We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
67
177
180
142
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
177
180
142
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfast basisvery pleasant staybars and restaurantsbusesvallettaislandharbour
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is my third trip to Malta and with another couple we booked this hotel through a cut price travel company thinking the cost of the holiday was cut, not the quality and service. Although the rooms were clean they were so small that to enable one guest to walk around the room the other had to be on the bed. We paid the extra for a sea view but were never told this would be over a main road with 24 hr traffic, with one room being on the first floor it was impossible to sleep with the balcony door open because of the traffic noise, the other was on the sixth floor, where the balcony door could not be open because the wind blew the ceiling tiles up into the roof space causing an incessant clatter, Continental breakfast was OK, but the cooked breakfast was awful with aneamic looking, watery scrambled eggs, bacon that was mainly fat and grey in colour and looked more boiled than grilled or fried, some barely cooked chipolata sausages and baked beans. Dinner again was an insiped, unapetising disgrace,.It was never hot, just about warm. One guest said the food had improved since last year, I'm glad I wasn't there lasr year. The fish was so boney you could not eat it, potatos cooked to death and there was barely sufficient for the number of guests, We had to purchase food elswhere to subsidise the meals as they were so bad, I do not understand why these hotels try to cook english food when they are not capable of doing it correctly, it would be far better if they stuck to their own style of meals. There is no lounge here to sit and have a relaxing drink in the evening,, the bar is in the dining room and what was laughing passed off as entertainment was squeezed into the reception area with a couple of coffee table and a few chairs. Generally the place would be better without any "entertainment. Without doubt one of the worse hotels I have had the misfortune to stay at.

Room Tip: Got to a different hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kamiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Kamiki2

We would like to thank you for finding the time to upload and share your comments with regards to your recent stay with us, here at our Hotel Kennedy Nova.

Whilst we note with great satisfaction your comments regarding our cleanliness, we regret to hear that your experience with us did not satisfy your requirements, as we take guest satisfaction very seriously and endeavor to offer the best possible accommodation as well as the service provided within our Hotel. Unfortunately we are unable turn back the clock, as it would have been less of a displeasure had you granted us with the opportunity to rectify the situation during your stay with us.

Our sea view rooms, are highly demanded by our guests for the magnificent views the occupant may obtain from the leisure of their room. We have never experienced such a complaint with regards to the traffic noise. The balcony doors are double glazed to minimize the noise pollution as much as possible especially during the night when the traffic is very much reduced when compared to the day time.

With regards to the breakfast and dinner buffet, the food is always fresh and prepared daily, a vast selection is always on display and there’s ample food for everyone. Our dessert section also contains a variety of sweets to please everyone’s taste buds. Having said that we have taken the liberty to show your feedback to our Head Chef, to see where we can ameliorate our services.

We hope we will have the opportunity to host you once again in our Hotel. If we do have the pleasure of hosting you once again, may we suggest to call directly our offices to ensure that your request is achieved to your satisfaction.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The room (102) was sorely in need of a fresh coat of paint. Shower cubicle was broken in places and needs replacing.
The "entertainment" was provided directly beneath the room and was loud and awful . We did complain and the next time, it was moved about 2m further away.
During the day, the place is infested with a highly organised team of "wide boys & girls, trying to drag unsuspecting dupes into 1 hour "presentations", selling time share deals (or whatever else they wish to call these cons ) It was sickening to watch vulnerable OAP's being suckered. The Hotel is obviously an area base for these "Spivs" and should be ashamed / STOP forthwith.
Negatives over...very good location.

Room Tip: To avoid the "entertainment" and noise of Boy Racers at 2am, try floors 4 +
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tonybNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Tonybnewton,

We thank you for taking the time in reviewing our Hotel and giving us your personal experience about it.

We regret to hear that your experience with us did not satisfy your requirements as we take guest satisfaction very seriously and endeavor to offer the best possible accommodation as well as service possible at our property.

With regards to the Entertainment, we never encountered any complaints. The entertainment has always been situated in the same area and the hours are from 20.30hours to 23.00hrs.

With regards to the Holiday Club (not timeshare), please note that this club is separate from the Hotel as it offers packages for those wishing to travel at discounted packages. Whilst we always get optimum reviews regarding this Club, please also bear in mind, that the club is fully regulated as per the local and EU regulations. Couples who enter the Hotel for a presentation are definitely not dragged in, but come in at their own free will.

Notwithstanding the said, should you have any further questions or queries then please do contact us and we will be more than happy to assist.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My friend & I arrived Fri 3rd Nov to commence our first visit in Malta. We liked the look of the foyer until we actually sat in the seating which was most uncomfortable. We were given possibly the worst room in the hotel (106) which is located within a shaft. Our view was solid walls, therefore we had no daylight to speak of and precious little fresh air. The single bed I occupied made a noise whenever I turned over as if the underside was damaged & incapable of giving proper support. It was far from comfortable. The furniture in the room needs updating & the room was very basic, in need of some tlc. The food was mediocre and whenever new people arrived at the hotel they had to ask us & others where everything was in the diningroom. This should be the duty of staff to familiarise their clientele with their system. I spent 20 years in a customer service roll & I would love to advise management on how to improve their service which is very poor. The worst part to our holiday was rowdy Italian students who were in the room directly above us & the rest of their party in another room on the same floor. They ran along corridors, slammed doors & made our stay absolute hell. I have never experienced such behaviour within a hotel. Simply disgraceful !. Although we complained several times, little was done and we never had a full nights sleep at this hotel. All of this was such a pity because the hotel has a great location and its a pity the hotel does not match the splendour of its location. I have paid attention to the replies given by its management to the numerous reviews and they are very standard automated replies and do not really address the problems raised. To Management I would say, start to truly give customer service and take ownership of the problems raised. Make your hotel all that it could and should be. I loved Malta, but not your hotel and because of that our holiday was not all that it should have been. A great disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106 which is a twin bed within a shaft on first floor. Avoid any room within the shaft
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Gwen K ,

Many thanks for your review.

We refer to your comments hereunder which are being dealt directly with yourselves.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed for a week at the Kennedy Nova, it was comfortable, a good selection of choices for breakfast and a very nice rooftop restaurant at very reasonable cost. The hotel is in a great position for exploring Malta, overlooking the harbour with easy access to water taxis and buses.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Anthony H,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Should you return to Malta please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Kennedy Nova is In a great location to explore Valetta and the rest of Malta and Gozo,buses are regular and very cheap from outside the hotel and go all over the island,the hotel food is good and so inexpensive it was cheaper than eating out,and there is a very good breakfast the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a nice restaurant and pool on the roof with fantastic views of Sliema and Valetta.The rooms are very clean and well kept ,the Kennedy Nova is a really nice relaxing place to stay.
I stayed there in early October and there were no problems with students or anyone else,I like to give an honest review of the hotel not the other guests.

Room Tip: Room 317 is nice and cool so you don't need the air conditioner on at night
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Woodrjo,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with and the facilities offered. Should you return to Malta do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews