge you to correspond directly with the Administration Team in order for further details to be forward to you.

There are plans / projects in place for the Hotel which are soon due to occur.

Should you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact us directly.


Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing