We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
67
177
182
143
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
177
182
143
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfast basisvery pleasant staybars and restaurantsbusesvallettaislandharbour
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Unclean room with smelly wardrobe and broken mattress. It took two nights before they changed the mattress, No apology given for two uncomfortable nights sleep as mattress springs kept poking through. location was excellent as buses just outside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayAm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear JayAm01,

We cannot but notice that although you stayed at our hotel in March 2012, you have posted your review almost a year later. As you may appreciate, it is very difficult for us to follow up on this matter given the extended timespan that has passed.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We travelled and stayed in the Kennedy Nova Malta on the 28th of february 2011. This was my first ever holiday abroad since the age of 12 !!! (1st for 30 years!!) . I was very unsure what to expect .... but i hasten to add there was no need for my worries .... the hotel was amazing and the staff were so friendly. The food was great and there was always plenty on our plates for us to be full !!! Yes there were a few down sides , our room was in the centre of the building so we did not get much daylight and they were renovating the stairs up to the pool , but to be honest , we did not care as our room was spacious and at the end of the day all you do in the room is sleep anyway !!!! as for the work being done on the stairs ..... well the work had to be done and it did not interfere with our holiday .... The 1 and only 1 problem we had was with the time share guy , whom happened to be ENGLISH !!!! hastling us for 2 days until i must admit being a scottish lass i lost my temper and told him in no certain circumstances where to go !!!! after this everything was great and we were left alone.

I would say that the Maltese people are so very genuine and friendy and will do pretty much anything for you (nice to see in this day and age) and not because they want a tip either. They are a very proud people and it shows.

We will be going back again this february (same date) as i gave my partner the choice of where in the world he wanted to go for his 50th birthday and he chose the kennedy nova !!! so as you can see we both love MALTA .... Go on and try it for yourselves ..... you will not be dissapointed .... I shall be updating my review when we return home in march .... Happy Travels

Room Tip: Make sure you review the location and hotel as with everywhere you can get some not so good ones .....
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Shona F

We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and sharing your personal experience about it.

We were very thrilled to read that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We value greatly such encouraging comments, it is only through such kind praises we can ensure that the standards of the Kennedy are improved and maintained to reflect the needs of our guests.

We are more than delighted to welcome you back to our Hotel, and it made us more happy to learn that you are your partner chose our Hotel, the Kennedy Nova to celebrate the 50th birthday.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel and of course to Malta.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The bus stop is 2 min from the hotel and it's well-connected so the location was perfect for our sightseeing plans. Breakfast was good, the room okay for a couple of nights and clean enough, but I've been to much better three star hotels, let alone four star ones. If you want luxury, I wouldn't recommend it. There's no internet in the room, but at least it's free of charge in the lobby. We were there in December so it was cold in the room. The air-conditioning wasn't working so there was no way to heat the room. It wasn't too cold to sleep in, but it would have been a problem if we had spent more time in the room. Bring you own hair-dryer if you plan on using it. The staff was ok. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Ivek090,

We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and sharing your personal experience about it. Whilst we note with great satisfaction your comments regarding our location and most importantly our cleanliness, it was disappointing to hear that we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us, on the other hand it was good to hear that our breakfast was enjoyable.

We take our guests comments very seriously, thus we will be forwarding your concerns to our related departments, as through comments like these one can perceive where we can ameliorate our services to our esteemed guests.

We thank you for bringing the matters to our attention and we sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hotel is positioned well and clean but not a 4 star hotel. Our room was always cleaned well and we had lovely views over to Valletta. We booked half board and thought evening meal were very unorganised. Due to rudeness of some people who hovered round tables as they thought they owned them you felt uncomfortable, then the mad rush for starters and fruit, we found it easier to get our main course first then go for a starter but by then the best fruit had gone. A good choice of food and we had no complaints about it. No drinks were provided with our meal you had to pay for these, we expected to get water at least on the tables. At breakfast it was better as we went early but was amazed at people making sandwiches and rolls ready for lunch, one lady took 10 slices of bread made sandwiches then wrapped them and put them in her bag. It seemed waitresses/waiters were in a rush to collect our plates/crockery sometimes taking them just as you had finished. On our last evening meal a waiter was carrying plates with left overs on them and they ended up on my husbands lap, although he was apologetic and the floor was soon cleaned my husband was not asked if his clothes needed sorting out, he now has shirt and trousers with grease marks on them. We thought we would have been offered some sort of compensation even a drink but nothing was offered.

Room Tip: Floors 5 or 6 and seaview
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Josie F.

We thank you for your time in reviewing our Hotel and sharing your personal experience about it.

We were glad to hear that you were happy with the choice of food offered. On Half board basis, beverages are not included with meals during dinner. Buffet meals only are included in the Half board supplement. Drinks are to be ordered and paid for at the restaurant through the waiters on service.

No food is allowed to be taken out of the restaurant unless it is consumed within the restaurant area. Anyone caught wrapping food in paper napkins are immediately stopped by our staff personnel.

We will speak to the Food and Beverage manager to investigate the case further relating to your incident that occurred on your last night’s stay with us.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Kennedy Nova is perfectly situated; there is a bus stop right outside so the rest of Malta is easily accessible from here. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from some great restaurants and also a supermarket for those who go self-catering.

We visited self-catering and the room was equipped with a kitchenette (fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave/grill) which was perfectly suitable. The room was very clean but run down and in need of some new fixtures such as the air con which only let out warm air whichever setting we chose! The bathroom was spacious but the water seemed to have a green hue to it and smelt of chlorine. The room came with a balcony but there was no view to speak of. The room also overlooked some air con units outside which came on at various times, once being 1am and this kept us awake most nights. After several complaints and staff visiting the room we were offered an alternative but it was not suitable as there was no self-catering facilities.

We didn't venture down to the restaurant but we did eat room service 3 times. Twice the food was great but once you could tell another chef was working as the quality dipped. Overall the food was nice and fairly priced with only a €1 charge for using the service.

The majority of the staff were friendly and approachable with a few exceptions particularly the ladies on reception. The bar staff were chatty but the bar entertainment left a lot to be desired.

I don't think we would recommend this hotel to anyone but it does make a good base if you're not going to spend most of your time here and the rooms which don't overlook the air con units are probably better for getting sleep. If you get a good deal and are looking for a cheap get away consider this hotel, but there are many more on the strip and for a few extra pennies you could probably do a lot better.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms ending in 14 (e.g. 114, 314). They have no view from the balcony and overlook the air con units.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samjayne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Samjayne 13,

We would like to thank you for finding the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We note with satisfaction your positive comments with regards to the location, the staff, the services offered and the food on offer.

On the hand we regret to hear about the unpleasant situation you experienced during one of the nights. As you kindly noted, we have tried our best to amend to your discomfort by offering multiple options.

Regards,

Hotel Kennedy Nova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews