We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
merseyside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel was very clean, sheets changed every other day towels as often was you wanted. It looked a little tired but it really was fine. We only stayed bed and breakfast and we weren't very impressed with the cooked breakfast but continental was ok and the Maltese bread toasted was lovely!
The pool bar opened while we were there and the food served up there was plentiful and good, the pool was also good, we were there the first two weeks in May and there were plenty of sun beds and it didn't get crowded.
Overall we found the Kennedy Nova very good the staff helpful and I would not hesitate in going back for another visit or in recommending it to anyone as long as you realise it is 4star Malta and not 4star English.

Room Tip: The view from the seaview rooms is wonderful, we were on the 5th floor so the noise from the road wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace05merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you found our Hotel to be very clean and our staff was helpful during your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us. We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    168
    158
    115
    91
See reviews for
66
273
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Overall i dont understand how they got their four stars. There is no internet connection in the rooms and only a small area in the lobby where internet connection is possible. As we went on a business trip, this was essential to us. (And considering Malta has 200Mb down and 100Mb upload speed, this is a joke) So if you need to work with your laptop, look for another hotel. The customer service was also not very good, at night and in the morning the staff was not able to change reservations or even tell us the price per night! The pool is small and cold but the view was nice. The 'evening entertainment' was a guy with a microphone, that read the song lyrics from his computer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guests,

Kindly note that we offer Free WiFi in all public areas (as we are working on bringing the technology in every room). It is always advisable to bring such concerts to our attention whilst at the hotel as our guest relations records indicate that you only advised us upon checkout. You may appreciate that at this stage we usually have no option at our disposal to assist you with your enquiry.

Thank you for your understanding,

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Barmouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the views. We stayed for two weeks with a sea view room which I think was extra but we have never stayed in such a small room. Only one of us could access the wardrobe at a time as there just wasn't enough room for both of us to be in the same place. We had to make sure everthing was put away each day as there was nowhere to spread out. The balcony was adequate as can be said for the rest of the hotel. Bathroom was tired and in need of a facelift. Food wasn't too bad, we had some nice dinners but they could be a little more imaginative with the desserts, there wasn't even ice cream, which if you wanted some you had to pay extra for. You could have fried or poached eggs instead of the scrambled which was offered every day but if you wanted omelette it was again an added extra. As a 3* the hotel would be fine but in no way could it be classed a a 4*. Staff were great and were helpful. Pool uninviting as no parasols or plants and beds just arranged haphazardly around pool which was very cold.

Room Tip: Sea views are beautiful but noisy especially on top floor as noise from roof with chairs scraping wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I was supposed to stay at the Bayview but they mucked up my booking and put me in the Kennedy Nova. I wasn't pleased as I'd read poor reviews of the hotel.
However it really was ok. It had a fantastic terrace with a seaview which was the thing I wanted the most.
The annoying thing was that my room (303) and all of the others above it and below were directly next to the Strand Aparthotel balconies and the cigarette smoke from these balconies penetrated and filled my room even when I had the doors closed. (Everybody in Malta seems to smoke).
Despite this my room was clean. The bathroom was a little bit worn but it had an incredible powerful shower. The hotel wasn't as good as a 4 star but I would say it really was a lot better than I thought it would be.

Room Tip: Steer clear from room 303 and the ones above and below if you wish to avoid being overlooked and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prudence k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Madam,

We shall investigate the smoking issue with the neighbour property. As you can appreciate it is not within our control but we'll address this inconvenience.

We do hope to welcome you at our Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis. This was recommended to us, we really enjoyed it. The pool was small and cold but adequate. Breakfast was good only thing - no fried eggs, just scrammbled. The room/apartment we had was super, very clean. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The receptionist that was on when we arrived could have been more friendly - she just asked us to fill out this form, put our luggage in a room and we would not get in before 4.00. That was our welcome to the Kennedy Nova, but she was the only one. Sliema itself is very central for all the activities.

Room Tip: You could ask for a seaview room there are not many but you may have luck in getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weesie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Glad to hear you had a great holiday in Malta and enjoyed your stay at Hotel Kennedy Nova. Our staff strives to offer our guests a comfortable stay and it is always a pleasure to host you. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

stayed hear for 4 weeks booked with chevron malta holidays , changed room the first day bathroom awful rust round the taps and plug hole, cracked tiles , the view was a ventilation shaft handy if you want to look at the stars at night , food not too bad but you do get what you pay for .hotel is due for a face lift well over due .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter07670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaghra, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed for 5 weeks here on a half board basis. Although the hotel staff are lovely and very helpful they are let down badly by the food that they serve. The first room I was in was at the back of the hotel with just a small window for air. I asked to be moved and this was done by the receptionist in a very efficient manner to a twin room at the back. I had a small balcony but sadly the only view I had was of the balconies opposite. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels. The hotel was kept very clean and the staff extremely friendly. A good location with easy access to all the shops and bus routes. My only complaint is the food!!!! Breakfast was a choice of three cereals, fruit and yougart followed by bacon, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. with toast for later. Now this does sound good but boy wait until you tastes the scrambled egg yeuk!!! Sadly also the bacon was either overcooked or undercooked. I never tried it again.

Evening meals were , in my opinion, dire. In the 5 weeks that I stayed there I only ate 4 or 5 full evening meals. Many a night i had only the salad and a piece of gateau. Would I return, yes for the location and the staff but only on a bed and breakfast basis. . Does it deserve a 4 star? No.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words in favour of our Staff who works very hard to deliver an excellent service.
Kindly note that I have already raised your issue with the Food and Beverage Department for the appropriate action. Having been our guest for 5 weeks, it would have been best to raise your issues whilst staying at the hotel so that we could have addressed them with minimal inconvenience.

Regards,

Josette Spiteri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing