We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

went to this hotel start of feb was full couldnt fault any thing i only had breakfast but was plenty of food for every one all drinks eg tea and coffee were drinkable unlike most places.hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull would do any thing for you.hotel was very very clean guess what i am trying to say its great value you for your money beautiful views from the front would stay there again hope you have a great time like we did from lee and elise

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leroy33soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear leroy33soon,

Thank you for letting us know that you found that Hotel Kennedy Nova was value for your money!

We make every effort to offer our guests a friendly and clean stay at our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    171
    159
    121
    102
See reviews for
70
283
74
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Unclean room with smelly wardrobe and broken mattress. It took two nights before they changed the mattress, No apology given for two uncomfortable nights sleep as mattress springs kept poking through. location was excellent as buses just outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayAm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear JayAm01,

We cannot but notice that although you stayed at our hotel in March 2012, you have posted your review almost a year later. As you may appreciate, it is very difficult for us to follow up on this matter given the extended timespan that has passed.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We travelled and stayed in the Kennedy Nova Malta on the 28th of february 2011. This was my first ever holiday abroad since the age of 12 !!! (1st for 30 years!!) . I was very unsure what to expect .... but i hasten to add there was no need for my worries .... the hotel was amazing and the staff were so friendly. The food was great and there was always plenty on our plates for us to be full !!! Yes there were a few down sides , our room was in the centre of the building so we did not get much daylight and they were renovating the stairs up to the pool , but to be honest , we did not care as our room was spacious and at the end of the day all you do in the room is sleep anyway !!!! as for the work being done on the stairs ..... well the work had to be done and it did not interfere with our holiday .... The 1 and only 1 problem we had was with the time share guy , whom happened to be ENGLISH !!!! hastling us for 2 days until i must admit being a scottish lass i lost my temper and told him in no certain circumstances where to go !!!! after this everything was great and we were left alone.

I would say that the Maltese people are so very genuine and friendy and will do pretty much anything for you (nice to see in this day and age) and not because they want a tip either. They are a very proud people and it shows.

We will be going back again this february (same date) as i gave my partner the choice of where in the world he wanted to go for his 50th birthday and he chose the kennedy nova !!! so as you can see we both love MALTA .... Go on and try it for yourselves ..... you will not be dissapointed .... I shall be updating my review when we return home in march .... Happy Travels

Room Tip: Make sure you review the location and hotel as with everywhere you can get some not so good ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Shona F

We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and sharing your personal experience about it.

We were very thrilled to read that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We value greatly such encouraging comments, it is only through such kind praises we can ensure that the standards of the Kennedy are improved and maintained to reflect the needs of our guests.

We are more than delighted to welcome you back to our Hotel, and it made us more happy to learn that you are your partner chose our Hotel, the Kennedy Nova to celebrate the 50th birthday.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel and of course to Malta.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The bus stop is 2 min from the hotel and it's well-connected so the location was perfect for our sightseeing plans. Breakfast was good, the room okay for a couple of nights and clean enough, but I've been to much better three star hotels, let alone four star ones. If you want luxury, I wouldn't recommend it. There's no internet in the room, but at least it's free of charge in the lobby. We were there in December so it was cold in the room. The air-conditioning wasn't working so there was no way to heat the room. It wasn't too cold to sleep in, but it would have been a problem if we had spent more time in the room. Bring you own hair-dryer if you plan on using it. The staff was ok. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Ivek090,

We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and sharing your personal experience about it. Whilst we note with great satisfaction your comments regarding our location and most importantly our cleanliness, it was disappointing to hear that we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us, on the other hand it was good to hear that our breakfast was enjoyable.

We take our guests comments very seriously, thus we will be forwarding your concerns to our related departments, as through comments like these one can perceive where we can ameliorate our services to our esteemed guests.

We thank you for bringing the matters to our attention and we sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hotel is positioned well and clean but not a 4 star hotel. Our room was always cleaned well and we had lovely views over to Valletta. We booked half board and thought evening meal were very unorganised. Due to rudeness of some people who hovered round tables as they thought they owned them you felt uncomfortable, then the mad rush for starters and fruit, we found it easier to get our main course first then go for a starter but by then the best fruit had gone. A good choice of food and we had no complaints about it. No drinks were provided with our meal you had to pay for these, we expected to get water at least on the tables. At breakfast it was better as we went early but was amazed at people making sandwiches and rolls ready for lunch, one lady took 10 slices of bread made sandwiches then wrapped them and put them in her bag. It seemed waitresses/waiters were in a rush to collect our plates/crockery sometimes taking them just as you had finished. On our last evening meal a waiter was carrying plates with left overs on them and they ended up on my husbands lap, although he was apologetic and the floor was soon cleaned my husband was not asked if his clothes needed sorting out, he now has shirt and trousers with grease marks on them. We thought we would have been offered some sort of compensation even a drink but nothing was offered.

Room Tip: Floors 5 or 6 and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Josie F.

We thank you for your time in reviewing our Hotel and sharing your personal experience about it.

We were glad to hear that you were happy with the choice of food offered. On Half board basis, beverages are not included with meals during dinner. Buffet meals only are included in the Half board supplement. Drinks are to be ordered and paid for at the restaurant through the waiters on service.

No food is allowed to be taken out of the restaurant unless it is consumed within the restaurant area. Anyone caught wrapping food in paper napkins are immediately stopped by our staff personnel.

We will speak to the Food and Beverage manager to investigate the case further relating to your incident that occurred on your last night’s stay with us.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Kennedy Nova is perfectly situated; there is a bus stop right outside so the rest of Malta is easily accessible from here. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from some great restaurants and also a supermarket for those who go self-catering.

We visited self-catering and the room was equipped with a kitchenette (fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave/grill) which was perfectly suitable. The room was very clean but run down and in need of some new fixtures such as the air con which only let out warm air whichever setting we chose! The bathroom was spacious but the water seemed to have a green hue to it and smelt of chlorine. The room came with a balcony but there was no view to speak of. The room also overlooked some air con units outside which came on at various times, once being 1am and this kept us awake most nights. After several complaints and staff visiting the room we were offered an alternative but it was not suitable as there was no self-catering facilities.

We didn't venture down to the restaurant but we did eat room service 3 times. Twice the food was great but once you could tell another chef was working as the quality dipped. Overall the food was nice and fairly priced with only a €1 charge for using the service.

The majority of the staff were friendly and approachable with a few exceptions particularly the ladies on reception. The bar staff were chatty but the bar entertainment left a lot to be desired.

I don't think we would recommend this hotel to anyone but it does make a good base if you're not going to spend most of your time here and the rooms which don't overlook the air con units are probably better for getting sleep. If you get a good deal and are looking for a cheap get away consider this hotel, but there are many more on the strip and for a few extra pennies you could probably do a lot better.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms ending in 14 (e.g. 114, 314). They have no view from the balcony and overlook the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samjayne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Samjayne 13,

We would like to thank you for finding the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We note with satisfaction your positive comments with regards to the location, the staff, the services offered and the food on offer.

On the hand we regret to hear about the unpleasant situation you experienced during one of the nights. As you kindly noted, we have tried our best to amend to your discomfort by offering multiple options.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel was cold and the reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful (exept the male members of staff) We were also ill (we cannot prove food poisoning, although other guests were affected) for 5 days out of 14. After this we decided to eat out despite paying for an evening meal. The hotel was not wheelchair friendly as there were steps to the hotel from the narrow pavement outside. How this is a 4 star hotel is beyond my comprehension and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do your research before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terence w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Terence W.

We thank you for posting your personal opinion on Trip Advisor.

We regret to hear that you recent stay was not to your utmost satisfaction.

We were taken by surprise to hear that our staff were not helpful or friendly, as we normally get
very kind praises towards our staff personnel.

We as a Hotel, are very stringent in food hygiene, cleanliness and safety. Moreover the local authorities do regular Health unexpected inspections.

With regards to the “Hotel was not wheelchair friendly as there were steps to the Hotel “, please note that we have a ramp placed in front of the steps to be easier for wheelchair users.

Notwithstanding the said, should you have any further questions or queries then please do contact us and we will be more than happy to assist.

We hope we the opportunity to welcome you back in our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing